Chevron Left
Вернуться к Vector Calculus for Engineers

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Vector Calculus for Engineers от партнера Гонконгский университет науки и технологий

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 1,098
Рецензии: 303

О курсе

Vector Calculus for Engineers covers both basic theory and applications. In the first week we learn about scalar and vector fields, in the second week about differentiating fields, in the third week about multidimensional integration and curvilinear coordinate systems. The fourth week covers line and surface integrals, and the fifth week covers the fundamental theorems of vector calculus, including the gradient theorem, the divergence theorem and Stokes’ theorem. These theorems are needed in core engineering subjects such as Electromagnetism and Fluid Mechanics. Instead of Vector Calculus, some universities might call this course Multivariable or Multivariate Calculus or Calculus 3. Two semesters of single variable calculus (differentiation and integration) are a prerequisite. The course is organized into 53 short lecture videos, with a few problems to solve following each video. And after each substantial topic, there is a short practice quiz. Solutions to the problems and practice quizzes can be found in instructor-provided lecture notes. There are a total of five weeks to the course, and at the end of each week there is an assessed quiz. Download the lecture notes: http://www.math.ust.hk/~machas/vector-calculus-for-engineers.pdf Watch the promotional video: https://youtu.be/qUseabHb6Vk...

Лучшие рецензии

DK
22 мая 2020 г.

i have completed Three courses of Professor Jeffrey. I'm so happy that i learnt a lot from him. Thanks to our professor Jeffrey and thanks to The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology.

BB
14 мая 2021 г.

Professor Chasnov is a great instructor. I strongly recommend this course (and others from his). Thank you so much for making such great quality content available for everyone no matter where.

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 307 отзывов о курсе Vector Calculus for Engineers

автор: B K

29 июня 2021 г.

Starting from the very basic, the course takes to the advanced concepts on Vector calculus. I took this course as a refresher and found it very helpful. The large number of reading problems helped strengthen the understanding. For some topics, when the professor mentions something but doesn't go at length to explain, some secondary complementary resources could be useful.

автор: Khôi Đ M

8 июля 2021 г.

This course covers all essential concept of partial, line and surface integral, gradient, divergence, curl, laplacian which are the useful mathematical tools for convert the abstraction of physics theory to nice, able to evaluated equations. Overall, the content of this course is more difficult than the general conception of matrix algebra and differential equation course , the formulas is complicated and its application is abstract and theoretical. It takes more time to digest these new knowledge! More challenging more attractive of the world of mathematics. Worth your time to enroll this course!

автор: Melani

1 нояб. 2020 г.

In this course I will remind myself of calculus 2 concepts according to the program of my university, however I realized that I did not know topics like Levi Cita and I will take knowledge that will serve not only in the field of calculus but in other areas such as mechanics of materials in said course I was even able to apply my knowledge of numerical methods to the subject of least squares, returning to the subject of calculus. I think I still need to improve my knowledge of Stokes and divergence since I consider they were heavy subjects.

автор: Nafis F

8 авг. 2020 г.

I cannot thank Professor Chasnov enough for teaching in such a nice way, providing the right amount of intuition and rigour that an engineering student requires. I really liked the course. It would've been nice if the solution to the homework problems were given in text format as many wouldn't like to go through the course text searching for it. Nevertheless, I found the course very very helpful when studied with a text and I will always be grateful to Professor Chasnov.

автор: Patricio V

13 сент. 2021 г.

I am a civil engineer since many years ago (my age is 56), and I took this course just to refresh concepts and tools I once knew and used in the past during my university years. I really enjoyed and had a lot of fan with every topic covered in this course!! I am so grateful that this type of courses exist and are available for everyone. And many thanks to Jeff, you are a great teacher! I´m already suscribed to other courses given by Jeff and can -now- begin..

автор: Eduardo P

12 июля 2021 г.

I had previously taken an opencourseware course from MIT in Vector Calculus. I recently has taken this one as a refresh while taken a course in electromagnetism. As a refresher, it is VERY, VERY GOOD. Not only it refreshed my previous knowledge, but it has given me a deeper understanding of it. I do not know how useful it can be as a first course in Vector Calculus, since, as I have told, I had previous knowledge on the matter.

автор: George C

12 сент. 2021 г.

One of the best Coursera courses ever attended. Videos were of the right size mixed with plenty of exercises to better digest the material. The course notes were excellent and extremely helpful. I intend to attend the other 3 courses (differential equations, matrix algebra and numerical methods). I wish you also offered a tensor analysis course which is the basis for General Relativity, maybe in the future.

автор: CARLOS R A H

10 янв. 2021 г.

Absolutely great course. It is very challenging and requires commitment and a lot of dedication, but it's perfectly organized and will definetely make you learn a lot. I took this before taking Calculus 3 at uni this semester because I was feeling a bit intimidated, but know I have a great overview of what's coming. Definetely looking forward for the 5 week version and the other courses by Dr. Chaznov.

автор: Frank O

22 дек. 2020 г.

