Chevron Left
Вернуться к SQL for Data Science

Отзывы учащихся о курсе SQL for Data Science от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Девисе

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 10,710
Рецензии: 2,800

О курсе

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

Лучшие рецензии

JG
22 авг. 2021 г.

I thought this course was great! Great introduction to Relational Databases and SQLite. Highly reccomend for anyone new to SQL, Databases, or someone looking to get started with a data science career.

JP
5 апр. 2020 г.

This course has really helped with optimizing queries that I work with everyday, enhancing my understanding of RDBMS, joins, analyzing and structuring exactly what you need and yielding those results.

Фильтр по:

2801–2825 из 2,848 отзывов о курсе SQL for Data Science

автор: Noel C

30 сент. 2019 г.

The first two weeks were easy to follow along with. Unfortunately after that the course was severely lacking. There were not good explanations of things and new things would be added in that hadn’t been covered. When you post questions the mentors aren’t much help and the students will try to answer if they can. There’s also no way to practice. I also would’ve found it nice to see the tables they were pulling their “examples” from. I had to use other resources to actually study and learn SQLite. I’m assuming the people who gave this course a high score are already familiar with SQLite and just wanted the certificate.

автор: Helena B

3 мар. 2021 г.

First thing the instructor said was this course is for beginners. I am a beginner so I signed up. There are so many references I did not understand, no step by step explanation of how to find the data required to pass the exams so ended up looking for answers on the forum. Only way I managed to get through the third week was because my husband new how to use python and he helped me find correct answers - which were different to the ones we were given.

New steps were brought in without any basic explanation, again an indication that prior knowledge is needed.

Awful and disheartening

автор: Jay P

16 янв. 2021 г.

Pretty useless course, especially for someone looking to audit (learn for free). Well I would be livid if I actually paid for this.

Without a text editor in the course, you are trying to learn SQL via slideshow basically. There is no way to learn SQL without practicing. I switched to Codecademy's SQL course as it's much better because of the the text editor. They teach you and you practice with actual syntax and commands rather than stupid quiz questions. I still use some of the videos to better understand some concepts but only after I practice/learn them in Codecademy.

автор: Brian K

23 нояб. 2020 г.

This course really stinks. If you already know SQL and just need a certification, a course like this would be fine. But for complex subject matter like SQL, it needs to go Concept->Practice, rinse & repeat. Instead, it's Concept->Concept->Concept->Concept->Concept->Concept->Practice. Sadie, it's real shame. She lures you in week one thinking this is going to be doable, and by the end of week 2, the writing is on the wall. It's too bad because a good SQL course could do a lot of good in this environment and they clearly have the infrastructure to do it.

автор: Alexander B

29 окт. 2020 г.

Didn't like it. Too simple content (could only bear it with speed>1.5). Too many errors in the videos. Peer review is stupid b/c the tasks were simple but time consuming. Some of the works I had to review were simply copies from the internet (I can tell b/c some solutions you can find on the web contain answers to questions which have been removed). Teacher, however, did a good job. Clear, easy to understand explanations.

автор: F B

17 февр. 2018 г.

The course does go through the relevant topics. But the assignments and moderator attention (and quality of responses) are well below standards compared to other coursera courses. I would not recommend paying for this course, but rather just audit it. This way you will still get the material, but you won't have to go through the really bad and frustrating assignments (unclear/ambiguous/wrong wording).

автор: Songul A

22 мар. 2021 г.

Videos are not helpful. Going over the concepts with some codes and hypothetical examples are not useful. It would be great if we see the codes run and some of the results. Also, explanations are inadequate. The notions are oversimplified and rushed through. I learned the topics by doing the assignments which are very good for self-learning but mostly not covered in the videos.

автор: Brian

19 нояб. 2020 г.

This class does not go into enough detail. The lectures are not particularly helpful. The final assignment is mislabeled in terms of time it will take which leads to poor time management. Some of the questions are also considerably more difficult and require skills not taught or practiced well enough during the class. I wish I had done a different class.

автор: Shervin L D

20 дек. 2019 г.

