Chevron Left
Вернуться к Вера в душу: причины и следствия - Часть 1: Историческая подоплёка

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Вера в душу: причины и следствия - Часть 1: Историческая подоплёка от партнера Ратгерский университет штата Нью-Джерси

4.5
Оценки: 362
Рецензии: 100

О курсе

Throughout history, the vast majority of people around the globe have believed they have, however defined, a “soul.” While the question of whether the soul exists cannot be answered by science, what we can study are the causes and consequences of various beliefs about the soul and its prospects of surviving the death of the body. Why are soul and afterlife beliefs so common in human history? Are there adaptive advantages to assuming souls exist? Are there brain structures that have been shaped by environmental pressures that provide the foundation of body/mind dualism that is such a prominent feature of many religions? How do these beliefs shape the worldviews of different cultures and our collective lives? What is the role of competing afterlife beliefs in religion, science, politics, and war? This course explores several facets of this relatively unexplored but profoundly important aspect of human thought and behavior. The course consists mainly of 70 to 80 minute lectures, typically broken up into 3 segments, recorded from a course offered by Rutgers University School of Arts and Sciences. These videos include slides and some embedded video clips. Most lectures are accompanied by slides used during the lecture, also including recommended reading assignment which may provide additional opportunities to reflect on your studies. Due to the lengthiness of this class and natural progression, the online course has been separated into 3 units, this is Unit 1....

Лучшие рецензии

MS

Sep 22, 2017

Brilliant course, brilliant lecturers, brilliant topic, extremely well thought-out approach to such a mind-blowing topic. I highly recommend it to anyone with even the vaguest interest in the topic.

AM

Aug 22, 2015

I just started with this course and I am loving it! This not only offers a very fresh perspective on beliefs about souls and an afterlife but is also extremely relatable on a personal level.

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 99 отзывов о курсе Вера в душу: причины и следствия - Часть 1: Историческая подоплёка

автор: ZAHABIYA A A

Jan 12, 2019

KNOWLEDGEABLE COURSE.. LOVE IT

автор: Emil

Aug 16, 2018

Done it

автор: Daryl R

Jan 21, 2016

The course starts by having students identify what they were taught to believe and walks the student through the human concept of soul belief. It takes you on a journey of religious progression and rationalizes mind and body experience. Thanks so much Corrsera, Ruthers, Professors Daniel Ogilvie and Leonard Hamilton, and all the great guest speakers for such an outstanding course.

автор: Darren G

Nov 22, 2015

This is a high-quality, thought-provoking course.

автор: Oscar A G B

Sep 15, 2015

The course gives a lot of interesting information in a entertain way of learning.

автор: Heather W

Sep 23, 2016

I love this course, however, I really wish it would have covered other types of belief systems as well, such as the native american beliefs, ancient celtic, or ancient norse belief systems, which have some similarities to the old middle eastern religions, but also a lot of differences.

автор: Kok K G

Aug 30, 2015

Summary:

Unit 1 is comprehensive in covering historical foundations of after-life beliefs, from pre-history to modern times. This is a necessary grounding to understand the evolution of religion. It provides different religious perspectives on the issue, and Prof Hamilton brings about an objective view in exploring the topic.

Perhaps the important thing for students to better appreciate the course is that it is titled Soul "Beliefs". These are beliefs from different religions, not facts. It is necessary to keep that in mind. Understanding that will lead to a more unbiased and scientific approach towards the topic.

Context:

I came across this course after recently losing my fiancée. Am going through Unit 2 at the moment.

I grew up in a Buddhist environment for over 20 years before distancing myself over the last several years. I appreciate the philosophies of Buddhism and that of other religions, but I would describe myself to be agnostic. My recent experiences and subsequent studies of history, philosophy, neuroscience and psychiatry and various interactions with different religious leaders have only reinforced this perspective. This course has been very helpful in providing unbiased information on the topic of after-life beliefs.

автор: İLKİN B

Sep 04, 2015

The course aroused my intellectual interest to its highest.

Thanks.

автор: REBECCA G

Jan 24, 2016

This is a great course. Profs have an interesting way of getting info to us.

автор: Khaled A A

Dec 18, 2016

This is a truly unique course, covering an essential but largely neglected part of human nature and history.

автор: Arve F

Jun 11, 2017

Very interesting.

автор: Alexey K

Aug 26, 2016

A introduction into the history of beliefs. It was kind of frustrating the way Buddhism was covered.

автор: Tarey L K

Aug 29, 2015

Fascinating, informative, thought provoking, makes you think. What more could you ask for from a Course? The Professors are wonderful. I'm so glad I choose to take this Course.

автор: Илья К

Aug 28, 2015

Must see for everyone who wants to understand religion much better from scientific point of view.

автор: Francisco G

Aug 16, 2015

Este es un curso muy interesante pues trata el tema del alma desde la perspectiva de varias disciplinas. El material recomendado de lectura es muy bueno. Realmente aprendí cosas nuevas y que me sorprendieron, como la relación entre la consciencia, el cerebro y el darwinismo. Superó mis expectativas.

автор: Martin S

Sep 22, 2017

Brilliant course, brilliant lecturers, brilliant topic, extremely well thought-out approach to such a mind-blowing topic. I highly recommend it to anyone with even the vaguest interest in the topic.

автор: Finch M

Apr 16, 2018

An excellent course, covering an often neglected topic.

автор: Yaroslav V

Feb 04, 2016

The course offers a very interesting insight into soul beliefs and combines history, psychology and philosophy. The articulate lecturers and a well prepared material help to maintain the interest and understand the content.

автор: Alejandro P

Aug 14, 2015

I loved the presentation of this course, as someone interested in what distinguishes us from other animals and the mechanisms that underlie our senses of self. Some of the material, I was already familiar with because of other books on anthropology and evolution, but appreciated nevertheless how it was related to the beliefs in the soul and our psychological survival.

автор: Garri-Lee L

Aug 21, 2015

Opening the mind to new ways of thinking about Rel

автор: Rosane d A P

Sep 03, 2015

So interesting, getting religion discussions with differents perspectives and the teachers are amazing !

автор: Luis L

Sep 17, 2015

Very good, thanks

автор: Bruce M

Sep 17, 2015

Thank you for the opportunity to have a better life through many understandings found in the Rutgers State University course Soul Beliefs: Causes and Consequences. The information was refreshing, enlightening and cut to the quick on many questions I had about soul beliefs.

автор: Marina

Dec 25, 2015

very nice course, except for the name. causes is ok, but consequences doesnt receive the importante that the title implies.

автор: Michele S

Dec 20, 2016

Awes