Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to Typography

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to Typography от партнера Калифорнийский институт искусств

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 3,000
Рецензии: 589

О курсе

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Лучшие рецензии

LS

Apr 07, 2016

Very organized and detailed about the basic, history, characteristics of typography.\n\nI really enjoyed it and wish there were other courses by the same lecturer.\n\nThanks for the great course!!

JC

Jul 29, 2018

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

Фильтр по:

451–475 из 563 отзывов о курсе Introduction to Typography

автор: Ujjwal

Apr 19, 2016

very good

автор: Carlos V W

Mar 20, 2017

Very goo

автор: Samah M A E

Mar 20, 2020

شئ جميل

автор: LANA B

Jul 07, 2018

LOVE IT

автор: HASSAAN Z R

Sep 28, 2016

owesome

автор: Padcha U

Dec 13, 2019

Superb

автор: Mohammed E E A

Apr 16, 2018

Thanks

автор: Leonardo A E M

Feb 02, 2019

well!

автор: ruben

Jun 24, 2018

Great

автор: Ken D

Nov 08, 2017

goood

автор: cery m

Feb 11, 2020

good

автор: chise

Feb 09, 2020

good

автор: Mehrdad k

Jul 22, 2019

good

автор: Enas A M T

May 22, 2019

Good

автор: Medhat H M M

Jan 28, 2019

Nice

автор: Winnie W

Jun 30, 2017

good

автор: Владимир К

Jul 26, 2016

G

автор: Rama A

Aug 13, 2018

This course is very good. Gave me a whole new experience with Letters. Powerful lesson in Typography. After this course, I have started noticing the words and their styles in almost everywhere I see them and in every brand.

Cons: Since the assignments are graded by peers, you won't always get a grade you expect. Peers are also learning and sometimes they grade and review according to their own perceptions and knowledge. Some can be at least fair if not generous ;)

автор: Melissa O

Aug 17, 2017

It was nice to work with type and our own words. It felt like a more "concrete" change from the first course in this specialization where we only worked with shapes and lines. It would have been nice to have slightly more involved projects. It instead felt like we were packaging and repackaging the same copy for a month. I know that the intent was for us to focus on layout and placement, but after a while it felt state to be moving around the same content.

автор: Chic C

Nov 22, 2018

Very good course. I find some parts very convoluted with information and very fast paced. I had to keep rewinding the videos to catch all the information because it was too much for one 4 minute video in most cases.

Besides from the inconvenience of having to stop and go back several several times, the information is amazing and the visual exercises are incredible.

I hate not being able to send my homework but oh well... no money.

автор: Niamh F

Mar 28, 2016

This class taught me a lot about the basics of typography, however I didn't feel too encouraged creatively compared to the last class in this series. I understand that type is a bit more structured and requires more attention to detail and rules than other forms of visual art, but I wish there was a bit more content similar to the content in week 4 where we are encouraged to get creative.

автор: Annamaria J

Aug 28, 2017

I would rate this course 3.5 stars. I had to pause and rewind the videos a lot because they were fast and packed a lot of information, which is great but it was also sort of misleading that they appeared to be short videos but in reality they were rather "rushed". This course was less on hands in comparison with the first in this specialization, but altogether interesting and engaging.

автор: Dan R

Sep 19, 2016

The videos were very succinct and unobtrusively informative. The professor's approach was very good for a fundamentals course. My only real complaint would be the peer review system being the only provider of grades on the final project. The final grading feedback would be benefitted by the professor himself or a set of trained moderators that have more insight on design conventions.

автор: Tyrand M

Dec 22, 2016

I enjoyed the information, although the typography section was a bit brief. The course does help myself and others to get an idea of what an actual on-site course might consist of. I have been wanting to take a type/lettering class at my current school but have had the chance. Course was mostly informative and taught me ways to research and design.

автор: keondra b f

Feb 28, 2020

the course covers the very basic elements of typography. i didn’t like that all coursework was graded by peers and that the core elements of the course hadn’t been updated in years. i found the reading and resource lists very helpful and look forward to learning more throughout the graphic design certificate course