Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to Typography

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to Typography от партнера Калифорнийский институт искусств

4.8
Оценки: 2,841
Рецензии: 550

О курсе

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Лучшие рецензии

JC

Jul 29, 2018

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

LS

Apr 07, 2016

Very organized and detailed about the basic, history, characteristics of typography.\n\nI really enjoyed it and wish there were other courses by the same lecturer.\n\nThanks for the great course!!

Фильтр по:

326–350 из 523 отзывов о курсе Introduction to Typography

автор: Mirza B

Aug 22, 2017

A must take course for Graphic Designing learners. Faculty was very helping and lectures & assignments are not too difficult for the ones having some background knowledge.

автор: Priscila G

Nov 17, 2017

Really liked the course, a lot of the great information!

автор: Nakash

Jun 14, 2016

i learn many thing form Introduction to typography.its really good course

автор: Gayatri S

Feb 03, 2018

Very Helpful Course. Thank You!

автор: Fahim A M

Aug 09, 2017

Learnt a lot

автор: Jaspal S R

Aug 07, 2016

Great, how they started the course and finished it, got all the info i was looking for!

автор: Alexander K

Oct 04, 2016

Very informative, interesting and helpful! Thank you!

автор: Tatsiana T

Oct 17, 2016

Thank you so much!

One of the best online courses I've had before.

автор: Yiyang Z

Jul 10, 2017

My favorite course in the Graphic Design specialization. The course is very informative, structured, and well-edited. I really enjoyed Anther's lectures. In addition, the mentors and the instructor responded to questions in the Discussion Forum thoroughly and promptly.

автор: Guo Y

May 03, 2017

favorite one of this series!

автор: Natasha G

Dec 28, 2016

Dear Teacher,

thank for your perfect introduction and explanation of the Typographie.

I really enjoyed all 4 weeks. It was my pleasure to learn from you! Very understandable videos and i learned a lot! Thank you! I will enroll further :) I wish you all the best in your future work!

автор: Stefanie v d B

Jan 09, 2017

learned a lot more again

автор: Anne W

Jun 25, 2016

Great tutor and introduction to Typography!

автор: Joel A

Sep 11, 2016

A pragmatic course.

автор: Joshua B

May 16, 2018

Love this course, really inspired a love a typography in me that i never new existed, as well as teaching me some handy skills. Words will never look the same. 5 stars :)

автор: Drew B

Feb 05, 2018

Very Clear and interesting.

автор: Kristen B

May 24, 2018

I absolutely loved this class! The teacher is so thorough and the assignments make implementing what I learned so much better. Everyone should take this class!

автор: Anand V

Jun 28, 2018

helped me to learn typography

автор: Teri L

Jun 24, 2018

This course was really interesting, brought about more awareness to my knowledge of words and typefaces and some histories of them. The assignments built upon one another and proved how working hard really pays off :) This was an easy to understand course, and definitely is essential if people want to go further into graphics design.

автор: Ken D

Nov 08, 2017

goood

автор: Flávia G

Mar 06, 2018

The course is very rich in content and the teacher is great

автор: Elizabeth O

Dec 18, 2017

Reviewed some of what we learned about Typography in the first course (Fundamentals of Graphic Design), but did expand in some areas. Interesting and informative and great course assignments.

автор: Chriz P P

Nov 13, 2017

The lesson gave the inspiration to create more designs using typography.

автор: Andrés C M

Apr 29, 2018

One of the best decisions I've taken was to sign up for this course. If you are interested in graphic design, thi is a must!

автор: Chana M H

Jun 15, 2018

I am finishing my final project and am amazed at how much I have learned in this abbreviated and accelerated course. As with all learning, you have to do a little unassigned research to expand on the info given, but the basics are nicely presented and easily understood.Thanks Coursera and CalArrs for this wonderful learning opportunity at such an affordable price.