Chevron Left
Вернуться к Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds от партнера Альбертский университет

4.9
звезд
Оценки: 985
Рецензии: 311

О курсе

Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds is a five-lesson course teaching a comprehensive overview of the origins of birds. This course examines the anatomy, diversity, and evolution of theropod dinosaurs in relation to the origin of birds. Students explore various hypotheses for the origin of flight. Watch a preview of the course here: https://uofa.ualberta.ca/courses/paleontology-theropod-dinosaurs...

Лучшие рецензии

MC

Mar 15, 2018

This course was great! It explains everything clearly, and it keeps you involved by asking questions about the material, and keeps you amused with some interesting anecdotes. Highly suggested by me!

JC

Aug 22, 2017

I loved this course. It was informative, easy to understand, and exciting. The lecturer's knowledge and passion shone through in the lectures, and the course notes were a great supplement too.

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 305 отзывов о курсе Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds

автор: Daniel T

Jan 08, 2019

W. Scott Persons is a spectacular presenter. He speaks clearly and articulates himself in such a way that he can explain a complex subject in an easy-to-understand way. He doesn't speak too quickly nor too slowly. If anyone wants to be a better presenter, they should follow the example of Persons.

I like the questions being asked during the video. Sometimes they are just to make sure you are paying attention, but most times they require you to make inferences based on what you have learned, which is great. If you complete the reading material before watching the videos, you should have no problem at all answering the video questions.

The reading material is extremely in-depth and very informative even beyond what the videos offer. One complaint I have would be that the estimated time of completion for the reading is inaccurate. They say it takes about 10 minutes but if you want to actually read and get a good grasp of all of the material presented in the notes, it will take far longer. Personally, it takes me several hours to consolidate the material in my head and to take notes. Like I said, the reading goes very in-depth.

The reading material also uses anatomical terms of location very frequently. I would recommend learning the anatomical terms of location (rostral, caudal, distal, proximal, etc.) to assist you while you read the notes. Also take some time to learn how to interpret cladograms.

One thing that stands out to me is the Tree of Life, which is basically an interactive learning objective that shows how ALL life to have ever existed on this planet is connected. It is an AMAZING supplement to the course and a lot of fun to explore.

Overall, I HIGHLY recommend this course to anyone interested in dinosaurs; paleontology as a whole; evolution and phylogenesis; and ornithology.

автор: Brice B

Sep 09, 2017

Fascinating class! Covers a lot of material very clearly in five weeks. The use of the media is good with in-video quizzes, some games and an interactive phylogenetic tree of life. Course notes are provided for each lessons (they are very well done). The presenter, Scott Persons, a PhD student at the time if I am not mistaken, is great, though he is very surprisingly not credited on the homepage of the course, which is a shame (especially given that he has also written his scripts among other things...) I have attended all four paleontology courses from the University of Alberta and this is the one I preferred. Having first hand accounts of the discovery of Therapod fossils by Professor Currie is great and as a result the course strikes a good balance between giving facts and explaining the scientific method. Moreover, the historical part of the course, on the debate on the origin of dinosaurs, is very interesting and, as an added bonus, gives an idea of what the state of the field is today.

автор: Michael S R

Oct 03, 2017

An excellent course......so well presented, so very exciting! I just loved it! I'm a retired neuroscience researcher (dementia) and held held positions as a Research Fellow and Adjunct Professor, Australian Catholic University. Since retiring I have been pursuing a long dormant passion for palaeontology and have worked on dinosaur projects in Outback Australia and have studied formal units in Palaeontology through the University of New England, Australia, and now this course through the University of Alberta! I have also obtained credentials as a laboratory technician with the Australian Age of Dinosaurs Museum. I look forward to doing another course via Coursera through the University of Alberta! Bloody beauty, mate!

автор: Matthew J C

Mar 15, 2018

This course was great! It explains everything clearly, and it keeps you involved by asking questions about the material, and keeps you amused with some interesting anecdotes. Highly suggested by me!

