Chevron Left
Вернуться к Astrobiology: Exploring Other Worlds

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Astrobiology: Exploring Other Worlds от партнера Аризонский университет

4.9
звезд
Оценки: 295
Рецензии: 117

О курсе

How are astronomers approaching their search for life in the universe? What have we learned from the surge of exoplanets discoveries? How likely is it that Earth does not host the only life in the Universe? In this course we explore the field of astrobiology, an emerging multidisciplinary field. Progress in astrobiology is driven by telescopes on the ground and in space, and by new insights on how life emerged on Earth and its diversity. The topics in this course range from the science of how exoplanets are detected, to the chemistry that supports the argument that the ingredients for life are common in the Universe. We will follow the analyses of experts in chemistry, astronomy, geology and archaeology to build a strong foundation of understanding. By the final assignment, students will be equipped with the knowledge necessary to identify what makes a planet habitable, and how likely it is that life exists there. Students will graduate from this course informed about one of the most exciting fields in all of science, and ready to discuss the current exoplanet news stories and discoveries....

Лучшие рецензии

BP
2 июля 2020 г.

This is my first course in coursera. The material and explanation given by the instructor was awesome. I really learned a lot. Peer graded assingments really helped me to knew the concept very well.

DW
11 сент. 2021 г.

Excellent teaching style, easy to digest sometimes-difficult information, tests got to the main points of the sections, instructor has a nice, easy to follow style of delivering info. Great Course!

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 118 отзывов о курсе Astrobiology: Exploring Other Worlds

автор: Hernan R

27 мая 2019 г.

This Astrobiology course is not the first course I have taken about Astronomy. I took "Astronomy - Exploring Time and Space" some years ago, and found it fascinating, very well structured and interactive. Since then, I have been following, as often as I can, Professor Impey's Q&A sessions LIVE or else on YouTube replay. So when I learned there was to be this course on Astrobiology also by him and the University of Arizona, I immediately signed on as soon as it became available.

I had taken a previous course on Astrobiology, an Introduction to the theme, by the University of Edinburgh. That was several years ago. Astronomy has always been my hobby, ever since I was taught by an old ship's doctor, on a trip across the Atlantic, how to identify Orion in the sky. He had the adorable German way of pronouncing Betelgeuse (he had been a ship's doctor in the Kriegsmarine in the war). He said it as "Bay-tell-goyze". (Well, that's certainly better than those who say it "beetleJuice!)

I have been keeping up with the so many new developments there have been in the past forty years or so, and the discoveries on Europa, Enceladus and Titan have absolutely blown me over. This Astrobiology course was perfect to learn all the methodology for searching for life elsewhere than on earth, and beyond the old "Goldilocks Zone". The lectures were all excellent, and the two assignments towards the end of the course were challenging and really cemented the knowledge learned.

I certainly recommend this course to all and any who are interested in Astronomy. It is a course for beginners but also very much for those who already have some knowledge about the issues, but who want to have them restructured with the latest developments, and in a professional way, as Professor Impey does so well!

Thank you to all who put this course together, and thank you to the mentors who sent me interesting comments and feedback on my responses.

автор: Brietta D

29 мая 2019 г.

This course was very interactive and educational. Prof. Impey holds live Q and A session every few weeks, where you can ask questions. Prof. Impey clearly explains the subjects but also makes it entertaining.

He talks in depth about many subjects that I have trouble finding anywhere else.

After taking his last course astronomy: exploring time and space, I was so excited when he came out with this course and I was not disappointed!

I learned so much from this course and am grateful to everyone who worked on this!

автор: Izzy B

1 янв. 2020 г.

Yet another fantastic online course by Prof Chris Impey! I found this course challenging at times not being a natural at Maths but doing this course has made me think that at some point I will go for my GCSE Astronomy! Thanks Chris and team, please do more!

автор: Hester v B

24 июня 2019 г.

This course really shows the multidisciplinary field that Astrobiology is in a clear way. It's an interesting mix between introducing many subjects while at various moments diving into the material a little bit more.

The biggest plus for me on this course was the fact that the course gives rather concise info per subject per week, but through the peer-reviewed writing assignments you really have to the think beyond the material and tie things together yourself.

Also, Prof Impey is one of my favorite online teachers (I've tried about 20 MOOCs and actually finished 15 of them in the past five years, so I've seen a variety of online teachers ;)) I hugely appreciate the fact that when you are enrolled in one of his two courses, you can participate in live Q&A sessions about astronomy once every few weeks.

автор: Milton G V

30 мая 2019 г.

Dr Chris Impey did it again. He brought the universe into my home and office and brought me closer to understanding the universe we are all part of.

автор: Panagiotis G T

15 окт. 2019 г.

To be honest, I was not considering to pay for a certificate for this course. BUT, I could not help not to pay, receiving such a great learning experience from professor Impey. It totally deserves to read, listen, watch and try everything in this course. Professor is great! Thank you!

автор: Christine M

23 нояб. 2019 г.

High-quality lectures in manageable short clips. Helpful mentors. Great subject.

автор: Maya

31 мая 2019 г.

Prof. Impey is one of the best speakers that I ever witnessed!

