Chevron Left
Вернуться к Write A Feature Length Screenplay For Film Or Television

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Write A Feature Length Screenplay For Film Or Television от партнера Университет штата Мичиган

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 45
Рецензии: 25

О курсе

Write a Full Length Feature Film Script In this course, you will write a complete, feature-length screenplay for film or television, be it a serious drama or romantic comedy or anything in between. You’ll learn to break down the creative process into components, and you’ll discover a structured process that allows you to produce a polished and pitch-ready script by the end of the course. Completing this project will increase your confidence in your ideas and abilities, and you’ll feel prepared to pitch your first script and get started on your next. This is a course designed to tap into your creativity and is based in "Active Learning". Most of the actual learning takes place within your own activities - that is, writing! You will learn by doing. Here is a link to a TRAILER for the course. To view the trailer, please copy and paste the link into your browser. https://vimeo.com/382067900/b78b800dc0 Learner review: "Love the approach Professor Wheeler takes towards this course. It's to the point, easy to follow, and very informative! Would definitely recommend it to anyone who is interested in taking a Screenplay Writing course! The course curriculum is simple: We will adopt a professional writers room process in which you’ll write, post your work for peer review, share feedback with your peers and revise your work with the feedback you receive from your peers. That's how we do it in the real world. You will feel as if you were in a professional writers room yet no prior experience as a writer is required. I'm a proponent of Experiential Learning (Active Learning). My lectures are short (sometimes just two minutes long) and to the point, designed in a step-by-step process essential to your success as a script writer. I will guide you but I won’t "show" you how to write. I firmly believe that the only way to become a writer is to write, write, write. Learner Review: "I would like to thank this course instructor. It's an amazing course" What you’ll need to get started: As mentioned above, no prior script writing experience is required. To begin with, any basic word processor will do. During week two, you can choose to download some free scriptwriting software such as Celtx or Trelby or you may choose to purchase Final Draft, the industry standard, or you can continue to use your word processor and do your own script formatting. Learner Review: "Now I am a writer!" If you have any concerns regarding the protection of your original work, Coursera's privacy policy protects the learner's IP and you are indeed the sole owners of your work....

Лучшие рецензии

DM

Jun 24, 2020

Great course well recommended i did the Transmedia writing course before taking Write A Feature Length Screenplay For Film Or Television and have enjoyed them both

PG

Jul 13, 2020

A wonderful and must course for every writer who wishes to write for television.

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 25 отзывов о курсе Write A Feature Length Screenplay For Film Or Television

автор: Kannan V

Jun 06, 2020

David,

Thank you so much!

But for your guidance, I wouldn’t feel as happy as I feel today. The way you taught to break down the components of my own writing will definitely help me in whatever I write from now on. I’m gonna’ recommend my friends who are aspiring to take screen writing as their career to take your course.

I don’t know how I’ve fared as a screenwriter as this is my maiden attempt. But I’m sure I’ve learnt the basic grammar of Screenwriting through a well structured course and from a fantastic Master.

Thank you David, my Master!

автор: Faridul A S

Apr 22, 2020

At first, I would like to thank this course instructor. It's an amazing course I have ever completed. Yep, this course surely helps me in the near future when I will scripting my own fiction feature film. Now I know which areas should be focused while scripting. Of course, regular writing is necessary to improve my scriptwriting skills.

автор: Brigit C

May 17, 2020

Love the approach Wheeler takes towards this course. It's to the point, easy to follow, and very informative! Overall, would definitely recommend it to anyone who is interested in taking a Screenplay Writing course!

автор: David M

Jun 24, 2020

Great course well recommended i did the Transmedia writing course before taking Write A Feature Length Screenplay For Film Or Television and have enjoyed them both

автор: Prachi G

Jul 13, 2020

A wonderful and must course for every writer who wishes to write for television.

автор: Shaunda

Jun 22, 2020

Love it... This is my second time taking his course. I look forward to the next.

автор: Kamil S M T

Jul 03, 2020

Writing is discipline, this is what you'll learn in this amazing course.

автор: Mancilio

Jun 28, 2020

Very helpful and the feed back from ones peers is fantastic.

автор: siva s B

May 08, 2020

Great learning experience

автор: Daman S

Apr 15, 2020

now I am a writer.

автор: Manuel A R S

Jun 15, 2020

Very practical!!!

