Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to Data Science in Python

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to Data Science in Python от партнера Мичиганский университет

4.5
звезд
Оценки: 23,915
Рецензии: 5,368

О курсе

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Лучшие рецензии

PK
9 мая 2020 г.

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

AU
9 дек. 2017 г.

Wow, this was amazing. Learned a lot (mostly thanks to stack overflow) but the course also opened my eyes to all the possibilities available out there and I feel like i'm only scratching the surface!

Фильтр по:

5176–5200 из 5,289 отзывов о курсе Introduction to Data Science in Python

автор: zhou x

28 нояб. 2016 г.

Well, first thing I am going to say this is not going to be looking good, however correct me if I got anything wrong or being unfair.

To be honest, I am very frustrated with this course! It is a very good topic that I am very interested and that's the reason I am enrolled , but the support and the structure of it is very disappointing!

Example like this(https://www.coursera.org/learn/python-data-analysis/discussions/weeks/3/threads/0kwIpLJDEeawPhIF4bjuNg), question is not even specified and waste me so much time looking for the requirement and post discussion board and wait hopefully somebody is going to reply!

Same for the ScimEn file , which again the file name was not specified in the question!

From last secession, assignment two have lots of confusing around what exactly the question is asking about and again lots of time being wasted just to figure out the question!

The support is poor as well, not like other course , I would usually get a answer within the same day , but this one is really when you are lucky! Plus the staff rarely response!

In short, I hope the staff of the course would see this. This is a good topic but the course are poorly designed with very limited support!I mean if you are truly love the topic , you should pass on the passion to your students and design the course that students not only learn the material in the course but also can know how to ask questions and find out the questions themselves ,but first like learning any skills students needs to ask lots of questions ! I am not going to mention that ,coz even the question in the course is full of error !!

Unless, the whole purpose is to make some money , then it make sense , however if it is that case , I am not going to enrol in this course any more.

автор: Lucian C

24 апр. 2020 г.

After having done quite a few other courses from UMICH (mostly taught by prof. Charles), I had high expectations from this one. I must sadly say I am extremely dissapointed.

1) The course itself doesn't teach anything. The videos basically say: "Here's pandas. It has functions. Good luck". If you want to learn what to do, you are encouraged and have to search it online, because such materials are not provided in the course.

In my opinion it cannot be called a course, if all it does it says "Hey, there exists this thing called Python and Pandas. If you want to learn about it, go do it somewhere else. You're welcome! "

A responsible course would provided well strucured materials for students to study. Videos showing a proff. reading off slides are not particularly useful.

2) Assignments are messy and it seems not much thought has been put into them. Whilst I do like the challenge itself, spending 3 hours figuring out why the autograder gave me no points is completely useless and frustrating: you get no feedback, no hints, no nothing. Eventually you may be able to find some hints on the forum, but seriously....those 3 hours could be way better spent on some actual materials, rather then trying to figure out a formatting issue.

I could go into more detail, but you get the idea. I was really excited about this specialization, but I will not continue with it. Again - I've nothing against a challenge - so a more difficult curricula - but I cannot work with a completely lack of curricula and structure , as well as materials.

автор: Moncef K A B

16 июля 2020 г.

This is not my first time with the University of Michigan, I have completed both the "Python for everybody" and "Python 3 programming" specialisations; and i must say , this is an assignment course, the material is rushed (if you are just talking about 10 pandas methods in an 8 minutes video,; you need to review your pedagogy). Paul resnick , dr.chuck and steve oney are really good teachers, they go into the details.But i don't know if he was forced to , but Christopher brooks doesn't seem to bother with explanations (you should learn everything on stackoverflow; well guess what ...i came to coursera for the material not the assignments).He had already done that in the 5th course of the python3 programming specialisation(sometimes explaining code without showing it),it took me 5 days to complete that assignment(notebooks crashing for no reason i ended up using my own but i guess this has to do with the platform ) .

some more pedagogy and slower ,deeper explanations are required for this course.Not worth the time nor the attention.Just learn on Youtube and Stackoverflow or some other ressources(like the many books provided in this course) then once you are ready, pass all the assignments(which are great ,if the material needed was covered this course would be perfect)

автор: Steven C

17 июля 2019 г.

