Chevron Left
Вернуться к Advanced Valuation and Strategy - M&A, Private Equity, and Venture Capital

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Advanced Valuation and Strategy - M&A, Private Equity, and Venture Capital от партнера Роттердамский университет им. Эразма

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 696
Рецензии: 205

О курсе

Hi and welcome to this course! Would you like to learn about the latest valuation methods that may help you to make better business decisions? Then 'Advanced Valuation and Strategy – M&A, Private Equity, and Venture Capital' by Erasmus University Rotterdam is the right course for you! This course is helpful for executives that need to value complete strategies and for all students interested in corporate finance and strategy. We present the latest tools and show you how to apply them! We will revolutionize your way of decision making, by extending static techniques from corporate finance with dynamic methods to quantify strategic thinking. Traditionally, we assess the attractiveness of an investment as a mature business, where future cash flows mainly result from past decisions. But, in an ever-changing world, strategic decisions determine the firm’s long-term success and market value. Yet managers often have to consider these long-term implications using intuition and experience alone, with little guidance from structured, quantitative analysis. Our treatment goes far beyond the use of standard valuation analysis. We introduce the expanded NPV, which brings together DCF, real options, and game theory. Thinking in terms of options, games, and adaptive strategies may help managers address strategic questions such as: How do you value a leveraged buyout? How can you value a high-tech venture with negative cash flows? When should you invest in new ventures in stages? How can you incorporate rival bidders in the analysis? The tools we provide can improve your decisions in business and in daily life. * Who is this class for? We hope that our course appeals to (graduate) students in finance, economics, and business, as well as to high-ranking professionals and a general audience. This course is particularly interesting for venture capitalists, private equity investors, investment bankers, CEOs, CFOs, and those who aspire these affiliations. We offer this MOOC at 3 levels: 1.Executive Summary: This 1-week module provides critical insights into the principles of corporate valuation and strategy. This is accessible for time-constrained executives and the general audience without any prior knowledge. 2. Student Level: This level involves an understanding of the technical details. This level requires basic knowledge of concepts in corporate finance, e.g., the time value of money, financial statement analysis, capital structure, and the relation between risk and returns. Learners of this level can skip week 1. 3. Honors Level (honors certificate): This level is challenging, engaging, and compelling to an intellectually rigorous student....

Лучшие рецензии

AS
18 мая 2020 г.

Boosts your up-to-date understanding of how strategy and valuation come together. It helped me better understand my PE clients' buy & build strategies from a growth option valuation perspective.

TF
27 февр. 2020 г.

Demanding at times but overall one of the better courses that make you think before you have to answer. I also enjoyed the ability to do some extra work if you are into honorable certificate.

Фильтр по:

176–200 из 201 отзывов о курсе Advanced Valuation and Strategy - M&A, Private Equity, and Venture Capital

автор: LUIS F A E

10 сент. 2020 г.

It's a course that teaches you a lot, but you need previous knowledge in valuation, option and game theory. The course basically tells you how to combine them

автор: Rohit M

16 июня 2020 г.

Good course but for a beginner, it's hard to understand the real options theory concept and game theory. More videos to be added to make it beginner-friendly.

автор: Álvaro R R

15 апр. 2020 г.

Very useful the first half of the course, as it is very practical.

It is maybe too theoretical the second half of the course.

Overall, 100% recommended.

автор: Sandra Q

6 окт. 2018 г.

A course that goes beyond the standard finance courses in explaining what practices are used in valuations of different types of companies/industries.

автор: Camilo E S C

23 мая 2020 г.

Such an excellent course! only aspect I would change is that the quizzes that require calculation must have an excel sheet

автор: Jatin N

6 дек. 2019 г.

Very interesting and challenging. But the value additions point of view, it is highly recommended.

автор: Piet J G

26 апр. 2020 г.

Maybe reconsider the rounding mechanism in the quizzes. All in all great content, learned a lot.

автор: Dali S

27 дек. 2019 г.

unique subject ... excellent graphics ... Pr's accent difficult to understand sometimes

автор: Parisa E

18 июля 2020 г.

the course was good but it could have been better if more real examples were embedded!