автор: abel z

May 08, 2020

perfect

автор: Gus H

Aug 06, 2020

I enjoyed this course. I've always struggled to actually sit down, make time for myself, and use that time to productively write. This course gives its students an easy, and easily-replicated, schedule/formula to follow in order to actually create a feature-length screenplay. I have now written a feature-length script, something I had always wanted to do but had never actually done, and this course was the impetus for doing that. I will say, given how much importance the course places on collaboration, the effort some of my peers put in to the course was at times frustrating. An important part of the course is reviewing the work of your peers and receiving feedback from them on your own work. I frequently received feedback on large chunks of my screenplay that was literally one word: "good," "nice." It was incredibly frustrating, especially since the aim of the course should be to provide you with as much experience writing and reviewing screenplays as possible, rather than accumulating a grade value (honestly, your grade in this course does not affect any sort of grade point average, it does not count towards a degree, if you half-ass your way through this course, it negatively affects both you and your peers who are putting more into it and hoping to get more out of it). Additionally, it would be helpful to learn about screenplay formatting before going into this course. The instructor doesn't spend much time explaining the intricacies of the format, which makes it a little harder to adequately begin writing and reviewing a screenplay.

автор: Sahara Z F

Aug 16, 2020

I am very happy that I finally wrote an entire feature-length script! I've written scripts before but they had been for short films and I genuinely feel like the script I've written with the help of this class has helped me become a better writer and also inspired me to write even more! If you are interested in film making or screenwriting I definitely recommend this course!

автор: Jaime C

Sep 12, 2020

I had a lot of fun doing the class online. I had ample time to complete the course, and the materials were very helpful. I look forward to doing another course, similar to this one. I feel like I learned and took a lot from this class, and thanks for the opportunity.

автор: Kiranmayi M

Sep 01, 2020

Really helpful ... Learnt tips and tricks worth a lifetime for a writer

автор: DHARAMDEEP R

Aug 22, 2020

Great Interactive and Very Knowledgeable Wonderful

автор: VISWANATHAN R

Aug 26, 2020

very much inspiring!!!

автор: Marc-Anthony C

Aug 18, 2020

Very inspiring.

автор: Shoxista

Aug 11, 2020

zXZXZXZX

автор: Sathish k Y

Jul 28, 2020

better

автор: McColm

Sep 14, 2020

Yes, this course was rewarding as I got to the finish line, but during the writing process from beginning, middle and end was a times somewhat frustrating. The new script format that I chose was Trelby and its application did take a while to get comfortable with. I took a college screenwriting course a couple of years ago and had use final cut in the past.

Overall, I did appreciate the course because its direction was fairly easy to follow, and the course provided a good outline that motivated me with its requirement of submitting 10 pages per week. I think I finished my script a couple weeks before the deadline. My ideas for this script existed a while back, so I used a condensed script of under 20 pages that I was happy to have been unable to expand into 110 pages. This is my first full-length screenplay, so it felt very rewarding upon my completion--- Thank you for your direction through the videos/ written info and the nicely laid out way of uploading my on-line submissions for review. Being able to give and receive feedback was a little time consuming, but much appreciated in the end.

автор: ASHNA G

Jun 14, 2020

I t is good enriching course and happy to learn new skills

автор: Kim M J

Jun 02, 2020

It got me to write, so that's been great.

But there have been three instances now of trying to upload submissions and being unable to because of technical issues on your end. I tried to extend the course so I could address these issues and finish up, but it only gives me an option to "rate" the course. I'm frustrated putting in countless hours and not having the technical capacity to finish. It would be great to have a text to accompany the course so one could learn the actual technical aspects of screenwriting. Do you have texts you recommend (besides Syd Field?).

автор: Gregory K

Sep 18, 2020

An entertaining course, with serious deficiencies. The professor takes a minimalist approach to his lectures that borders on the lazy and is not to everyone's taste. (Personally, I found it refreshing to have a professor who did not like to hear himself talk.) For the most part though, the course depends upon peer interaction - and this is where the course fails miserably. Though you are encouraged to work in groups, the Coursera platform provides no functionality to support group formation or group interactions. Some who did form groups using other social media platforms did all their work on those other platforms and never posted anything back to Coursera, thus defeating the entire purpose of the course. It doesn't help that Coursera divides people into walled communities using some algorithm of its own so that we cannot see the work of all the learners, but only the learners in our community. There were also technical problems with the GUI that prevented learners from submitting their work to 4 of the 20 assignments. Although this problem had been flagged for more than six months it was never fixed. The one plus of this course is that unlike creative courses from Wesleyan and other universities, with the Michigan State course you can participate in all the peer review activities without buying a certificate - and the peer reviews you get in this course are no worse (but no better) than what you get elsewhere. In summary, if you pay attention to Professor Wheeler's lectures you will get a nice introduction to screenplay writing, but be prepared to put in a lot of work and don't expect too much help from the platform.