Chevron Left
Вернуться к SQL for Data Science

Отзывы учащихся о курсе SQL for Data Science от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Девисе

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 8,554
Рецензии: 2,240

О курсе

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

Лучшие рецензии

JP
5 апр. 2020 г.

This course has really helped with optimizing queries that I work with everyday, enhancing my understanding of RDBMS, joins, analyzing and structuring exactly what you need and yielding those results.

MP
17 июля 2020 г.

best course for learning SQL for beginners.I learned so much from this course.the speaking language is also simple ..So i Recommended this course for beginners who's 2nd or third language is English.

Фильтр по:

1651–1675 из 2,236 отзывов о курсе SQL for Data Science

автор: Verónica N C

1 нояб. 2020 г.

The content was excellent. I learned a lot but I would like to share that in my experience it took more time than estimated, especially to complete the final project.

It should present a better time estimation in order to support users in managing their time.

автор: Artur T

9 авг. 2020 г.

Very good practical exercises, while the lectures are worse. Lecturer mostly reads text written on slides, therefore learner need additionally to read some information online with more examples to have more clear picture and be ready for practical assignment.

автор: Saisha M

18 мая 2019 г.

I personally found the course really helpful. I recently started working on SAS and this SQL course came in handy. I'm planning on taking a course on SAS now. I'd recommend this course to anyone who wants to get started with SQL, it's a pretty basic course.

автор: Julia G

5 мая 2020 г.

The material in the course was good and very useful, clearly structured. The only comment I would give that I didnt like the way material was presented, you could feel that it was read not told and presenter was inexperienced with reading from the screen.

автор: Harsh K V

11 июля 2020 г.

The course was very interesting and the assignments were also engaging. However, it would have been even better if Sadie would code in SQL while giving the lectures. This would have provided a better understanding of how to approach a particular problem.

автор: Stephen F

14 апр. 2020 г.

It's a great beginner level class. It only covers SQLite, which means you don't get some basic statements like WITH, which I use regularly. But I did get introduced to a few new ideas, and Sadie does a fine job emphasizing working in a thoughtful manner.

автор: Prabesh D

19 янв. 2020 г.

As someone who's completely new to SQL, I learned a lot.

However, Week 3's content on Subqueries could have been better explained.

Overall, I recommend you the course if you are new to SQL like me. If you know a bit already, this might be too easy for you.

автор: Hassan s

17 авг. 2020 г.

The exercises in the course helped give me practice for which I am giving this a 4 star.

Teaching SQL on video without real time practice was weird. Found myself going to websites like w3 schools so keep that in mind if you're considering this course.

автор: Mehrshad E

1 февр. 2018 г.

Generally a helpful course. The biggest problem I think is providing enough examples. There are many examples in the slides but the results are not provided. I think showing both codes and the results will help people to grasp the concept more easily.

автор: Luan K F M B

17 янв. 2021 г.

I liked all the content, but It could have some more examples in the classes, and, in the examples given, the teacher could show us the tables we're working with, so we can see clearly what we're doing...

it's very important when learning the sintax!!

автор: Yunlin H

3 окт. 2020 г.

I learnt coursera of Managing Big Data with SQL at Duke before. This course needs more practices in real cases compared with Duke. It only has basic statements on using SQLlite and simple real cases. I recommend Duke's course first then this course.

автор: Ken H

9 окт. 2020 г.

The course was good. It enhanced my knowledge of sequel.

My only disappointment was there was no immediate feedback or instruction when attempting to write scripts. Perhaps a pop up which noted common mistakes when attempting to write the script.

автор: RAGHAVENDRA. L H

17 сент. 2018 г.

Nicely instructed by Sadie St. Lawrence.

Way the things are explained with examples helped me to understand the topics better.

I felt a little more explanation on Normalization and understanding the ER diagrams would have been could have been better

автор: MaryAlyce S

16 янв. 2020 г.

Sadie is a great teacher. This course is strong on theory. I would have liked to have had direct access to the data sets that I could use with other SQL tools but did not find this limiting in learning what was taught. A good foundation.

автор: Ivan O

20 окт. 2019 г.

Very useful for me at my career moment. This is a good SQL course if you're a beginner to intermediate SQL user wanting to update or learn some SQL. But if your are already a advanced SQL user I feel the course might be too basic for you.

автор: Jens P

6 мар. 2018 г.

The videos are aweomse. I would have loved a little bit more material, e.g. a short summary of all the SQL entries discussed in the course. In addition, I think there was quite big jump of difficulty between week 4 and the peer assigment.

автор: Alex B

17 дек. 2019 г.

some quizes or coding tasks were worded pretty badly and were confusing to many students. It needs to be reviewed and edited. Also, more practice tasks between the videos would be a lot more helpful rather than giving 10 videos in a row.

автор: Anubhav N

21 авг. 2018 г.

The course structure is so very well laid out that on reaching the final week, I am hungry to learn more and more concepts and practical uses of SQL. I also feel that there should be more examples and coding assignments to practice.

автор: Prateek G

5 апр. 2020 г.

I think i lreant quite a lot more from really googling. The course is an excellent framework, but you will need to reference a lot of external sources, for clarity, and for really understanding and aplpying the concepts you learn.

автор: Kshitij K

26 мая 2020 г.

Good course to learn SQL queries. I think it will be helpful for someone who wants to pursue a career in data science. Final assignment and quizzes however were very confusing and not in line with what was taught in the videos.

автор: Callum L

4 февр. 2018 г.

A good introduction to SQL. The first few weeks were very informative and easy to follow, however week 3 and week 4 seemed disjointed. Some topics were covered very briefly, so I feel like my understanding Is not quite complete.

автор: Christian A R N

28 июля 2018 г.

very nice course and good explanation

would have been nice if a summary document would have been provided at the end of each module to be able to look up content more easy and have a guide when writing applications later in time

автор: Mert y

17 дек. 2020 г.

I think the course need more practice quiz and all practice code quizzes answers should be put.Because If I don't remember wrong, Week2 and Week3 practice quizzes answers were not put. Apart from these the course is so good.

автор: Katherine R

14 нояб. 2019 г.

I think the peer-reviewed assignment should be only on the last portion of the last project for the custom data analysis part only. Because the other questions are very technical and can accelerate the process of grading :)

автор: Guillermo E F

7 февр. 2018 г.

I enjoyed the course and learnt quite a lot in a relatively short time. My only critic is that I felt there was a gap between the depth with which each topic was cover in the lectures and the complexity of the final exam.