This class is an absolutely horrible experience for those of us new to programming and data science. For a few of the assignments, you are asked to return a dataset based on the merging of multiple data sets. A better approach would have been to have a checkpoint at each step to ensure the resulting data frame met the requirements. For example, if the data set needed to be ordered in a certain way with the header formatted a certain way, then let's have a separate checkpoint for the order of the values and yet a different checkpoint for the header values.

The staff needs to understand that having the correct answer at each step of the process is not a bad way to help the student know if his/her code is correct. After all, the staff can easily modify the dataset read in by the student's code after submission to ensure that the student did not use any hardcoded values.

Despite the frustration with the Coursera platform, I can honestly say this is the most fun subject I've had in a long time. But the format selected is absolutely horrific and not conducive to learning and understanding the material.

автор: Jakob P

20 мая 2017 г.

The main focus of the course is the introduction of the Pandas (series and data frames) library, which is very useful in data analysis. The last two assignments are quite challenging and time consuming, if you are not familiar with Pandas. Why the poor review: I'm sure that the intention of the teacher (Prof. Brooks) is for the student to be challenged and obtain familiarity with several "advanced" functionalities of Python. When I had finished the last assignment I felt that way, but not due to the lectures (only ~2.5 hours all in all). The pace of these lectures is too fast (probably because they are scripted). The teacher should slow down a bit and show some more examples (for inspiration watch Prof. Andrew Ng from Stanford lecture on machine learning). I'm not suggesting to show explicit solutions of the assignments, but just a few more examples such that the transition from lecture to problem solving is less "frustrating". Furthermore, the students are paying $79 for this course expecting thorough lectures on the topic. Reading the documentation of the Pandas library can be done for free...

автор: Alisa A

22 июля 2019 г.

Read the reviews carefully before signing up for this course.

I would not recommend this course to anyone. It is branded as an Intro course, but it is anything but an intro course.

The instructor whips right through the material without much explanation as to the how and why of what he is doing. Then when it came to the assignments, the assignments were way harder to the material covered, and I spent hours pulling my hair doing research on StackOverflow and GitHub just to figure out how to get the data sets to work correctly so the auto-grader could pass my problem. I ended up dropping at the fourth week because I knew I couldn't finish the project without referencing other people's work on GitHub and there was very little instruction on how to set up and do the final project effectively.

There have been very few courses in my life that I felt utterly defeated by, and this is unfortunately has been one of them. I am going to pursue other data science courses on Coursera and other resources that are better suited to the beginner.

автор: Andy F

28 мая 2018 г.

Dire, absolutely dire. If you like the following; A. Spending longer endlessly searching the forums for answers than anything else and still not necessarily finding them B. Wasting time getting the right answers only for an autograder to decide an answer that hasn't been touched for an hour and was right, is suddenly wrong (not a great advert for a language you want to use to automate this, is it?) C. Reading countless posts voicing a lot of similar frustrations to this D. Lectures so brief you may as well not bother E. Interpreting "assumes some knowledge of other languages" as "you best be great with these other languages because these lectures won't really help you" F. Wasting yet more time on the forums where answers to one post go totally off track so you're left hunting for a needle in a haystack of replies for something that may or may not be of relevance.

If these things are truly your bag then this is the course for you. If not, then do yourself a favour, go elsewhere and find a different course.

автор: Todd R

5 мар. 2021 г.

I loved intro to python with the other teacher, but not this. Staff is helpful, but the homework is completely different from the course. Assignment four has us using extract with expert level to do the job. My correlation was off . I had .17 , but the answer was .15. Found I missing data or one city San francisco instead of having two. For instance, autograder tells me in question 1 of assignment3 that my columns are named incorrect. I see nothing wrong with them after comparing to the assignment . what does formatting have to do with passing anyhow. I could just cut and paste, rename and submit, but I have to wait a day for the results and my submission is already late. I Getting question 1 of assignment3 is required to get the other questions, so I got sort of sick of it. I learned something certainly, but sick of the frustration. I looked forward to my python and Jquery classes. I don't look forward to data science with python.