автор: Julia C

Aug 22, 2017

I loved this course. It was informative, easy to understand, and exciting. The lecturer's knowledge and passion shone through in the lectures, and the course notes were a great supplement too.

автор: Caleb A S

Sep 14, 2018

Highly educational, even for a veteran paleontologist like myself. I would indeed reccomend this course to anyone who has an interest in paleontology, evolutionary biology, or ornithology!

автор: Dhaval S

Jun 11, 2019

That was one of the Best Experience of Learning u people Nailed it Perfectly, waiting for some new courses from your side, Dhaval Shukal

автор: Djalu A Y

Jul 23, 2020

The truth is, ever since a little, I love dinosaurs. I even has several books about dinosaur. It is amazing that dinosaur still exist, the modern birds. The topic about theropod and origins of birds interests me. I figured out that birds are the only theropods with better physiology and adaptations. I don't need to revive those extinct dinosaurs, because in farms, forest, savanna, bird shop, park, city, Antartica, and all around the world, dinosaurs living among the mammals and other animals. There is another fact based on Molecular evidence, seven collagen types obtained from T rex's leg bone fragments, compared to collagen data from living birds (specifically, a chicken), suggest that older theropods and birds are closely related. And when you look at all the birds' legs, cooked or uncooked, they're still scaly like the dinosaur and their other relatives, the crocodilians.

In 2017, a study found that a peptide was present in the bone of the modern ostrich that was identical to that found in the Tyrannosaurus and Brachylophosaurus specimens. AND LIKE I SAID, you don't need to revive the dinosaurs, because they are still surround us.

I am a dinosaur lover. I even dreamed to have a Canary, pet finch bird, and budgerigar as a cheap dinosaur companion in my house, although dad doesn't agree with that.

One thing that I am still curious about is, if the birds are dinosaurs just like the non avian theropods, why the hip bone shape or structure of the birds are different than the non avian theropods' hip bones (saurischian hip bone). Which is why I hope Alberta University do more research abouth this

автор: Matthew M

Apr 16, 2019

Excellent and informative course! I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it and the class notes will be cherished and re-read every now and again. I'm really happy that the course wasn't too easy and was more aimed at those of us with already a decent understanding of palaeontology and zoology as it really taught me a lot.

The only thing I would mark it down on is that the course notes did not always correspond correctly and were out of order to the videos. I like to make notes and highlight as I watch and it took a lot of page jumping to do that. At the same time I am uncertain if the notes were supposed to be done this way, or worked through after the course.

I look forward to other courses by this University as this one was absolutely fantastic! I would love to see a course that goes more into detail on modern bird evolution and adaptions, the last lesson felt very rushed. I would also love to see courses covering other prehistoric species, perhaps the evolution of cats, whales etc or other dinosaur clades.

The instructors were a joy to listen to and easily understood too. I felt very involved and now have a much better understanding of theropods and their descendants. As an amateur paleoartist this helps me a lot!

Thank you so much for this wonderful course!

автор: Anne J

Oct 15, 2019

Entertaining, well designed and organized, thought-provoking course with enusiastic presentors and spectacular graphics.

Because I have never paid any attention to dinosaurs from the Mesozoic, and din't have a clue about the variety and naming conventions, I was initially overwhelmed by all the 15+ (seemed like 100+) character long names that were tossed about like popcorn tossed at the villan in a melodrama. It took a while, but I adjusted. Beware if you are not a dino connisseur.

While the course offers a primer in bird anatomy at the very beginning, the more you know about modern bird anatomy the better you will see the convulted map of evolution (and where you are heading) from the outset. My knowledge of bird anatomy was a helpful counter balance to my ignorance of Mesozoic dinos!

I thought that this course would simply be a nice side bar to my understanding and appreciation of birds. Instead it added a remarkable depth to my understanding, respect, and appreciation for the birds I observe and photograph every day.

Many thanks to the University of Alberta faculty and staff that make this course available!

