Chevron Left
Вернуться к Quantitative Methods

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Quantitative Methods от партнера Амстердамский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 1,648
Рецензии: 580

О курсе

Discover the principles of solid scientific methods in the behavioral and social sciences. Join us and learn to separate sloppy science from solid research! This course will cover the fundamental principles of science, some history and philosophy of science, research designs, measurement, sampling and ethics. The course is comparable to a university level introductory course on quantitative research methods in the social sciences, but has a strong focus on research integrity. We will use examples from sociology, political sciences, educational sciences, communication sciences and psychology....

Лучшие рецензии

LG

Jan 05, 2018

This course was excellent in all aspects, including the interesting and extensive material, as well as Dr. Annemarie Zand Scholten's brilliant lectures that help students digest and enjoy the content.

AL

May 08, 2018

It is well-structured and informative. The pop up questions are interactive and the animation is fun. I have learned a lot from the video instruction, recommended readings, and assignments. Thanks.

Фильтр по:

551–575 из 575 отзывов о курсе Quantitative Methods

автор: MYAT T W

Oct 03, 2019

effective for me

автор: Jamer N C A

Oct 29, 2015

Excelente!

автор: MUSA T S

Jan 24, 2017

good

автор: Nitika J

Aug 10, 2020

.

автор: Flavia F

Jun 06, 2020

The course is very interesting and the material discussed is all essential knowledge for doing research in the field of social sciences. I also really appreciate the extra material that the teachers offered, the interesting interviews in particular, which presents the student with the perspective of scientists conducting research in the field.

However, the amount of work required for completing the course is significantly above that mentioned in the course description, or at least in one takes the final assignments seriously.

Another problem I had was with understanding the questions of several final assignments and of the final exam. I have a master in cognitive science, one in analytic philosophy, and I am at the final stage of my PhD in philosophy. I have studied my masters in English, and I am writing my PhD thesis in English. Yet, many questions really puzzled me, including the questions regarding the philosophical content of the course.

Given the difficulties I encountered, I wonder whether this course would be really suitable to undergraduates.

Despite that, I am happy to have completed the course and I recognize that I learned a lot during the course. Despite the final assignments requiring more work than I had planned, I had a lot of fun doing them. Furthermore, I really appreciate the teachers' effort (and I believe quite some was needed) to design this course and to offer students more than it was required to provide them with some basic knowledge.

автор: Teh-yi D H

Sep 19, 2020

The course content is great. The lectures and materials are good as well. However, the peer review assignment is more than terrible. The idea of collaborative learning is awesome, but pursing which requires certain checking and supporting mechanisms. There is no quality control of the review system. Plagiarism is prevalent!!! I don't understand how people just copy-n-past the same thing and submit as their own work? This happens every week, and people copied the exact same works. I was shocked reading several identical submissions in a row. Such actions of ACADEMIC DISHONESTY should NOT BE TOLERATED. Another huge problem, relating to peer-review, is the discussion forum. There is almost no discussion about the course content. I thought the purpose of forum is to clarify confusion through discussions. But it turns out to be a place to post one's work requesting for review. It's okay for sure, but this should not be the main function of the forum. Thus, overall, unfortunately, I feel that the disfunction of the discussion forum and the lack of countering mechanism against plagiarism tarnished this wonderful course.

автор: Stephen R

Oct 17, 2015

The actual educational value of this course is quite high. The score I can offer it in good faith is dragged down by the additional "assignments" like "Write you own quiz question!" and the expectation to review the quiz questions thought up by other students. Such things in a scientific course are unnecessary and may actually be counterproductive because of the reliance upon other students and their grasp of the material. If they are to remain part of this course, they really should be treated as supplementary and not required to complete the course. It really detracts from the experience for those of us who come here to learn and not to socialize.

автор: Rafael d M B

Jun 26, 2020

The course is good, although some things bothered me a lot: 1) The peer review is just horrible. I've been plagiarized 3 times during this course, it takes a lot of time to wait for other students' assignments to be ready for evaluation and most of the time the evaluations received follow a random pattern. 2) the examples and the knowledge are mainly for Psychology. Don't be fooled, it says Social Sciences, but 90% of the examples or the subjects is about Psychology. If you want to have real examples of Economis, Political Science or International Relations, you won't find them here. I suggest changing the title of the course to address this issue.

автор: Susmita S

Aug 13, 2020

The course material was beautiful and compact. Before this, I completed the Qualitative methods course and really enjoyed Moerman's mode of teaching. Being inspired I attempted this one but sorry to say that I have not enjoyed the course at all. The teaching-learning activity is so boring and fast that I lose my interest in the study the course. I also got very limited scope of learning through the assignments. Everything would be fine if the teacher's delivery would be slight slow and give time to comprehend the lecture matter.

автор: Ailbhe T

Aug 18, 2020

Course materials are great. I really enjoyed the videos and found the assignments engaging. I'm only giving 3 stars, however, because the peer review system is disappointing. Lots of people are not properly submitting or reviewing and it really impacts the experience of taking this course. The forums are also pretty useless because they're filled with people asking for reviews on their assignments. I think this course could benefit from a bit more ongoing moderation from staff.

автор: Justyna L

May 10, 2020

The course materials are great, but the peer review system for assignments does not work for me. Most people just give perfect grades to everyone, and the quality of the assignment doesn't matter. Forums are also not used for anything other than students asking for good reviews of their work, so there isn't really a spirit of learning from each other. This impacts on my personal learning as I do not know whether my assignments were actually correct.

автор: Bianca V

Mar 15, 2018

It was a well and clearly structured course. Although rich in content, it was enjoyable and useful to complete.

However, the course is missing a contingency plan in case somebody fails a session. Since assessments are peer reviewed, I do not see the motivation of my peers to come back and grade me again - which means I cannot complete the course on time despite, being on time with all assignments.

автор: casey

May 08, 2020

While some of this course was useful, there are some issues I have with it. The first week, a philosophical history, had little to do with the material I wanted to learn. The rest seems focussed on teaching definitions, rather than truly explaining concepts. I would have preferred a structure that enabled practice of concepts, rather than definition regurgitation.

автор: Big W

Apr 08, 2016

mechanically it worked pretty well. just a little hard to figger out what's going on and what's important. what needs to be memorized and what just needs to be understood . . .

автор: Jude B

Feb 23, 2020

The course was okay, the assignments and final quiz don't really reflect the material properly and need to be re-evaluated and rephrased to be clearer

автор: Daniel M C

Dec 14, 2015

Just three stars so far, I've just started the course late... I think it looks good tho.

автор: smeets

May 28, 2016

very good course, but I never recieved the feedback I needed on the forum

автор: Anupama R

Jun 24, 2020

Too long and difficult as there are more number of peer reviews

автор: tengson p

Jan 12, 2017

Fairly good. Fundamental knowledge for researcher.

автор: Hafeez A

Oct 25, 2015

interesting and informative course.

автор: Tarjani P

Aug 08, 2020

good

автор: Cynthia C

Sep 06, 2020

The material is good. However, the peer review format is poor. Most students submit copied answers, literally, they are all the same and they are not even correct. Student's don't bother reading the instructions or questions of the tests. Which indicates that I don't even know if their review of my own submissions are correctly evaluated. And the professors of the course are not available.

автор: Jason M H

Mar 04, 2016

Over reliance on student grading. Material does not map well to the quizzes.

автор: Marc F

Mar 25, 2018

too much work, too much specific question, alot of not related knowledge that we need to learn... Not useful in my opinion.

автор: Winthrop Y

Apr 19, 2016

Excellent lectures, good tests, too many peer evaluations!