автор: Ulf L

14 мая 2019 г.

Really well strucntured vourse that goes well beyond mere DCF analysis.

автор: Mat J

17 нояб. 2020 г.

Perhaps you include some form of spreadsheet based learning tools.

автор: Luis R N

15 июня 2020 г.

Really useful when it comes to valuation and investment decisions.

автор: Ajeet K

17 мая 2020 г.

It is a good course but concepts should be elaborated more clearly

автор: Daniel G

21 июля 2020 г.

Too rushed

автор: Alvaro R C M

14 июля 2020 г.

The course was really interesting, especially how is developed the concept of Expanded NPV, which combined, standard NPV with real-options and game theory in valuation.

The course provide a broad vision of the subject and it is essential to have previous corporate finance knowledge.

As a point to improve, the course should offer additional reading material since the information in the videos is not enough to answer the questions asked in the tests, which are very long and require good preparation.

Since it is a distance learning course, this requires students to be searching on internet for the right resources and it causes an additional waste of time. Other courses provide this reading material.

If you participate in the forum, you can deduct that Prof Smit's book is used as a reference to understand in greater detail the topics covered. The book is not easy to find online.

автор: Janelle L

5 июля 2020 г.

While I appreciate the knowledge provided by the course (for which I would rate a 5), the execution in delivery took away from the value of the lessons (for which I would rate a 0), thus resulting in giving the course 3 stars. This is a challenging course and the inconsistencies made it unnecessarily more challenging than it needed to be. That said, I am appreciative for what I learned as it aligned with my learning objectives. To those who will take this course, a great deal of time and patience will be needed to navigate the inconsistencies in order to arrive at the golden nuggets of knowledge.

автор: Christian M

11 авг. 2020 г.

The animated videos as well as those with professor Han Smith were quite good and fun to watch. Sometimes the calculations were a bit difficult to follow, especially on a smaller device (iPad), but it's ok for an advanced course. What I didn't like so much was the overall structure - some things seem to be repeated randomly, not only from the introduction in part 1. Other topics seemed to pop up in quizes or discussions first time, and I found it difficult to navigate to the corresponding video to digest it again.

автор: Carl F

26 авг. 2020 г.

While the course provides a great alternative perspective on investment decisions, the course structure could use some improvement. At times, there key pieces of information missing for quizzes. Moreover, it also occurs frequently that there are multiple topics in the exams that have not been touched upon during the course. Overall, this course is interesting, but be aware that a fair amount of previous knowledge is required.

автор: Titus C

9 сент. 2020 г.

Material itself is very interesting and thorough. Some explanations are best served by examples, which is done in this course however there are instances where wording and verbosity has overcomplicated otherwise simple concepts, namely in week 3 (lots of jargon).

All in all, pleasant introduction to game theory and real options valuations methods.

автор: Robin B

27 мая 2020 г.

Der Kurs hat gute Denkanstöße geboten. Allerdings war er meiner Meinung nach zu oberflächlich und nicht dem Schwierigkeitsgrad entsprechend.

Des Weiteren waren einige Aufgaben sehr missverständlich geschildert.

Um einen neuen Denkanstoß zu bekommen, kann ich diesen Kurs allerdings empfehlen.

автор: Rohan R

13 мая 2020 г.

Course could have been more thorough with more number of modules and better exercises.

автор: Mark A

19 авг. 2020 г.

I think the course is based on an interesting premise of incorporating real growth options and game theory in the valuation, but I have been slightly disappointed as I consider the applicability limited. As acknowledged in the final note the key to utilizing this sort of analysis is obtaining the highly uncertain values under different scenarios for different players. In an Advanced course like this I was hoping to get at least some guidance on how to estimate these payoffs for different players under different scenarios while only having limited information, so I could take it out of the theoretical context and apply it in practice.

автор: Claudia O O

5 июля 2019 г.

There are only men in the videos (only one woman on the background because they needed her for the man to have children). It discourages me to keep watching it. Women need representation.

автор: Mallikarjun

2 мая 2020 г.

Is there an option to refund for this course. Because its too advanced; 1st week videos are too basic and assignment for 1st week is not related to it.