Chevron Left
Вернуться к Quantitative Methods

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Quantitative Methods от партнера Амстердамский университет

4.7
Оценки: 1,042
Рецензии: 342

О курсе

Discover the principles of solid scientific methods in the behavioral and social sciences. Join us and learn to separate sloppy science from solid research! This course will cover the fundamental principles of science, some history and philosophy of science, research designs, measurement, sampling and ethics. The course is comparable to a university level introductory course on quantitative research methods in the social sciences, but has a strong focus on research integrity. We will use examples from sociology, political sciences, educational sciences, communication sciences and psychology....

Лучшие рецензии

LG

Jan 05, 2018

This course was excellent in all aspects, including the interesting and extensive material, as well as Dr. Annemarie Zand Scholten's brilliant lectures that help students digest and enjoy the content.

AL

May 08, 2018

It is well-structured and informative. The pop up questions are interactive and the animation is fun. I have learned a lot from the video instruction, recommended readings, and assignments. Thanks.

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 349 отзывов о курсе Quantitative Methods

автор: Arnau G B

Jun 26, 2018

The quality of the course is great. No objections. But the structure of it made the experience a bit awful for me. I have a job, sometimes I have to travel and I did this course on my free time in order to keep improving and developing my career. So I studied and took the exams gladly. But the surprise came when I realized there were weekly assignments... which had to be corrected by other students every single week. This made the course very unpleasant, because every single week I had to do this assignments and if I were to miss one of it (because I was abroad), then there was no way to pass this course anymore... on that period. I had to change the dates again... and pay more because I took more time to do it. I do not understand this practice, but it makes the experience very enslaving and kills the perks of the MOOC. This is not what MOOCs are for. Otherwise I would go to a university and do the course there. Of course, my mistake was not to confirm it before. And I decided to give it a try nonetheless. But the final result is very negative. So despite the quality of the course, the exams (I enjoyed them! They are very practical) and the superb English of the teacher, I had to rate this course badly. Because every single time I had to do the homework it was a constant struggle to keep on doing it and I was really close to quit it. Because I insist, I did not enjoy it because of its structure and particularly because of the damn weekly assignments that had to be corrected by the students every single week. This is why, unfortunately, I will rate it this way: 2/5. I shall give a try to the next course, but if it is as tedious as this one (exams + weekly assignment every week), then I will quit both the course and the specialization... and I will recommend my friends and colleagues to NOT do this specialization. My apologies and hope you solve this problem in the future.

автор: VUB

Jun 04, 2019

The course is great and I've learned a lot. I don't rate 5 stars because in my opinion the assignements are really too too difficult, too demanding, it's too hard to assess the quality of published studies and researches without a class debate, some guidances and hints from teachers and/or a way to directly contact teachers or mentors. In this MOOC system we are too alone to properly deal with the kind of assignements we find in the course. Besides, time of dedication is brutally understimated, it takes a lot more time than the announced 4-5 hourse per week. So, it's very (and in some sense unnecesarrily) hard stuff, but the content is great, course design is great, the teacher is great. Congratulations!!

автор: Kaushik R

Jan 31, 2019

Outstanding course. Very useful for me. Very relevant to my job too. Thank you very much.

With regards,

Kaushik Ray

VP-HRD

Dr. Reddy's Laboratories Limited,

Hyderabad, India.

автор: Margarita N

Oct 18, 2018

Es un excelente curso, además Coursera me propició el apoyo financiero dos veces. Me ha ayudado mucho y tengo muchas ganas de continuar con la especialización. La docente fue excelente y el contenido estuvo muy bien organizado.

автор: Ludmila S

Aug 30, 2017

I work in Scientific Research field, were I use this knowledge every day and I know all the given information, just need a course certificate.

So my experience:

This course is truly well organized, it is full of information and has everything you should know about the topic. I loved funny examples, which are used continuously through the course and help to understand material very well.

However, I had an unpleasant experience with assignments (so it is not a problem to receive knowledge, but problem to receive a certificate). The first problem is time. Assignments are extreme time consuming. They basically consist of scientific articles peer reviews. For example, it said, that you should spend 2 hours on this task. However, to review 1 article you need to read it at least 2 times, then think, then take notes, then read again. And if you don`t know all the material and criteria – you need to go and watch or read lecture material again and then read the article one more time. I knew all the review criteria, I do it on my work, so I did not need to read lecture material more than 1 time, but I spent about 10 hours to complete 1 assignment (and you need to do 6 of them).