автор: Rohit S

26 мая 2020 г.

As a beginner,This Course theory is very good and can be understood with a little of Python Basic Programming skills cuz of the 1st week notebook and theory provided.and coming to the other weeks,the theory was good but short and faster explanations ends you up in a dilemma.I personally feel that this course is highly recommended for the purpose of 'THEORY ONLY' != 'Assignments'. If you want to work on assignments you'll end up loosing your mind,and for the assignments I recommend people to just checkout Stack Overflow or the discussion forums or Github to answer them.Definitely You won't be able to grasp everything in here,so I prefer and refer you people to checkout courses on 'PANDAS' to work explicitly.

автор: Christopher I

5 дек. 2016 г.

I was quite disappointed by the almost total inaccessibility of the staff in the discussion forums, the unconquerability of the autograder for most of the assignments (losing points for no discernible reason, with all resources exhausted), the lack of a stats module for the specialization, and the lack of education, really. There is value in asking students to learn on their own, but this course goes much too far with that, giving problem sets that are virtually unsolvable without prior experience in data wrangling in R or some other data language. This leaves serious, hardworking students with little choice but to troll the forums for solutions. Hardly the best way to learn the intricacies of this subject.

автор: Kennedy P

9 мая 2020 г.

I have loved using Coursera to learn Python and have really enjoyed the Python University of Michigan courses I've taken so far. Unfortunately, this is not one of those courses. There is no accompanying textbook or reading, only videos and then practice code. The instructors in the videos don't provide any explanation of the syntax, and simply tell you what the code says which you can already clearly see. Basically they read the course syllabus and the lines of code to you and provide no explanation, i.e. "today we're talking about lambdas, here is code where we're using that." You may as well google articles about each topic in this course and you will probably gain more understanding of these concepts.

автор: Fabrizio B

25 авг. 2020 г.

I have a decent knowledge of python, this course tries, initially to introduce Pandas. In my opinion, the way they try to do is bad. The material is not available, so, no way to reproduce on the student side the examples. During the course, there are also some small checkpoints to see if the example were clear enough. Honestly, without data sets, without proposing (many) exercises, it seems all useless. They expect that the students get everything immediately (they claim that you don't need to know the lambda function, but expect you to get in in 2 minutes of a lesson). I discontinued this. I will check for other materials, books, and more to deepen my data science knowledge in python.

автор: Chris R

9 апр. 2021 г.

This course was extremely bad. Reading a video where someone simply types at you and monotonously reads exactly what they type is excruciating. The text moves too fast to absorb anything remotely complex, the presenter has no personality whatsoever, and the course mostly amounts to a guided tour through StackOverflow. The autograder fails to compile code that works but isn't efficient, and many quiz questions are worded too ambiguously. Then when you get questions wrong due to bad wording, you can't immediately retake the quiz! I've taken several Python MOOCs, and this was not only the worst by a mile... it was the only bad one. I refuse to waste any more of my time on this.

автор: Guilherme P d S

27 мар. 2021 г.

Existe uma falta de teoria, o conteúdo é quase integralmente apresentado por meio de exemplos em tempo real com o professor que da a falsa impressão de ser fácil.

As tarefas da semana 3 e 4 são bem difíceis, dependem muito de você correr atrás do conteúdo e documentação dos comando porque o professor não apresenta alguns (e são esses alguns que vão travar seu progresso por horas e horas). Além de difíceis consomem bastante tempo, o curso diz que o tempo aproximado de conclusão dessas tarefas são de 3 horas, eu demorei pelo menos 12 horas em cada. Para piorar o auto corretor utiliza testes secretos então você provavelmente não saberá qual a origem dos seus erros.

автор: Marc C

4 авг. 2019 г.

This course is a really bad introduction to Data Science. You do not learn how to code for Data Science, they just give you a list of functions without really teaching you how to use them. Then in the tests you get tested on a lot of things that were not explained and you end up searching how to do most stuff on Stack Overflow.

