Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to Typography

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to Typography от партнера Калифорнийский институт искусств

4.8
Оценки: 2,793
Рецензии: 547

О курсе

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Лучшие рецензии

LS

Apr 07, 2016

Very organized and detailed about the basic, history, characteristics of typography.\n\nI really enjoyed it and wish there were other courses by the same lecturer.\n\nThanks for the great course!!

JC

Jul 29, 2018

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

Фильтр по:

151–175 из 522 отзывов о курсе Introduction to Typography

автор: Dana R S

Oct 16, 2017

Recommended for beginners and self-taught typographers. Good explanation on basics and foundations.

автор: Shirlena R

May 24, 2016

This course also fed my artistic fantasy and allowed me to lose myself in knowledge. I'm still going over what I learned from this course in my head. I even create aside from this course. I don't want to stop and Professor Anther

автор: Filipe C V H

Apr 18, 2016

Excellent course

автор: Giorgio Z

Oct 30, 2016

I loved the course! Thank you

автор: Tianyin L

Feb 22, 2018

An enjoyable experience, good amount of information for a novice.

автор: Kolya K

Jan 26, 2018

Loved this course, would love to dog dipper after it.

автор: Ineke v E

Jun 12, 2016

Good course! Learned a lot.

автор: Kostas H

Mar 25, 2017

Just excellent. Very well organised, great narration, interesting homework.

автор: Juan C E

Nov 14, 2016

This course works as a reminder and as an inspiring turning point for my career. Great job curating the contents and choosing the teachers.

автор: Alicja S

May 06, 2016

It was really interesting and inspiring. Thank you!

автор: Arunava R

Jun 10, 2016

This is good introduction on Typography.

автор: Dulce A

Apr 07, 2016

I enjoyed the course, too much

автор: Keith W

Jun 08, 2016

I work with type regularly for my job, and I still learned a lot in this course.

автор: Oleg R

Feb 01, 2018

Very nice cource

автор: celina o

Mar 30, 2016

Very accessible, clear and well documented course

автор: Diana-Mihaela S

Aug 12, 2016

I highly recommend this course! Before taking it, typography was some sort of mystical art, now everything is crystal clear. Concise and to the point, the course allows you to gain essential knowledge.

автор: Anusha

Oct 15, 2017

I literally love this subject. It has given me a lot a of information from basic to advanced.

автор: Katty A

Apr 17, 2016

A very good introduction to typography. Makes you face some aspects of text editing that were obscure before. Assignments are not overwhelmingly hard but tricky in details and interesting for investigation and execution.

автор: Erhan D

Mar 23, 2016

All basics of typography. More advanced topics are next.

автор: Tigran G

Oct 23, 2017

I enter the world of typography, typeface, fonts, greeds, expressive posters and etc. It was realy cool

автор: Sarah N

Jul 10, 2017

lot's of info .. recommended for anyone in the design industry

автор: Tarang S

Mar 28, 2017

This course is brilliant... that's all I can say.

автор: ilias b

Apr 08, 2016

I found this course very well organized and executed. There was clarity and focus in the lectures, and the exercises, should one apply themselves, proved a great space for putting things in practice, in a progressive and meaningful way.

автор: Abhilash V

Dec 24, 2016

Typography is an important part of graphic design.This course will give a brief introduction to the historical context of typography and the evolution of typography in this modern computerized age.A great course for those interested in graphics design and can be used as a refresher for the working professionals.

автор: Patricia M C

May 15, 2017

Maravilloso a pesar no manejarme en el mismo idioma puede aprender bastante con algo más de tiempo y esfuerzo