Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to Typography

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to Typography от партнера Калифорнийский институт искусств

4.8
Оценки: 2,786
Рецензии: 547

О курсе

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Лучшие рецензии

LS

Apr 07, 2016

Very organized and detailed about the basic, history, characteristics of typography.\n\nI really enjoyed it and wish there were other courses by the same lecturer.\n\nThanks for the great course!!

JC

Jul 29, 2018

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

Фильтр по:

326–350 из 521 отзывов о курсе Introduction to Typography

автор: Gabriella P

Dec 13, 2017

This was a great and informative course. I still find a bit of fault in the fact that all assignments are peer-reviewed. It's hard to learn fully that way. While I appreciate that peer reviewing is incredibly important, especially when it comes to art, it would be nice to have instructor input as well. That being said, I understand that the instructors have a great load with their in-college classes.

автор: Laurel B

Mar 14, 2018

The instructor is interesting and thorough, and the assignments help to put our newly gained knowledge to use. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone who wants to learn more about typography and get a little practice in it!

автор: Winnie W

Jun 30, 2017

good

автор: Erik M

May 03, 2017

Great courses for pretty much everyone. I'm a marketer, not a designer but I still found it very useful, as sometimes I still have to work with typgraphy a bit. This is a great introduction to typography for designers, copywriters, marketers and everyone else!

автор: Ahmed R A

May 01, 2017

very good

автор: Manash G

Jan 04, 2017

I have learned a lot from the typography lessons, I recommend to all designers

автор: Samuele R

Aug 10, 2017

Very interesting course, I liked it so much and enjoyed making the assignments.

автор: Rita K

Jan 19, 2018

In the Graphic Design Specialisation this course is my favourite so far. The videos are great, the assignments are interesting. After this introductory course I would love a Typography specialization too.

автор: Yusuf C

Mar 21, 2017

A wonderful course

автор: Claudio L

Oct 26, 2017

Very useful!

автор: Lorenzo F

Jul 05, 2017

Amazing course! I love typography and these lectures were very well done and insightful.

автор: Dasha Y

Dec 20, 2017

Lots of useful information! Thanks for creating this course!

автор: Mushtaq A R

Oct 17, 2017

I got to learn some useful techniques, terminology and creative ideas in this great course. It's very good especially for beginners.

автор: Kushal S

Feb 11, 2018

A must course for anyone who wants to start using fonts/typefaces wisely. The course content is very well curated - covering all the basics of typography.

автор: Ayesha B

Jan 28, 2018

Simple. To the point!

автор: Dana L

Sep 09, 2018

Very interesting and important course to those who wish to become a graphic designer

автор: Angela O

Sep 25, 2018

I liked this course. Very straightforward and had useful assignments that built on each other.

автор: andrea a

Sep 12, 2018

i have done things that i never imagined myself doing <3

автор: Kayne M

Sep 17, 2018

Highly useful information to beginners in typography with very well made videos. Balanced exercises push students to implement the knowledge they acquired mixed with their own creativity.

автор: Ekaterina I

Aug 15, 2018

Great course! Quite easy, but I've learnt a lot. Also it is very informative.

автор: Emilio R

Aug 18, 2018

Very well explained lessons on Typography with assigments that improve your understanding. Thank you

автор: AMAN S

Aug 20, 2018

A must do course, if you want to get hands on experience in Typography.

автор: Mitali D

Sep 03, 2018

The course is very helpful and makes you develop a lot of typographic skills in just 4 weeks. The assignments are very interesting and helps in developing design skills and improves design thinking. The lectures are very explanatory and cover all the important areas of typography.

автор: Ahsan A

Oct 05, 2018

Perfectly Covered the content. I'll definitely enroll in another course by CALARTS. Loved it!

автор: Fatima H S E I S

Oct 18, 2018

Very useful and I have learnt a lot of things.