Chevron Left
Вернуться к Science of Exercise

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Science of Exercise от партнера Колорадский университет в Боулдере

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 3,114
Рецензии: 1,037

О курсе

Learners who complete Science of Exercise will have an improved physiological understanding of how your body responds to exercise, and will be able to identify behaviors, choices, and environments that impact your health and training. You will explore a number of significant adjustments required by your body in order to properly respond to the physical stress of exercise, including changes in carbohydrate, fat and protein metabolism, nutritional considerations, causes of muscle soreness & fatigue, and the effectiveness and dangers of performance enhancing drugs. Active learning assessments will challenge you to apply this new knowledge via nutrition logs, heart rate monitoring, calculations of your total daily caloric expenditure and body mass index (BMI). Finally, learners will examine the scientific evidence for the health benefits of exercise including the prevention and treatment of heart disease, diabetes, cancer, obesity (weight loss), depression, and dementia....

Лучшие рецензии

NT

Apr 15, 2020

Love everything about this course. Nice module. Professor is really nice. However, I need to learn further about weight training (Pros, cons , etc). Looking forward to attend in weight training class.

MB

Sep 12, 2020

It is a very great course. This course taught me many great things about the human body like how the body responses to exercise and nutrition. What, when, how we should do exercise and take nutrition.

Фильтр по:

126–150 из 1,037 отзывов о курсе Science of Exercise

автор: Kadambari P

May 11, 2020

A challenging but immensely insightful and well taught course. I am a gerontologist specializing in non medical geriatric care and looking to transition to something more fitness related to older adults. This course gave me the perfect opportunity to understand basics and to figure out if I want to delve more into this area......I do. It also gave me a very good overview of what I'm doing wrong in my fitness regimen and how to fix it. Thank you for this wonderful intro! I hope to get more notifications about subsequent courses taught by the instructor or by others in this area.

автор: suresh c

Jun 16, 2020

Prof Robert Mazzeo provided an excellent capsule of information on the body adaptation to exercise and the science to explain the adaptations and the benefits that occur due to both endurance and strength training interventions. I wish he had spent another module on the sequencing of exercises, with examples of both endurance and strength trainings that we could use as a take away. For example the course doesnt necessarily explain why we need to warm up before an exercise, how stretching helps post exercise, which muscle types are important to strengthen (like core) etc in detail.

автор: Mariah C G

May 27, 2020

I enjoyed the content. As a physician, I am sure I will be able to use this course so thank you. I just have a concern about the delivery of the lessons. I think it would be also nice to just show the lecture slides with the lecturer discussing it in the background because I had a hard time keeping up with what he was saying (I had to rewind some of the videos to get what he was saying). It is not the speed of his speech. I just like looking at words more than seeing the lecturer in person (not that I have anything against the lecturer). Overall, I really enjoyed this course.

автор: Tan Y L

Sep 04, 2020

Thank you, Dr Robert Mazzeo. The course is very well structured, from the energetics of exercise to the physiological aspects and how exercise promote health and reduces risk factors leading to illnesses. I like the review pause along the videos to check understanding of facts. The quizzes is excellent to check overall understanding of a unit, more so, the feedback after the quizzes Corrects any mistakes made. Overall, it is really a happy learning experience. My utmost sincerest thanks to Dr Mazzeo and the team for putting up this useful course.

автор: Deb S

Jul 29, 2020

This course was excellent. Very tightly put together, with a high proportion of useful information. My only problem, sometimes complicated charts or infographics are only on screen for a very short time. I felt like I could have gotten more from them if they were included in the notes/transcript under the video. Oh, also the transcripts were very useful, since there was little extraneous info it would have been hard to keep up with manual note-taking. Thanks very much for offering this.

автор: Maxim P

Sep 27, 2020

I really enjoyed taking this course, it provided a lot of new and useful information, the questions, tasks and assesments were appropriate and the explanations were easy to follow in my eyes. even though there were some points regarding nutrition which I would not agree upon 100%, all in all, I can say that this course is really useful if you expect to get a generall overview about the mechanisms in the body during exercise and also dive into some research and studies .

автор: Brenda H

Sep 03, 2019

I am studying to be a Nutritionist and wanted to add knowledge of Exercise into my training; which is not offered as a class in Nutrition. This has been a very good addition to my knowledge and I have already been using the knowledge gained in my everyday reference when talking about Nutrition. However, one take away that was not expected is this course is focused more on the needs of a Coach or for Occupational/Physical Therapist and less for the Nutritionist.

автор: Philippe R

May 08, 2020

Thank you very much Robert Mazzeo and Coursera for this excellent course, which you are kindly making available at no cost to people around the world!

I look forward to a possible continuation/extension at some point to improve one's practice of endurance as well as strength training for optimal results, maintain fitness as much as possible during periods of injuries, learn more about nutritional guidelines based on the latest research findings, etc.

автор: Paul N

May 28, 2020

Dr Robert Mazzeo has created an exceptional course which is enhanced by his well structured and clear delivery of the content. the end of module quizzes and the final peer group review essay which further improved my understanding. I unhesitatingly recommend this course - and indeed already have done so - to anyone interesting in learning about the Science of Exercise. I hope you enjoy the course as much as I have. And thank you again to Dr Mazzeo.