Next problem with assignments – I found my work (my assignment) to be stolen for 2 times!!!! It is a very hard and time-consuming work and I was terrified to find my work copy pasted by other student! This is a nightmare for a person, who worked so hard! So now I also need to worry about receiving bad grades from students, who will find 2 similar works.

And this article review is a very hard task if you don`t have any experience, so I found other students like 70% failing this task. This is not like me judging too strictly - students just can not fulfil all the requirements. Like they write only 2 points instead of 10. Maybe this is the cause why they still my work?

About peer reviewing – this is not my first course on Coursera and I know, that 5 peer reviews to complete the assignment is a lot (usually 3 is enough). The course is not very popular so I am already waiting about month to be able to review 5 assignments from other students. When I go in to review I receive the note – sorry, no works available right now. I am not sure if I will finish this course with such course organization ☹.

So I am not really happy with the course assignments and not sure if I will be able to receive the certificate, but I would recommend it to person, who seeks for knowledge not for certificate.

AND the last assignment is simply horror! I see it for a first time in my experience on Coursera!! You have only 1 attempt in a MONTH! and 30 difficult questions about actual research. If you don`t pass it - you can retake it only after a month, basically, when you have forgotten the half of material! And bonus - you will not see your mistakes as you usually do on Coursera so no cheating and coping your answers is possible.

автор: Srushti P

Apr 13, 2017

This course is well taught, easy to follow and very interesting. I recommend this course for anyone who wants to gain a better understanding of research methods and critically reading research.

автор: Bethan R

Feb 13, 2017

Useful and helpful course that is taught very well through the online lecture videos. However, think it needs to improve its help and guidance for students. I tried to get hold of the lecture organiser when the objective of the assignment was not clear and there was no-one that I could directly contact to ask a question and I was told on the live chat that my only option was to post my query on the forum - which nobody replied to. I think support should be more readily available from lectures rather than relying on other peers all the time who are sometimes just as confused.

автор: RICHARD D

Jul 11, 2019

This is one if the Best Course. Short and on point topics and syllabus. Thank to you.

автор: Iuliia R

Jul 10, 2019

Thank you very much for this interesting course. I gained the necessary knowledge to take the first steps in my research project.

автор: Francisco J G L

Jul 08, 2019

Very good and very hard , it was too satysfing finishing it

автор: Georgina D

Jul 08, 2019

Great course. Broad scope and hones in on important ethical aspects.

автор: Julija K

Jul 08, 2019

Challenging and interesting course. Especially liked the peer review tool.

автор: Luis M A d C

Jul 07, 2019

A lot I was previously exposed to. A lot I learned intrinsically through school and univeristy. And even more background and deep, embedded knowledge than I expected.. of which I knew nothing about!

The only note I have is that I had to rush through this course because I still have to do course 2 in order to be accepted into a Master in Vrije University, so I couldn't soak in everything I wanted. However, I was able to write most of it down and will refer to it forever, in hopes of retaining this precious knowledge!

A huge, wholesome thank you to whole team!

автор: Santhosh K R

Jun 30, 2019

Enjoying the course

автор: Davi F L V Z

Jun 27, 2019

Muito bom!

автор: Constance S

Jun 27, 2019

Great course! I learned a lot and the format was perfect for learning.

автор: BHASKAR A

Jun 24, 2019

Great Experience.

автор: Minali B

Jun 22, 2019

GREAT....!!

автор: Leonardo L e C

Jun 19, 2019

Amazing!

автор: Muhammad F J K

Jun 05, 2019

I loved the intuition.

автор: Jason B

Jun 02, 2019

Organized, thoughtful and engaging. I enjoyed this learning experience.

автор: Crystal G

May 24, 2019

Loved Annemarie Zand Scholten style of teaching. She is a great communicator and educator, making the materials accessible. The video quality and visual materials were excellent and greatly aided to understanding the material. thank you UA!!!

автор: Tom C

May 23, 2019

A great introduction to social science methods. I'm a philosophy of technology PhD student who was in desperate need of learning the fundamentals of social science methods and this course definitely delivered. The course is clearly structured and presents its material in a logical, engaging manner. Would recommend to anyone that wants (or needs to) learn how to conduct and evaluate solid social science. Plus, there's plenty of cat animations!

автор: Edwin Y R M

May 11, 2019

This is one of the best courses that I ever toke on Coursera. The content is rich, clear, useful, the assigments are chalengers, providing a close view to main aspects of any quantitaive research. I recommennd this Course to anyone who wants to learn the essensial content about qualtitative methods.

автор: Rachael

Apr 21, 2019

Tough topic if you are relatively new to it - but the presentation and lectures were great, accessible and exceptionally high quality - great job on putting the course together!