Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to Typography

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to Typography от партнера Калифорнийский институт искусств

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 4,464
Рецензии: 931

О курсе

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Лучшие рецензии

BG
3 авг. 2020 г.

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

LS
6 апр. 2016 г.

Very organized and detailed about the basic, history, characteristics of typography.\n\nI really enjoyed it and wish there were other courses by the same lecturer.\n\nThanks for the great course!!

Фильтр по:

76–100 из 903 отзывов о курсе Introduction to Typography

автор: Joshua O

9 мая 2020 г.

This introductory course has definitely kindled my love for Typography. Thanks a lot to Calarts and the instructor Anther Kiley. I gained a lot from this class and if I ever become a successful graphics designer, you will be part of my success story!

автор: Guthrie A

15 апр. 2019 г.

This course was great! The assignments were challenging and so helpful for me to go through. I learned a tremendous amount of information and feel much more confident in my skills as a designer and gained a deep appreciation for type and typesetting.

автор: Eunice W

2 дек. 2018 г.

Great course that provided my an overview of the history of type/typefaces. Fed me with interesting general knowledge on the differences between roman type, egyptian type etc.

Would highly recommend if you are interesting in picking up something new.

автор: Md. A R S

27 июня 2020 г.

It was really an wonderful experienceduring this course. The way they present metarials was so easy and simple that helped me to learn so fast. This course is really enriched and the assignments were fun-doing. I am really happy to be a part of it.

автор: guy k

12 мая 2019 г.

Very good. The course gave me knowledge about typography and terms. the assignments can be improved, the last assignment shouldn't be based on the previous one in my opinion. in general the last week of the course can consist a bit more content.

автор: Marie-Noëlle W

20 апр. 2016 г.

This was a quite technical course which allowed me to learn a lot about typography and how it works. I found the video material very interesting and liked how all the assignments were linked to one other by building off each other. Great course!

автор: Egle H

8 нояб. 2019 г.

Loved it! I thought the assignments were really meaningful for the future in design :) Enjoyed this course very much. There was a bit of repetition from the Fundamentals course, but I think it was necessary. Continuing with the other courses.

автор: saloni d

23 апр. 2018 г.

i really liked the course it encourages me to perform more better in the assignments and the classmates suggestions and very helpful to me. the instructor is well communicative and helps me in better understanding of the topics. nice course.

автор: Rom B

5 мая 2020 г.

this course was very interesting great material teacher and projects.

one issue i had in the course as well in the first one of the 5 courses series, is that some people don't rate my assignment according to the rules given by the teacher.

автор: Lakkhana T

14 апр. 2018 г.

It was a good class, learn by studying from history and make me more understanding.

You can bring it and apply with your work or job. Also it's a good experience to share your opinion with your classmate. I hope everyone enjoy this class.

автор: ilias b

8 апр. 2016 г.

I found this course very well organized and executed. There was clarity and focus in the lectures, and the exercises, should one apply themselves, proved a great space for putting things in practice, in a progressive and meaningful way.

автор: Claudia U R

17 нояб. 2019 г.

Great Introduction to the uses of typography in Graphic Design and how it can be applied. Valuable theoretical and practical content. I enjoyed a lot taking this course. Thank you so much for making this course available for all of us.

автор: Laurel B

14 мар. 2018 г.

The instructor is interesting and thorough, and the assignments help to put our newly gained knowledge to use. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone who wants to learn more about typography and get a little practice in it!

автор: Liubov S

4 дек. 2019 г.

This was a very interesting course. It gave me an understanding of how to approach typefaces and what I should consider. But most importantly it was a lot of fun to complete assignments and in the end I got a result I'm very fond of.

автор: Lili C

11 апр. 2016 г.

I really enjoyed the historical background this course provided. Since finishing the course, I've started to develop a love for typography and it seems to pop into my mind more often when I read or see something visually stimulating.

автор: Олександр С М

7 нояб. 2018 г.

Thank you so much for such a great course! For valuable knowledge, great editing and fun activities. I will be definitely recommending this course to my friends who are also interested in Graphic Design. Wish you all the best! Alex.

автор: Patricia A

24 янв. 2017 г.

This was a fantastic course in typography. I learned so much about "font". I never imagined all the work that goes into creating new typeface. I was impressed by the history, the process and the strong messages behind each typeface.

автор: Shirlena R

24 мая 2016 г.

This course also fed my artistic fantasy and allowed me to lose myself in knowledge. I'm still going over what I learned from this course in my head. I even create aside from this course. I don't want to stop and Professor Anther

автор: Sara L

5 июля 2020 г.

I really enjoyed this course. I have learned a lot about Type and the history behind it. I wish the instructor could review our assignments but I understand that there is way too many students and it would be quite impossible.

автор: Muhammad W A

12 сент. 2020 г.

Truly very nice and concise course. The instructor Anther Kiley personality and way of instructions are fascinating . I'm feeling proud to be a part of this course and specialization. Love CalArts and Coursera.org Thanks all

автор: Gerardo A V

6 окт. 2020 г.

Even though the course is only 4 weeks long, it packs in everything you need to know to start understanding and playing with typography. I enjoyed the assignments, though I wish i could spend much more time playing around.

автор: Kristen F

8 июля 2017 г.

This class ended up being way more interesting than I originally expected it to be, and the last project was a great way to tie in all of the things we have learned up to that point. I definitely feel like I learned a lot.

автор: Katarzyna C

31 авг. 2020 г.

Absolutely great! It has some knowledge that should be thought to all students, of all specializations allowing them to write in a way that is pleasing to the eye and easy to follow (based on rules of text organization).

автор: Katty A

17 апр. 2016 г.

A very good introduction to typography. Makes you face some aspects of text editing that were obscure before. Assignments are not overwhelmingly hard but tricky in details and interesting for investigation and execution.

автор: Shadows

7 дек. 2020 г.

It is exiting course, contain lots of knowledge about typography, good for beginner and intermediate. I enjoyed it. I hope in future there will be a course for advance, or one that can teach us how to create typefaces.