Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to Typography

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to Typography от партнера Калифорнийский институт искусств

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 4,783
Рецензии: 1,020

О курсе

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Лучшие рецензии

AS
12 апр. 2021 г.

This was an excellent course. I learned a whole lot about typography. The videos and assignments were interesting and challenging. I'm happy I was able to complete this course and highly recommend it!

MB
25 июля 2020 г.

The course is very interesting and well presented, the assignments are really helpful for the learning process. I would recommend to anyone interested in design, art, web design or just for curiosity.

Фильтр по:

826–850 из 1,002 отзывов о курсе Introduction to Typography

автор: Leonardo A E M

2 февр. 2019 г.

well!

автор: ruben

24 июня 2018 г.

Great

автор: Ken D

8 нояб. 2017 г.

goood

автор: Nixon M V

4 мая 2021 г.

nice

автор: Mahesh N

1 нояб. 2020 г.

GOOD

автор: Federico N

17 июня 2020 г.

good

автор: Battina D G

29 апр. 2020 г.

GOOD

автор: 于楠楠

8 апр. 2020 г.

like

автор: cery m

11 февр. 2020 г.

good

автор: chise

9 февр. 2020 г.

good

автор: Mehrdad k

22 июля 2019 г.

good

автор: Enas A M T

22 мая 2019 г.

Good

автор: Medhat H M M

28 янв. 2019 г.

Nice

автор: Winnie W

30 июня 2017 г.

good

автор: Anna R M

23 мая 2021 г.

-

автор: Владимир К

26 июля 2016 г.

G

автор: Daria D

18 сент. 2020 г.

The course materials were excellent. It was a challenging and an interesting course.

Why do I remove a star?

The assessment is based almost entirely on peer review. For me it was an opportunity to see other peoples' work. I tried to give the helpful and detailed reviews. I didn't receive the same in return: the reviews I got where one sentence long (one of them was "good job").

I think that the course should include a feedback from the reviewed on the review, and this should be part of the final score. Something along the lines of: "was this review helpful?"

автор: Millicent E

31 июля 2020 г.

Great course! I learned so much about typography in a short amount of time. The history of typography wasn't something I thought I would be interested in, but in this course you'll see how much typography is influenced by its history. The examples -- and there are dozens -- are also amazing, I ended up screenshotting a lot of them so I can look back later.

The only thing I would change is that I wish the example images were downloadable, so I didn't have to pause-screenshot-unpause the videos every few seconds.

Overall, time and money well spent.

автор: Rama A

13 авг. 2018 г.

This course is very good. Gave me a whole new experience with Letters. Powerful lesson in Typography. After this course, I have started noticing the words and their styles in almost everywhere I see them and in every brand.

Cons: Since the assignments are graded by peers, you won't always get a grade you expect. Peers are also learning and sometimes they grade and review according to their own perceptions and knowledge. Some can be at least fair if not generous ;)

автор: Melissa O

17 авг. 2017 г.

It was nice to work with type and our own words. It felt like a more "concrete" change from the first course in this specialization where we only worked with shapes and lines. It would have been nice to have slightly more involved projects. It instead felt like we were packaging and repackaging the same copy for a month. I know that the intent was for us to focus on layout and placement, but after a while it felt state to be moving around the same content.

автор: Max

21 нояб. 2018 г.

Very good course. I find some parts very convoluted with information and very fast paced. I had to keep rewinding the videos to catch all the information because it was too much for one 4 minute video in most cases.

Besides from the inconvenience of having to stop and go back several several times, the information is amazing and the visual exercises are incredible.

I hate not being able to send my homework but oh well... no money.

автор: Niamh F

28 мар. 2016 г.

This class taught me a lot about the basics of typography, however I didn't feel too encouraged creatively compared to the last class in this series. I understand that type is a bit more structured and requires more attention to detail and rules than other forms of visual art, but I wish there was a bit more content similar to the content in week 4 where we are encouraged to get creative.

автор: Annamaria J

28 авг. 2017 г.

I would rate this course 3.5 stars. I had to pause and rewind the videos a lot because they were fast and packed a lot of information, which is great but it was also sort of misleading that they appeared to be short videos but in reality they were rather "rushed". This course was less on hands in comparison with the first in this specialization, but altogether interesting and engaging.

автор: Dan R

19 сент. 2016 г.

The videos were very succinct and unobtrusively informative. The professor's approach was very good for a fundamentals course. My only real complaint would be the peer review system being the only provider of grades on the final project. The final grading feedback would be benefitted by the professor himself or a set of trained moderators that have more insight on design conventions.

автор: Ar. S D

24 июня 2020 г.

This course is apt for learners wishing to dig deeper into Typography know-hows.

I liked the course,though I wish it were a bit more intense with more hands-on practice and exercises. I feel it will create a better impression and long term memory when the learners get more to practice. Thank you to the team for making this course and special thanks to the Instructor. God bless.

:)