автор: David M J

May 03, 2018

Exceptional course! This course is great for anyone trying to get into Paleontology or even get a basic understanding of the evolution of adaptions for changing to evolutionary needs and ecology. All lessons are incredibly informative and easy to understand. i took this course because I have always had an interest in Paleontology, but never knew whether I wanted to pursue a career in it. I am in the US Navy and thanks to these paleontology courses presented by University of Alberta, I am now looking to continue forward with a career into Paleontology and pursue this interest that has been there since childhood. Paleontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the origins of Birds is only one of the courses from the University of Alberta I would recommend. To the University of Alberta, Thank you for giving me the opportunity to dip my toe into this field and truly differentiate whether or not, I just loved the concept of dinosaurs or if I actually wanted to pursue a career in Paleontology and research. Fantastic course overall and truly changed my idea of what i want to pursue in my future career. Thank you.

автор: Diana P B

Jul 09, 2019

A very good and in-depth course that can be taken with very little previous knowledge on the subject. Lecturers go in great detail, not simply giving you information, but really making sure you understand how we infer dinosaur's behaviour and function of different body parts. Biomechanics are taught at a level that is very easy to understand and allow you to apply your learning to different areas. The course is interactive, with many quizzes along the way that ensure you are not just memorising, but actually engaging and learning how to develop your thinking so that you can also interpret fossils to determine function and behaviour. Both illustrations and fossils are shown throughout the course, which are helpful in guiding one's learning. Recommended even for those not interested in Paleontology but are passionate for biology in general.

автор: Christiane B U

Nov 29, 2016

With Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds MOOC I finally completed all Paleo Online Courses offered by University of Alberta. I enjoyed all Paleo MOOCs given their very interesting content and outstanding presentation, but I must say that Early Vertebrate Evolution was far the best one, in my opinion. It is also true to say that all University of Alberta MOOCs, as usual, provided first class lecture notes. I would like to thank all the personnel involved in developing and making available this amazing tool for propagating science and knowledge. And I would like to suggest standardizing the measuring unit system throughout all courses, because there is an interchangeable use of either imperial or metric, and since most of the world uses metric system, that could be a good way to go.

автор: Erin J

Mar 18, 2020

a great introductory course, interestingly organized and full of detail which introduces avian characteristics of early theropods, talks a lot about specifics of evolution, and demonstrates clearly some of how dinosaurs - and other archosaurs - are classified. I would recommend reading up a bit on the positions in medical anatomy before taking this (distal/anterior/posterior/dorsal etc) but you can also look up terms as you go along. This course doesn’t have a strenuous testing procedure for you to move through the lessons, so the amount you get out of it is really down to your own interest, especially with the course notes, which offer a wealth of resources. Really fun and engaging, thanks!

автор: kathleen C W

Feb 19, 2016

One of the first big books I remember reading was about dinosaurs and their world: much of the information changed with further discoveries, but the book gave me such a sense of wonder at the big "lizards" that roamed the earth!

I found this course fascinating, especially since it follows on Dino 101. This helped me to see the various evolutionary tracks that were possible, and how the wide avian diversity came about. Looking at the anatomy development was very helpful to this bird-watcher/dino-watcher.

Thank you so much for opening this program -- it has been a joy and I am looking forward to the other course openings as they come up.

автор: ELAINE M B

May 06, 2020

I found this course to be fascinating, and it was a real achievement to get to grips with the biology and evolutionary changes that led to the Modern Dinosaurs - birds - surviving and thriving. I had, like many others, thought that this was a planet that was now dominated by mammals, after the dinosaurs became extinct. However, the enormous variety of birds that exist means that we co-evolved, and the mammalian branch of modern life is not quite so dominant as we had been taught! This is a really enjoyable course, if you like an intellectual challenge and a genuine sense of educational achievement when completed!

автор: Manuel A A B

Jun 25, 2020

Hello, I am Manuel Aguirre, from Chile, for 25 years that I have not studied about Paleontology and dinosaurs. Since I presented my photography thesis project with a slide show of "Dinoaurs in Chile" 1995. Today, thanks to the University of Alberta, Canada and thanks to Professors Scott People and Phill Currie, at 56 years old I have become re-enchanted with these "prehistoric critters". And of course with the knowledge of the Evolution of the Birds. Despite the language barrier, I managed to do a good course. Just say thank you very much and I would like to continue studying Dinosaurs with you.

