Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to Typography

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to Typography от партнера Калифорнийский институт искусств

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 4,661
Рецензии: 991

О курсе

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Лучшие рецензии

AS
12 апр. 2021 г.

This was an excellent course. I learned a whole lot about typography. The videos and assignments were interesting and challenging. I'm happy I was able to complete this course and highly recommend it!

BG
3 авг. 2020 г.

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

Фильтр по:

951–964 из 964 отзывов о курсе Introduction to Typography

автор: Megan W

30 апр. 2021 г.

Instructions for the assignments weren't great. I made mistakes that I would have caught it I'd had some clarification...and I know I'm not the only one.

автор: Ramzi O

8 сент. 2020 г.

Generic, I feel like a lot of this is found on youtube and can be learnt online. its getting a bit old and needs revision for post 2020 market and ideas

автор: Dax C

15 июня 2020 г.

The course itself is great, however, the comments were not helpful, wrong and downright disrespectful, coursera should pay attention to this problem.

автор: ANUSHA C

26 авг. 2020 г.

peer grade review takes a lot of time and even when i have submitted the assignment before time its not being reviewed.

автор: Pajera D

27 мая 2020 г.

If you are beginer, this is suit to you. But if you have experience in graphic design field, this is too easy.

автор: Adrienn B

27 июня 2020 г.

In the first 2 weeks there was no hands-on project, literally nothing exciting just dry material.

автор: Euan M

7 апр. 2016 г.

Would have welcomed more or longer lectures, and more variety in the assignments.

автор: Carlise T

31 мар. 2016 г.

It was extremely high level. I would have appreciated more content in the videos.

автор: Xinjuan D

20 июня 2019 г.

too boring

автор: israa h h

9 мар. 2019 г.

nice

автор: Freyja M

29 июня 2020 г.

Not engaging, seemed to drag on forever.

автор: Deleted A

2 сент. 2020 г.

Coursera issue, not the course itself.

Coursera app via appleTV is not compatible despite being available as something to download on that platform. I did work on both appleTV and desktop apps before I realized that the work did not transfer from one format to the other.

Coursera was not helpful in fusing the work so my participation was a bust despite the GREAT quality of the material.

автор: Stephen R

23 мар. 2021 г.

I liked the course and the material, but It was frustrating working with whatever bug plagued the system. Moved and switched due dates, peer reviews not recording. It was a total mess

автор: Alaki E

23 мар. 2016 г.

K