Chevron Left
Вернуться к Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python от партнера IBM

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 15,156
Рецензии: 1,925

О курсе

Much of the world's data resides in databases. SQL (or Structured Query Language) is a powerful language which is used for communicating with and extracting data from databases. A working knowledge of databases and SQL is a must if you want to become a data scientist. The purpose of this course is to introduce relational database concepts and help you learn and apply foundational knowledge of the SQL language. It is also intended to get you started with performing SQL access in a data science environment. The emphasis in this course is on hands-on and practical learning . As such, you will work with real databases, real data science tools, and real-world datasets. You will create a database instance in the cloud. Through a series of hands-on labs you will practice building and running SQL queries. You will also learn how to access databases from Jupyter notebooks using SQL and Python. No prior knowledge of databases, SQL, Python, or programming is required. Anyone can audit this course at no-charge. If you choose to take this course and earn the Coursera course certificate, you can also earn an IBM digital badge upon successful completion of the course. LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

Лучшие рецензии

BS

20 мая 2020 г.

Amazing course for beginners! The entire course is well structured and has good hands-on assignments. SQL is extremely essential for Database management and fun learning so please do try this one out!

PK

19 авг. 2020 г.

A very useful course with some very interesting datasets/Jupyter notebooks to work through/practice your skills. Offers a good balanced blend between theory and practical/practice. Very good course!

Фильтр по:

51–75 из 1,943 отзывов о курсе Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

автор: Cee G B

27 янв. 2020 г.

Videos were good length but automated voice-over, learned SQL in the context of their proprietary Db2 database. To their credit, the lectures were fairly short but contained enough information to take notes and learn SQL, and I finished the course in a short period of time. They don't babble which is nice.

автор: Duy N

1 июля 2018 г.

The course is very helpful and easy to understand. The reason I only gave it 4 stars is because learners had to deal with many technical issues which were not relevant to the study, while doing labs and assignment. The upside is I guess it is part of shaping the right learning attitude. Many thanks!

автор: Rahi J

19 окт. 2020 г.

Was very comfortable in first two weeks, third week is when advance topic was introduced and I couldn't grasp it. I think this course should've continued concentrating on SQL, as the topics and functions are vast for SQL.

автор: Thana P

20 июля 2018 г.

Good course with practical exercise, however some problem on lab exercise connection

автор: Hailu K

24 июля 2021 г.

I find the way that homework is submitted very inconvenient. For example, sometime I would need to take a screenshot of both my SQL queries and results, but the way that the panels are aligned on ibm db2 is very rigid that it's hard to put everything into one screen. Also, sometimes we are asked to write several queries but screenshoot to submit only one of them, but in grading the submission one of the grading criteria asks about other queries that was not asked to screenshoot and upload.

In one word, the logistics of this course took me almost as much time as I spent on learning the materials.

автор: Lawrence T

6 февр. 2021 г.

Not the best Coursera course I have ever taken, but not the worst either. I found the videos/instruction informative but dull. I read a lot of reviews about this course of people saying that they had problems with IBM Db2, content complexity, and other technical challenges. Did not run into any of that at all. All the technical aspects of interacting with the IBM Cloud are explained in detail, and it is not that difficult in the first place. My only real complaint is the lack of notes/course materials to reference outside of the video instruction.

автор: Darryl A L

24 дек. 2020 г.

This course does a good job at introducing SQL and use of Jupyter notebooks for database connections. However, the amount of time wasted struggling with the IBM DB2 cloud platform rendered my efforts less than productive. It appears from the forum that other students were running up against the same issues. Please, instructors, have a look and determine what the problems are (and solutions) so that the students' time is better spent.

автор: Vimal O

9 нояб. 2021 г.

On overall IBM data science professional certificate track: P​ros: Content is just good enough, instructors are good. Cons: IBM watson and the platform given to practise on is awful and has terrible performance and reliability issues, most often doesnt work and had an impact on my test deliverables. I personally overcame those issues to some extent with kaggle's and google colab jupyter notebook environments.

автор: Hizniye I B

15 июля 2021 г.

