Chevron Left
Вернуться к Becoming a changemaker: Introduction to Social Innovation

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Becoming a changemaker: Introduction to Social Innovation от партнера Кейптаунский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 698
Рецензии: 278

О курсе

This free 6 week course is for anyone who wants to make a difference. Whether you are already familiar with the field of social innovation or social entrepreneurship, working for an organization that wants to increase its social impact, or just starting out, this course will take you on a journey of exploring the complex problems that surround us and how to start thinking about solutions. We will debunk common assumptions around what resources are needed to begin acting as a social innovator. We will learn from the numerous examples of social innovations happening all over the world. You will be challenged to get out of your comfort zone and start engaging with the diverse spaces around you. By the end of the course, you will have formed your own approach to social innovation, and you will have begun to develop the concepts, mindset, skills, and relationships that will enable you to start and evolve as a changemaker. You will be able to purchase a Verified Certificate if you wish to show evidence of your achievements, but this is optional, and you may apply for Financial Aid if you are unable to pay the certificate fee. The Bertha Centre for Social Innovation and Entrepreneurship co-created this course with RLabs, a social movement ‘born-and-bred’ in Bridgetown, Cape Town that is now active in 22 countries. The movement empowers youth through innovative and disruptive technology by teaching them vital skills and providing much needed support and a sense of community. Advocating and supporting initiatives such as RLabs forms part of the Bertha Centre’s mandate. The Centre is a specialised unit at University of Cape Town’s Graduate School of Business, and is the first academic centre in Africa dedicated to advancing social innovation and entrepreneurship. You can view the course trailer at www.youtube.com/watch?v=TcWYG64WO20 Tweet about this course using the hashtag #socinnMOOC...

Лучшие рецензии

SI

Feb 11, 2018

Highly recommended for the change agents who have no background in social entrepreneurship. This course will walk you through step by step into changing the system for the better of humanity habitats.

OM

Jun 05, 2018

This is a very effective course for anyone who would like to be an innovator or an entrepreneur. It helps with the knowledge and foundation of the necessary skills needed for social innovation.

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 276 отзывов о курсе Becoming a changemaker: Introduction to Social Innovation

автор: Paramanandan P C

May 01, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed the course. The material was easy to understand and well presented. Thank you Coursera!

автор: Sorabh L

May 03, 2020

I really like the journey of my this course. Learnt practically too by attempting all the assignments

автор: Deepti T

May 05, 2020

Very nice course for them who want to bring positive changes in society.

автор: Patricia L

May 02, 2020

A very interesting course to follow.

автор: SAGAR P

May 05, 2020

very helpful course

автор: Bryant B D A

May 02, 2020

Very helpful course

автор: Mihai T D

May 03, 2020

Excelent !

автор: Muhammad S A

May 03, 2020

Amazing

автор: Tenika N G

Aug 08, 2018

this course thought me things i never knew, it also gave me some insight on what is going on in the world. that there are still nice people who are willing to help the less fortunate.

this course could use a few twigs by make it much better for youth my age or the next generation.

but i enjoyed it.

thanks

автор: Abayomi S

Oct 30, 2017

Great course which provides an awesome overview and induction into social innovation as an activist change marker.

автор: Deseting I

Mar 19, 2019

This course opened my eyes to what social entrepreneurship is all about. Thanks for putting this course together.

автор: Nataly G

Apr 23, 2020

I really loved it. A course with real examples, well structured and dynamic videos.

автор: Rathana S

Jul 03, 2017

Some materials

автор: Saheli B

Apr 18, 2020

Thanks

автор: Is

Apr 12, 2017

I would appreciate a bit more of detail in some topics, but

I enjoyed it a lot. Thanks!

автор: Deepak S

Apr 14, 2020

WELL THIS COURSE IS MORE KNOWLEDGEABLE

автор: Smitha N

May 17, 2020

This course has been instrumental in making me develop confidence that I can also become a changemaker and small steps at a time is all that is needed to start. The course has shown me all the various dimensions to what is involved and how to go about bringing change. The Rlabs case study was a very good one in which the most important thing that struck me was that you don't need to have professional degrees or money or positions of power or position in society, to effect change, it is all in your mind. Use whatever resources are available and start dealing with the problem and brainstorm on how to bring about change. Thanks very much for creating this course and a special thanks to all other participants for posting their unique problems and solutions, it helps to understand that essentially people are grappling with almost similar problems, no matter in whichever part of the world we live in, and it is the forging of human bonds which will help us triumph over every single problem!!!

автор: Hildegard O

Jun 27, 2017

This course is amazing in combining theory-based approaches with practical thinking and tools which can be applied easily to a broad variety of complex problems. It offers a broad range of useful readings and the opportunity to discuss questions and issues with other students online. Being well familiar with beeing graded at school and university I like the free approach because it trusts that students want to learn, that cooperation contributes to learning and that learning is about compassion. The course also connects theory with individual motivation and making concrete steps. I deeply appreciate this offer and am thankful that I have found it.

автор: Nanako

Jul 15, 2017

This course was fantastic!! What I loved most about it was that the course was client-focused. I had an idea, and their course helped me to develop and improve the idea so that I can positively affect my community. It was a class where I wanted to get all the ideas down because they were so innovative. I love how there was one main case study, R Labs, and how we were able to learn about their challenges and how they managed to successfully impact their community. The professors were great, they had an abundance of knowledge and I learned so much from them. Well done!

автор: Fezile M

Sep 29, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed the course and I will definitely be sharing my experiences with other people. It has helped me look at the social problem in my community in a different lens. I learnt a lot from reviewing other peers work and i quite liked the activities that we had to do. they were engaging, out of the box and enjoyable. The videos lessons are short an straight to the point an are jam packed with information. The extra reading material for each week was also helpful. All in all it was good. I highly recommend it.

автор: Sahrreal

Nov 15, 2019

This class was excellent. I began with an idea already in my head about a social innovation project, but I didn't think I was anywhere near ready to begin. This class showed me how to look for hidden resources, identify new ways in which my idea could be applied, and gave great tools to get started today. Even if you don't have a solution to a social challenge yet, but are able to identify a need in your community, I would highly recommend this Course.

автор: Benson M

Mar 26, 2019

I really believe this course is one that all learners, irrespective of their chosen line of career development, must experience to gain some basic knowledge and skills necessary for them to become relevant to societal needs. The course has great potential to develop every individual, who desires to present themselves as a service or product provider, to a level where they can fully appreciate and understand community settings for a better impact.

автор: Scott G

Feb 24, 2018

Interesting, engaging, and genuinely inspiring.

This course will subtly alter your thinking, improving your problem-solving skills, creativity, and even your empathy.

I found the lectures on uncommon resource identification particularly insightful, and enjoyed the assignment in week 4 that combined everything we'd learnt up to that point.

Overall, I highly recommend this course to anyone and everyone, from business-people to students alike.

автор: Julia L

May 11, 2020

This was my favorite Coursera course so far. The material was well balanced between theory, industry examples and assignments. I especially enjoyed developing one's one idea and the continuous peer feedback as well as reading about all the other creative ideas from peers in the course. The various company examples underlying the different principles were invaluable making the learnings a journey of social innovation.

автор: Christos P

May 29, 2020

You have an incredible ability to draw people to take action. Your way of progressing with the lessons was purely inspirational. You did not need extravagant persuasion vocabulary, nor emotional emphasis, and yet you portrayed real life problems and actions in simple pragmatic interpretation which could be understood and signified easily. Thank you very much with full appreciation and genuinity