Some jokes are very refreshful during the lections and the lections itself are neat and clear. Thanks to (tech.) help also. That's very important too.

Quizes and other works are better than in Astrophysics course (at least when I took it) but there is still missing attachments before the lectures (like slides or reading list, e.g.), but i believe it will be corrected sooner or later!

I highly recommend this course. Especially for amateurs/begginers.

Thank you!

автор: Josef P

2 авг. 2019 г.

Great and complex extent of topics; inspiring assignments; slides for download.

There is only one thing I would like to find in the course yet - more detailed discussion of some partial topics in videos in such a way, that it would broaden and deepen the content of slides.

Anyway, thank you for the course!

автор: A K

10 мая 2020 г.

One of the best Astronomy theme modular course that I have seen. With many assignments and quizzes, this module certainly worth enrolling. The notes, videos are really awesome !

автор: Brent L

4 сент. 2019 г.

TERRIFIC! ALWAYS WANTED TO TAKE ASTRONOMY COURSE AT NORTHWESTERN U. IN THE 1960S, NEVER HAD THE CHANCE.

автор: Harry M

3 авг. 2020 г.

This course was wonderful! Dr. Impey successfully integrated Chemistry, Biology, Geology, Geochemistry, Astronomy, Biochemistry and a bit of Philosophy into a unified course. His use of slides, videos and quotes from scientists were interesting and valuable. Quizzes and "Prompts" were extremely helpful. My one criticism is the understandable but fallible use of peer review. For example, my final Prompt received 15/15 from two peer reviewers and 6/15 from the third. Obviously something is wrong with this review process but a peer review process, by its very nature, is 'complicated'. In summary, this course opened my eyes to the sky in ways I had never thought about in my 78 year on earth. Highly recommended.

автор: Ameya K

10 авг. 2020 г.

Excellent course. I completed this course after Arizona's Astronomy course, and Professor Impey is fantastic as usual. This course is not too challenging but very interesting for curious minds. The video quality surpasses even that of the Astronomy course, and I didn't even think that was possible. The tests are effective at brushing up, and the essay type assignments are absolutely incredible. I highly recommend everyone to take it. 5 stars it is!

автор: Yuliia N

5 мая 2020 г.

I love space and life sciences so much and hope to work as astrobiologist someday. This course made me even more confident that I want to stick to this branch of science and dedicate my life to it. Those six weeks that I've spent with this course was probably one of the best experiences ever. I am so grateful for the opportunity to study the most interesting and exciting things for me. It was awesome

автор: Antonio g d

13 февр. 2020 г.

He aprendido mucho sobre la parte de Astrobiología que no conocía .

Una sugerencia : Se podría incluir algo sobre el planeta X o todavía no hay evidencias sobre dicho planeta

Gracias

En cuanto al Instructor Chris Impey es un astrónomo de reconocido prestigio un diez

En cuanto a coursera que voy a decir si ya he hecho muchos cursos con ellos : muy bien

автор: Baskaran P

3 июля 2020 г.

This is my first course in coursera. The material and explanation given by the instructor was awesome. I really learned a lot. Peer graded assingments really helped me to knew the concept very well.

автор: Philip B

4 мая 2021 г.

Excellent course Chris Impey is a wonderful engaging tutor. Have completed both his courses offered through University of Arizona and am currently reading his first book. First class!!!

автор: Güler B D

3 авг. 2021 г.

It was an incredible course, adding incredible experiences. A big thank you to the University of Arizona and to Mr. Chris Impey for this course.

автор: María F E B

14 апр. 2020 г.

Me encantó el curso! Muchísimas gracias al Profesor Chris Impey por todo el conocimiento compartido y por un curso tan ameno e interesante!

автор: Anurup M

31 дек. 2019 г.

Best Course I have ever done !!!

Enjoyed a lot..... And Learnt too

автор: Agnes G

6 июля 2020 г.

A very enjoyable, informative and interactive course.

автор: Antariksha M

7 окт. 2019 г.

great Experience ,happy to learn

автор: akskarthi K

29 янв. 2021 г.

the assignments are having options but always showing wrong answers after selecting correct answers

автор: David G

8 авг. 2021 г.

P​rofessor Impey and his team do an outstanding job of making an already fascinating topic such as astrobiology, a joy to learn. Their videos and assignments reinforce the scientific method and the structure to write a successful scientific paper not only for astrobiology, but for other fields of science as well. Professor Impey's summaries at the end of each video always provide an excellent review of the study material. Furthermore, professor Impey's biweekly live study sessions offer an opportunity to clarify topics of the class, as well as to learn more about current events in astronomy, astrobiology, and space exploration. Professor Impey's vast subject matter expertise and generosity to patiently explain complex scientific challenges are tremendously appreciated. Thank you so much, professor Impey!

автор: Joanne K

14 апр. 2021 г.

This course was very interesting and I enjoyed it. I also learned some things that will help me in other areas, too,such as don't give up; there may be more than one answer to a question-consider answers carefully, and the final project was especially good in driving you to think carefully about many factors and possibilities and reasons for and against several candidates and options for a future exoplanet mission. That is, it really gets you thinking and not just memorizing rote facts. Grading others has benefits, too, realizing that others may have good points to consider, in addition to your own.