Content wise it's good but it has a lot of technical issues where it took not just me but a lot of other participants a lot of time to deal with. Maybe it would be great to learn SQL and run it from your own machine and not from the IBM cloud - that caused us a lot of headache. :( Otherwise - great course!

автор: Chris G

17 дек. 2020 г.

This course OK. The problem is the IBM tools. I frequently have problems with the IBM side not responding. The DB2 cloud app seems like it is frequently having issue. Today I am getting a 502 error so I'm wasting a lot of time not getting things done.

автор: Alula M

7 янв. 2019 г.

The lectures were confusing at first, because the syntax in the lectures did not exactly match the syntax for the assignments (though this issue went away in subsequent weeks).

More exercises would've been nice.

In all, a decent course.

автор: Jig98ra

22 мар. 2019 г.

Guidance is not sufficient. Questions are not answered as needed.

автор: Seren K A

21 дек. 2020 г.

Lots of not working stuff in there and it is confusing

автор: Inigo D

24 нояб. 2021 г.

The material covered in the course is very interesting and has a lot of potential, however the course itself (especially the labs) is not curated at all. I, alongside multiple students as I have observed in the forums, have faced countless bugs when attempting the labs. Each one presented a new problem, hence I found it difficult to keep motivated to finish the course due to this frustrating dynamic.

автор: Christoph L

31 авг. 2018 г.

There were a lot of problems with the online tools needed for this curse. Staff members eventually responded and solved them, but because of it, I went over my time limit and had to pay another month's coursera fees. Seeing as this is an IBM course and the tools were from IBM, I was expecting a smoother experience

автор: satya b

28 июня 2018 г.

This course is a "Big MESS" to me. SQL they used is completely different. It doesn't accept the normal SQL statements. Column names are case sensitive and Writing the where clause gave me head-ace. It wouldn't accept the straight comparisons. Columns names should be expressed in quotes.I hate this course

автор: Elvijs M

17 апр. 2020 г.

People knowing some SQL will learn next to nothing. For complete beginners there is way too much emphasis on using the semi-unusable IBM cloud platform instead of learning SQL. The assignments are also too easy and short, which means you don't get to actually practice the bit of SQL you could learn.

автор: Yingtong L

15 июня 2019 г.

If you know nothing about SQL, don't take this course since it just a brief introduction without any in-depth explanation. By no means, a beginner can understand what SQL is in this way. But if you've already known something about SQL, it's good for refreshing your knowledge.

автор: Berkay T

17 сент. 2019 г.

This was over challenging because labs and lectures definitely lack decent level explanations to learn the content permanently. I can't say I learned nothing, but I can clearly say this is a below mediocre level of training.

автор: Napoleon R

19 апр. 2020 г.

1) Material and presentation was not engaging and structured

2) Final assignment in terms of administration (copy pastes and screenshots upload) was a pain in the ass

3) Not enough hands on exercises

автор: In W C

3 окт. 2019 г.

A lot of the "optional" materials are actually quite important. UC Davis's SQL course is far superior to this one due to more access to coding practice assignments. I expected more from IBM.

автор: enric g n

9 апр. 2020 г.

I expected a more detailed explanation in templates. as it was done in the previous course (Python for Data Science and AI). since this database theme is done with many procedures

автор: james m

10 янв. 2020 г.

We spend more time debugging and googling to get things to work than the actual project time. The forum is full of this, but the IBM guys do nothing. This is putrid it tell you!

автор: Amy M

21 апр. 2020 г.

Would be awesome with a few corrections and updates to course materials- more concise and clear instructions would also be helpful for this beginner level course.

автор: Shubhangee L

20 авг. 2019 г.

Any screenshot referring to ibm cloud is clearly outdated as it does not match with the current website. Instructions on how to get db2 connection credentials are MISSING and the ibm cloud website is not at all intuitive. There is no way to change the default uid/password for db2 connection and there are no instructions either in the ibm cloud site or in this course.

I just spent almost an hour trying to solve this problem but in vain. I should not be wasting time and resources trying to establish a stupid database connection.

For $39 plus tax per month this is not only disappointing but robbery!