Chevron Left
Вернуться к Studying Cities: Social Science Methods for Urban Research

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Studying Cities: Social Science Methods for Urban Research от партнера Роттердамский университет им. Эразма

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 128
Рецензии: 33

О курсе

Welcome! Are you looking to learn more about how to conduct scientific research, specifically in an urban or local context? Then you have found the right course: Studying Cities: Social Science Methods for Urban Research by the Institute for Housing and Urban Development Studies (IHS), Erasmus University Rotterdam. During the course you will gain more insight in the different steps of the research cycle, and build a firm foundation for your own future research endeavors. Before any (urban) researcher may start conducting research, it is crucial to understand the different aspects and elements of doing research. The course will guide you through the various steps of the research cycle to provide you with the basic knowledge necessary for any Master-level program, but with a special focus on urban and local development. The course starts with introductory lectures on the problem statement, research objective, empirical cycle and the research question. Over the following weeks you will also learn the components and criteria of the theoretical framework and operationalization, research strategies, and the collection and analysis of quantitative and qualitative data. You will be provided with the necessary tools to understand and evaluate these key steps in scientific research by watching video lectures with in-video questions and by completing the final peer review, which will use all the elements you have learnt throughout the course....

Лучшие рецензии

TS
22 нояб. 2020 г.

Such a rigorous, thorough and enjoyable course - you really feel like you are learning fantastic content and technical skills. it behaves well as a foundational framework for urban analytics.

AT
16 июля 2020 г.

A very useful course and worth to join. Learned new applied Social Science methods in specific details for doing urban research.

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 33 отзывов о курсе Studying Cities: Social Science Methods for Urban Research

автор: Syeda I N

24 сент. 2019 г.

It has helped me a lot. It was a very effective course on Social Science Methods for Urban Research in Studying Cities. Thanks a lot to Course era and the IHS family to give me such an opportunity to gather knowledge once again after completing UMDT 5 in 2014. It was great!!

автор: Gabriel M

21 дек. 2020 г.

Excellent course ir you are in a process of making a thesis in a urban problem. It is very organized with a great content

автор: Augusto A

26 мая 2020 г.

This is a great course for those who want to pursue in studying cities.

автор: Katheryn J P P

7 окт. 2020 г.

Very good course. It helped me with my degree project.

автор: Branislav T T

22 мая 2020 г.

Everything went almost perfect, except the last task which was too demanding. I recommend to think about another, more appropriate and not so time consuming knowledge assessment methods in this course. Also, some student are revengeful, meaning if you assess their task objectively that those are wear tasks, they do the same to your task no matter how good you did yours. Try to think about more objective way of assessing the final task as well.

автор: Olenka P

10 апр. 2021 г.

Personally I found the this course useful because presents all the steps to prepare a research proposal from the very beginning, all the presentation are clearly explained (there could be some terms not everyone know, but is possible to review complementary bibliography to understand better some concepts). However, something to improve could be the quizes since sometimes are too textual anyway are helpful to remember what was explained in each session. The final task is interesting, it allows to evaluate examples of research proposals as well as to be critic to score each part of it justifying properly and also to evaluate other students' evaluations and provide them a feed back. Many thanks to the team of professors!

автор: Satwant B

28 дек. 2019 г.

The course on Studying cities has helped me to expand my scope pf research in urban studies form Historical research methods to a interdisciplinary methodology. The video lectures, notes and assignments have kept me on my toes and enhanced my research skills as social scientist.

автор: Caroline c

17 дек. 2020 г.

The course really helped me to have a clear picture on conceptualizing research with substantial knowledge on relevant procedures. It is going to help me in my present job as well as to prepare proposal for my PhD.

автор: Nurbek A

13 дек. 2020 г.

This course is really interesting in design and the way it examines knowledge, attention, and general logic. Itself, the course is very important and helps to provide insight into the learning experience.

автор: Tabinda S

23 нояб. 2020 г.

Such a rigorous, thorough and enjoyable course - you really feel like you are learning fantastic content and technical skills. it behaves well as a foundational framework for urban analytics.

автор: Аксанов Д О

21 мар. 2020 г.

The course is enjoyable and exciting! Being a non-specialist I got great pleasure studying this interesting and comprehensive course to improve my general knowledge.

автор: Aye N C T

16 июля 2020 г.

A very useful course and worth to join. Learned new applied Social Science methods in specific details for doing urban research.

автор: Vaida V E

15 мар. 2021 г.

Thank you for a consistent, helpful and informative course on Social Science Methods for Urban Research.

автор: Michael

13 июля 2020 г.

Exceptionally well crafted modules. The videos and assignments encourage and task learning .

автор: Lina J

4 нояб. 2020 г.

A very clear and concise course, good marking methods.

автор: Arwin B

8 янв. 2021 г.

Difficult to accomplish yet so satisfying to complete

автор: Jigme T

12 нояб. 2020 г.

Very insightful and lively learning materials

автор: Mohammed T

24 янв. 2021 г.

Super useful, I would highly recommend it!!

автор: Jannatul F R

31 авг. 2020 г.

Excellent course and I have learnt a lot.

автор: Akpene G

9 дек. 2020 г.

The course was educative and informative

автор: Saurabh P

8 июня 2020 г.

Great Teachers and very useful course.

автор: Rakib B

12 нояб. 2020 г.

Comprehensive and well defined Course

автор: Basel T

27 июля 2020 г.

very good and informative

автор: Sergio A E F

18 июля 2020 г.

Good learning experience!

автор: Analyn E B

26 дек. 2020 г.

Thank you very much!