автор: Bobby H

Aug 15, 2016

Loved it. I wish there were a 10 minute review at the end where everything is pulled together in a meaningful and cohesive way with a summary of the key evolutionary paths from dinosaurs to modern birds. I will go back through all the course material to sketch this out for myself. It would be nice to have an overview/summary/chart to study from though. I'd like to memorize key points and some more signposts to help with that would be great.

I finished the course in less than a week and loved every minute. I am left wanting more. P.S. I have a master's degree in biological sciences.

автор: Raphael B d O (

Sep 17, 2018

I'm a ruge fan of Coursera style of learning. I think this is a powerful tool for knowledge and a way to spread it. And this course about the connections between theropods and birds just ratify my thoughts. I'd like to say i'm much obliged to you (paleo)scientists of Alberta for the experience and opportunity to learn such a valuable subject for someone that's always fascinated with life's history and Evolution's ways to transform. One day, i shall visit Alberta to see by myself these amazing fossils records you have. Thanks again, you got a (another?) fan from Brazil.

автор: Joel A C

Feb 27, 2016

This is truly a very interesting and informative course on the origin of birds! My only preference would be that the rich lecture notes would be more thoroughly covered in the video lectures... even though that would make those videos longer (oh, what a "shame" that would be -- yeah, right!!). I was impressed that the video lectures reflected some of the latest findings in fossil & genetic findings. Last but by no means least, the professional yet personal style of the video lectures was not only helpful in my learning but made it that much more enjoyable! Well done!!!

автор: Brian P

Apr 10, 2020

Fantastic. Both the primary and secondary professors were excellent, had superior presentation (speaking, gesturing, personality) skills and of course, were extremely well informed. The accompanying illustrations and samples of wings and bones also helped tremendously. Technically, the people who designed the online course know what they are doing, are experts. The ease to which we can take notes, go back easily and re-listen to something said, to leave and then later, pick up the lecture anywhere we want, is first rate. Cannot say enough good things. Superb.

автор: Yang Y

May 05, 2018

A very comprehensive introduction to theropod dinosaurs. It's rare to see good courses on this topic so gave it a 5 star. I have always been intrigued by dinosaurs and finally get a chance to learn more deeply about it. The instructor was passionate and explanation was clear and helpful. I just found that, without these lively explanation, some part of the materials with mere long texts explaining the animals' characteristics get too abstract for me. It sort of gave me headache remembering all the strange name for different groups. But, it was also the fun part:)

автор: Daniel A V

Apr 10, 2017

The course was simply amazing. I am a Brazilian student of veterinary medicine with an special interst in birds. I love to watch and learn about them, and, if possible, I will work with the medicine and rehab of that incredible group of living dinosaurs. The course was extremely didactic and clear on all past information, making my interest only increase. Unfortunately I can not afford to buy the certificate, which makes me sad in a way. However, I am very grateful to the entire mini-course team and I congratulate you on the incredible work you have done.

автор: Robert H S

Jul 10, 2017

After completing Dino 101: Dinosaur Paleobiology, I wanted more!!! Palaeontology: Theropod Dinosaurs and the Origin of Birds was such an interesting course. I started taking Coursera sponsored courses starting in 2013. The two Palaeontology courses I have recently taken are two of the best. The presentations are excellent. Please extend my sincere appreciation to the staff of the University of Albert's Palaeontology team for their hard work and dedication - just an excellent course. Your hard work is very much appreciated. Thank you.

автор: Isabel B

Aug 29, 2016

I had such a great time taking this course.

Is the second I take from the University of Alberta, I'm sure going to take them all.

The classes are comprehensible, with well made videos, and written material that's great to study later on, or before you watch them.

This written material frees a lot of time on the class, as I usually take notes when watching online courses, this let's me concentrate on watching the material without having to pause over, and over to write down what seems important.

Thank you!