Chevron Left
Вернуться к Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Сан-Диего

4.4
звезд
Оценки: 1,746
Рецензии: 411

О курсе

Mathematical thinking is crucial in all areas of computer science: algorithms, bioinformatics, computer graphics, data science, machine learning, etc. In this course, we will learn the most important tools used in discrete mathematics: induction, recursion, logic, invariants, examples, optimality. We will use these tools to answer typical programming questions like: How can we be certain a solution exists? Am I sure my program computes the optimal answer? Do each of these objects meet the given requirements? In the course, we use a try-this-before-we-explain-everything approach: you will be solving many interactive (and mobile friendly) puzzles that were carefully designed to allow you to invent many of the important ideas and concepts yourself. Prerequisites: 1. We assume only basic math (e.g., we expect you to know what is a square or how to add fractions), common sense and curiosity. 2. Basic programming knowledge is necessary as some quizzes require programming in Python....

Лучшие рецензии

AD
25 мар. 2019 г.

The teachers are informative and good. They explain the topic in a way that we can easily understand. The slides provide all the information that is needed. The external tools are fun and informative.

JK
8 янв. 2021 г.

I personally have very limited coding skills. this course was able to build my funadmentals in both math and science while understanding more of the bridge between the two. Very thankful for it.

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 403 отзывов о курсе Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science

автор: liang t

5 нояб. 2017 г.

Teachers explain things very clearly, and the interactive puzzles are really helpful for study, The responds of instructors are in short time , so I recommend for those who have a little people to take this course. Thanks a lot

автор: Joseph G N

28 июля 2018 г.

An excelent course, I hope that someday in my country the mathematic wil be taught in this way with puzzle and those thing really made the course interesting. this course really gave me good approaches to proof a lot of problem

автор: Ogbekile C

25 янв. 2020 г.

I am so grateful to Coursera for the opportunity to learn this course. It was of great delight to find that this course is integral in making the Data Structure and Algorithm Specialization easier to learn. Thank you so much.

автор: Pedro H

17 июня 2018 г.

Really nice introduction to discrete math and basic algorithms. The content is quite basic, but as mentioned in the syllabus is for beginners. Still, for those of you who are at that level is worth taking this specialization.

автор: 201951144 S K

4 мар. 2020 г.

This course really changed the way I approached problems while solving programming problems, especially the concept of induction which I found very clearly explained. It was really a great and fun experience.

автор: Keenan B

16 дек. 2019 г.

A lot of good information. A little difficult to understand the lectures sometimes, but the subtitles help, as does reading the slides. I really enjoyed this course. The tools were useful too. Great quality.

автор: harish h

20 февр. 2020 г.

This course is helpful for those who tend to start coding in an efficient way as the base for many algorithms in discrete mathematics. Please have a basic of Python to finish the course as per deadlines

автор: Junaid A

12 янв. 2019 г.

I am really enjoying this course as I take quiz and assignment and manage to solve and make my own analysis and thinking about it in no time.

Overall this course is providing me a different way to think.

автор: Stephen L

7 мар. 2018 г.

Decent material but a lot of the assignments were vague.

I also didn't realize that we'd specifically be using Python, wish that were more clear day one. I was under the impression it was more for people that generally knew how to program, not that we'd have to use Python to submit assignments - my Python skills are rusty.

автор: Rob S

14 июня 2018 г.

Mostly felt like a series of parlour tricks with little insight into underlying mathematical principles

автор: Ashish D S

10 июля 2018 г.

This is excellent course. Make sure that you have basic knowledge of Python before taking this course.

автор: Arka M

10 июля 2018 г.

Great and Interesting course. Last week is a the best. Thank you for letting me have this experience

автор: Konstantin K

22 нояб. 2017 г.

Quite chaotic and disarranged course (in both complexity and structure) although contains interesting topics. Possibly because of its introductory goal.

автор: jonathan c

19 апр. 2019 г.

I stuck with this course for 4 weeks however i share the opinion of a few people on here...the course is very poorly explained.

The course requires basic maths and basic python however i feel it is asking a little more than that especially when it comes to programming the mathematical concepts the presenter discusses. Very little programming guidance is provided and no explanation is provided on the solution.

I feel there is better courses out there...and the course requirements are a little misleading

автор: Mathieu G

29 нояб. 2017 г.

Assignments on external tool that doesn't seem to work. Have to un-enroll.

автор: Vijay R

19 дек. 2018 г.

What a waste of time.

автор: Juan L O

16 окт. 2017 г.

I really liked this course, it's a good introduction to mathematical thinking, with plenty of examples and exercises, I also liked the use of other external graphical tools as exercises.

автор: Aditya K P

6 дек. 2017 г.

The excellent approaching of supplanting intuition with puzzles to help reason, before starting the lectures makes proof making one of the most fun parts in this course.

автор: Aditya P

23 июня 2019 г.

Awesome course.....helping me too much as I don't want to leave learning maths .It's my favourite subject.Thanks a lot to all of them who are providing these to us.

автор: Md H R

31 мар. 2020 г.

BRILLIANT. BRILLIANT.

I had never thought Math could be taught like this.

Thank you teachers. Now looking forward to the second course of this specialisation.

автор: Chris L

25 мая 2018 г.

It's good, wish it didn't rely so heavily on python for the coding assignments, but now is as good a time as any to get comfortable with it I guess.

автор: Christine S

14 апр. 2020 г.

Fantastic course! So much fun. I want Mr. Shen to teach every course I take! The python bits needed more explanation and direction in my opinion.

автор: Avinash K C

13 июля 2019 г.

Excellent Course! The explanation of basic mathematical concepts was very helpful in understanding Software Engineering principles.

автор: Animesh S

4 апр. 2020 г.

A really fun experience. I would recommend this course to all beginners in the field of computer science and data science.

автор: Nyam-Ochir B

8 нояб. 2018 г.

Nice course little python programming and very good resources. clear teaching and explanation for theories and it's proofs