This is an excellent course in vector calculus and Jeff is an excellent instructor. I like the fact that it is condensed into 4 weeks (I believe it is usually taught as a full semester course at most colleges) such that it is not a big time commitment. The online textbook is also excellent and has the solutions to the problems worked out in case you get stuck. Overall I highly recommend this course.

автор: Bellam J B

8 авг. 2020 г.

This course is well designed for engineers and very useful to students taking electromagnetic courses, to that matter any engineering course based on vector calculus. I took this course to gain some more knowledge on vector calculus to teach engineering students electromagnetic theory. As a physicist I was expecting more physical significance and explanation but however the objectives are fulfilled.

автор: Brendon L

3 июня 2020 г.

Professor Chasnov is a gifted lecturer with a gift for delivering intuitive and accessible explanations of some very abstract mathematical concepts. The course notes he provides are likewise quite excellent. One of my favorite features of this course is that it focuses on teaching you how to actually *do* problems in vector calculus. You'll learn a lot if you take and finish this course.

автор: Jorge L

16 июля 2021 г.

It is an outstanding course based on five weeks. It includes all basics you need to know to be involved in Vector Calculus. From Vectors, Operators, Differentiation, Integration (Line and Surface integrals), Curvilinear Coordinates, and Fundamental Theorems. Also, it provides a book with detailed information on each topic. So then, Jeffrey Chasnov thanks for this amazing journey.

автор: 173 N T 1

24 июня 2020 г.

This is a magnificent and top-notch course! The professor is very student-friendly and explains all the concepts in very good detail. Even difficult topics are made to look easy. The structure, organization, content and the flow of the course are very well-maintained and excellently planned. Overall, it is a course I would recommend to everyone trying to learn Vector Calculus.

автор: Arowosegbe D O

25 июня 2020 г.

The course topics were arranged accordingly to help students understand each of them completely using knowledge from previous topics and also serving as a sort of revision for previous topics. The lecture also had examples that made it easier to understand the topics and layout for the course. The questions were okay and reliable feedback after submission.

автор: SCHIFFMANN

1 мая 2020 г.

It has been a pleasure to study with prof Chesnov. I had difficulties to deal with Einstein Sommation Convention (the fundamental rules of this game were not explicitly given, I found them some other place) and to get some gradient calculus in spherical coordinates.

But as I said, the total amount of joy exceeds the sum of the pains!

Thank you

автор: 文刀liu

26 нояб. 2021 г.

Great fundamental course, before taking this course, I always struggled to read the equations in fluid mechanics, and this course helps me to review some of the basic vector calculus, after finishing all the course materials and all the practice problems, I've gained more confidence to read and conduct some fluid mechanics equations.

автор: Andres P

13 апр. 2021 г.

One of the best courses I have taken on Coursera. The course is well structured, the videos include very good explanations and the exercises are challenging. Congratulations for a very well designed online course. I enjoyed with this vector calculus course that helped me remember contents I had not used for around 20 years.

автор: Azan B

19 окт. 2020 г.

While being keeping the interest and challenge at a constant high throughout the course; this is a fabulous course to learn the calculus of our world. The best part is the consistent use of real world problems and derivations to some of the most famous and important equations of modern science and engineering.

автор: Oren L

25 июля 2020 г.

Excellent overview. I took vector calc in university about 15 years ago and needed a detailed refresher for my current job. Tha God, Prof. Chasnov, comes through once again. I've actually taken all 3 of his elementary engineering math courses over the last couple months, and they are all excellent. Thank you!

автор: Chloe M G

4 июня 2020 г.

brilliant teaching style and the professor makes the hardest of concepts easier to grasp. Would recommend 10/10 to anyone who is going to/has done engineering at university, as this helped me finally understand concepts of degree i was doing that i just could not understand with the university explanations.

автор: Navneet R

17 июня 2020 г.

Absolutely loved this course by Prof. Jeff Chasnov. Being an engineering undergraduate student i found it difficult to grasp the concepts of the vector calculus class i had at mt University. This course greatly helped me bridge that gap and rekindle my confidence in multi variable calculus.

автор: Aswin V

12 сент. 2020 г.

I felt that diagrams should have been given along with some questions to help in its visualization. Otherwise, the course is really good. It helped me brush up on my fundamentals as well as learn new things like the Levi-Civita symbol, etc. I thank Mr. Jeff Chasnov for making this course.

автор: Gregory T

24 нояб. 2020 г.

This was a great course that taught many concepts that are important in other fields. I'm learning orbital mechanics but I haven't studied math in over 25 years. This was a great refresh, and since I had forgotten pretty much everything, it was a good reintroduction to the topic.

автор: Achintya h s

10 янв. 2021 г.

Useful for college students who want an introduction in multi-variable calculus. At times it is challenging but the notes have plenty of resources and problems for practice. There is a lot to learn in this class and it was a very informative for me ! Thank you Professor Chasnov !

автор: RLS

2 авг. 2020 г.

This is a very good course. It covers a lot of ground in a clear manner but it don't think they have allowed enough time for students to get fully familiar with something before the course moves on to the next topic. Each of the last two weeks should be expanded to two week each.