Worst MOOC I fell across on web. Lot's of bugs in the assessment, lot's of incompleteness, teacher does not go deep in subjects, ends with a peer review letting you no guarantee it will ever be review, certainly not within the Free Week. I feel like I lost a lot's more time then I should have for the content I learned, overall very frustrating experience.

автор: Vera C P

24 янв. 2021 г.

It's so hard, not enough examples to refer to when doing quiz. You should provide a variety of examples prior, similar to what you will ask in the quizzes. For someone like me, new to coding, it's very hard to remember how to respond to similar questions by the examples. People need to get familiar with the examples first, then move on to something new.

автор: Noemi A

27 дек. 2020 г.

To be honest, i don't think this is for beginners.

Many things you need to find our for yourself and as per today, i don't know which tool to use for doing the queries? How to make the tool go and take the data for the spread sheets? This is basic.. so now i know the queries but i don't know where to use it.... Did i miss something?

автор: Nicolas S V

4 мар. 2018 г.

Interesting course, it made me remember some things I learnt in college. Final assignment is too bad, simple queries for getting the info we are being asked to look, repetitive code to be implemented, a lot of ambiguity in the description of some points. I would call this course "SQL for newbies", or "First approach to SQL".

автор: Jean-Philippe M

1 июня 2020 г.

The course compared to other data science or programming classes I took was not effective in demonstrating how to use in a practical way the foundation of sql. No files were provided for exercises, exercises and lecture were read, no documents or link to install sql lite were provided. This is not a professional class.

автор: Somanka P

7 мая 2021 г.

Won't say a bad instructor but this course is surely not for a beginner. What she is doing, is just telling what happens if we use this and that. No practical examples. She is not even defining the technical terminologies. Bad experience

автор: Juan J S

22 сент. 2019 г.

Not enough in-course practice and they do not teach you how to install/use SQLite in your computer. I guess this course allows you to speak thoroughly about SQL more than it teaches how to use in real-world scenarios. Needs to improve.

автор: aprilzong

15 июля 2021 г.

really going to unsusbcribe from coursera because of this course, Python for everybody was really good, but what the hell is this SQL, the teacher sucks, she just literailly reading her notes instead of teaching. Worst teacher ever!!!

автор: Dilshard H

3 апр. 2018 г.

Class work should be similar to the Final Assignment to cultivate thinking. Also, Solutions should be provided so that we can learn from mistakes. Coding for week4 has errors, this should be tested and fixed.

автор: Cesar S

15 окт. 2020 г.

This course is very difficult the instructors do not give you any real example and, in each Coding Quizz you have to struggle in your own to approve.

They should check the content and add more real exercises.

автор: Jeroen v S

14 авг. 2018 г.

Many mistakes in the exercises. Content is so-so, at times it's too easy and at other times it skips over important subjects very quickly. Final assignment very unclear and the data set used is incomplete.

автор: Islam M K

24 июня 2019 г.

i don't recommend to take or purchase this course as it have some wrong information which force you to answer the quiz wrong to pass it. also the instructor sound to be not professional in teaching SQL.

автор: Patrick H

24 мар. 2021 г.

Horrible. The data is from 2014.... no, no and the tests don't function properly... can't read answer because the screen won't scroll.... Coursera you are better than this outdated piece of trash.

автор: Divya T

20 дек. 2019 г.

U C Davis basics was unbelievably bad. It was the most terrible possible approach and the lecturer was all fluff. I have my doubts whether she has any any basic knowledge about the subject herself.

автор: Aslan A

30 июля 2019 г.

It does not worth it. The tutor does not have any teaching skills and she is reading the text from the script all the time. In addition, the course is not practical! I would not recommend it

автор: Yunjong G

31 июля 2021 г.

a​ssignments often appear to exceed the scope of the class.

m​any functions are missing which further complicate the completion of the assignments

автор: Alankrit G

29 мая 2020 г.

the first module is okay. after that its all downhill.

lacking examples.

no mention of primary and foreign keys.

not recommended for beginners.