автор: Felix D

Oct 14, 2019

The course surprised me positively. Although I already had a coherent knowledge, I could benefit extremely much. I would like to send a huge compliment to the course author. In addition to extreme expertise, I was enthusiastic about his way of communicating, his presentations and the understandable nature of his explanation, although my English knowledge is not too good, I could follow the course. This clearly speaks for the course in my view!

автор: Edwin G

Apr 02, 2018

The course is a great intro to physiology with a heavy bent toward exercise. Four weeks is a nice intro and sets you up for some of the longer more in depth courses. The lectures are spot on without a wasted word. The outside readings support the lectures, but some readings require subscriptions to see - that said, you don't need to have all the readings. Heavy emphasis on the Fick Equation and endurance training for a better life.

автор: Borisova N Y

Apr 28, 2020

If you need further training, if you've wanted to learn something for a long time, or if you're just constantly in the process. Then you are in coursera! If quality learning is important for you, you are interested in learning from world-renowned universities. Then you in coursera! If you do not have the time or opportunity to attend courses offline, or just in your city you are not interested in courses. Then you in coursera!

автор: Renata R M d S

Aug 19, 2020

Muito explicativo, dá diversos exemplos e nos disponibiliza diversas evidências científicas do que está sendo ensinado. É um curso realmente completo e que acrescentou. Sou estudante de nutrição e achei que não teria muita informação sobre minha área, mas realmente teve bastante (acho que poderia ter algo sobre micronutrientes também, assim estaria perfeito).

Agradeço muito a oportunidade de ter feito este curso tão bom!!!

автор: Eshwarya A

Apr 27, 2020

This was a great introductory course and greatly broadened my understanding of the physiological mechanisms of exercise, how training adaptations occur, how exercise can be used to prevent and treat many diseases and so on. It's not an overly lengthy course but it still manages to be comprehensive, with brilliant explanations by the course instructor. I would highly recommend this course to anyone who's interested.

автор: Alice Z

Nov 30, 2018

In truth I did not "do" the course but watched most of for the information I needed to update for personal health. I found the lectures well done. Explanations done in simple, factual body and chemicals allows this course to be of benefit to anyone desiring to improve endurance or strength while improving overall health. In addition myths are dispelled; evidence prevented when myths are not myths. Well done!

автор: Rohit K S

Aug 23, 2020

I cannot emphasize enough about how much I enjoyed this course. It was a life changing course for me. I have been a fitness conscious person throughout my life however could not continue exercising regularly enough. After this course not only I will try to do exercise everyday but also inspire my near and dear ones to do the same. A special Thanks to the Professor Mr Robert Mazzeo for designing this course!!

автор: Shivam A

May 17, 2020

This is an amazing course by The University. I am very grateful that i had attending this course. With the help of this course i am able to learn more and more in this covoid-19 by sitting at home . This course help me to know the body functions more accurately, when we doing the exercises our body perform different functions and by now i know more about that. thank you for this amazing course.

автор: Kamal J

Jun 14, 2020

This time, I chose different course as from Professional development & Technology. It was really interesting, little bit hard for me. But now, i am really happy by gaining knowledge as for my own health. After an 4 week determination, It is also really great to see the certificate at the end of the course....

Thanks to Coursera & my organization to keep my learnings continue........

автор: Andrew S

Jun 09, 2020

This course was very informative and was taught in a well organized fashion. The instructor highlighted the main points at the end of the video through his summary. I would highly recommend that you take this course, even for the every day person. It can help you get in shape. It is also a great course to take if you are a athlete, whether a lifter or cross country runner like me.

автор: Wayne F

Jan 28, 2018

This is a very good course. The course covers a lot of ground and 4 weeks is fine for those that can put in 30 minutes a day.

A background in biology is useful (but not essential). Those with a knowledge of biology will benefit by reading the supplemental material, which though a little old is still valid today.

The supplemental material will help with the peer reviewed assignment.

автор: Anna F

Apr 20, 2020

Lovely! Thanks a lot for this insight into how exercise affects the body. What I particularly enjoyed was the fact that Mr. Mazzeo chose to epmphasize which exact points he was going to focus on without sparing other points which might be interesting / tables, studies, etc. Many thanks and all the best from Germany, may you all stay healthy throughout these difficult times.

автор: indira s

Sep 23, 2020

Enjoyed the whole session of the course. Very interesting and had a great and an excellent experience and got to learn many unknown things and helped me to understand my body type even better,though i exercise on daily basis. The knowledge of exercise will help in daily life and so I would like to recommend this course to all students those who are reading this review .

автор: Exon J G O

Feb 11, 2020

Es un curso muy puntal pero muy completo, muchas cosas de las que se explican son sumamente interesantes e importantes tambien. No solo es leer, sino tambien ver y aprender. Graficos, temas y definiicones exactas pero de facil entender hace del curso un enorme y excelente material para reforzar concimientos o si se quiere para empezar en un ambito deportivo y de salud.

автор: Stephanie S

May 19, 2020

The instructor was very informative and in my opinion has a soothing voice so I did not lose interest. The material covered was interesting and I enjoyed doing the assignments to better understand the information. I would recommend taking this course. I learned something new in a matter of a few hours during the Covid-19 pandemic that I can apply to my everyday life.

автор: Fahim F

Oct 02, 2020

It was a very well decorated, well organised course.I found it very informative and useful for me.The course was managed very professionally. I'm very hopeful that the knowledge I gained from this course will be very helpful for my research carrier and profession as well as my own life.Thanks everyone related the course and special thanks to Mr.Robert Mazzeo,Ph.D