I came here to learn stuff in an organised way, not to learn function after function. The things tested in the exams should be about what you teach, and not whatever you want. This course asumes you have a background in Python and also a background in using it for Data Science, which basically means it is not an introductory course.

автор: Andres D A C

25 мая 2020 г.

I wouldn't recommend this course to people who only read the material and answer the exercises, I wouldn't recommend this course at all!!, Run and don't look back, if you want to learn pandas libray (that is the focus of this course) better go to other courses because the material lacks the deepness necessary to pass the course. If you like to learn purely by yourself and read past threads from forums to resolve your doubts then this course can expand your knowledge of the pandas library and managment of data in the python language but at cost of your time, pain and sweat of trying to understand in the first place why you took this course.

автор: Michael M

25 мая 2020 г.

Very disappointed and honestly shocked that this course has the rating it does.

I enrolled in this course expecting to be taught. Instead, I have to pause lectures every few seconds to find a free YouTube tutorial or Stack Overflow article that actually explains the content that the instructor mentioned (because he never goes to a level of detail necessary for what can be reasonably considered "teaching").

All this leaves me wondering: Why am I paying for this?

I cancelled my subscription to the Specialization after taking a look at Assignment 3 and have no intention to finish the course.

автор: Devansh K

14 июля 2020 г.

This was my second course with Prof. Brooks as the instructor. I gotta say, both were awful. He expects us to find info on what we are trying to learn, on our own. The assignments are completely different from what we are taught in the videos, which is well, minimal.

Pathetic. We have to find new functions on our own to complete the assignments. If I wanted to research all about Pandas library on my own, I wouldn't have taken up this course in the first place! Even in the lecture videos, the professor doesn't even bother to explain the functions properly.

автор: Jason G

30 авг. 2017 г.

I really wanted to like this class and was looking forward to learning data science in Python but this isn't the way to do it. The instructor glosses over material without explaining it and the assignments require a large amount of research and outside learning to complete. If I have to learn how to do the assignments from Google and Stack Overflow, why am paying for this course? I've taken other classes on Coursera and am pretty good with Python and self-learning but this is pretty terrible. Overall I expected better out of University of Michigan.

автор: Don S

20 июня 2018 г.

I found there were a lot of problems with the systems supporting the learning and assessments, namely the implementation of the Jupyter Notebook, which kept on misbehaving (it wouldn't save your work, and then it would stop giving outputs for your code). I ended up wasting a lot of time trying but failing to resolve these technical hitches, and time is the most precious resource for any student / programmer, and so I unenrolled from the course. I am now going to find an alternative sequence of courses to learn about data science along with Python.

автор: JOY S

5 нояб. 2016 г.

This course is good but instructor is very bad..... Not providing good course lectures and materials... The lecture is very fast and not covering all the things being asked in the assignment... I am leaving this course due to this.. I have successfully done other python courses, because there, the instructor was very good and his teaching style was awesome...

I have wasted lot of my times enrolling in this particular course... Though the course conception is good, instructor and course materials are not up to the mark....

автор: Christiano d S

7 июля 2020 г.

the instruction is very poor: when one decides to learn online, it´s expected that it will have the content related to the subject, and this course does not. The content is just showed, very fast, no details, and there are several tasks to accomplish, the level of them is much higher than what you have gotten in the videos and lectures, so, one will have to do a lot of extra research and learning outside this platform. if the person wants the certificate, ok, but the knowledge will come actually from other sources.

автор: David A E G

11 сент. 2020 г.

Too much research left for the participant. As one of them, I found no difference between going to Stack Overflow or the official documentation websites to figure out myself how some packages worked, as this was basically the same instruction provided by the instructors. I have decided not to continue further training given by University of Michigan, as there were other specialization that made a far better work increasing the course difficulty. Highly recommended to tag this course as of "Advanced" (difficulty).

автор: Sean M

22 авг. 2020 г.

While i can appreciate the value in getting resourceful at finding information online, this course was essentially 99% google and stack overflow with 1% referencing materials learned in the course. I spent many hours googling exhaustively for answers and reading through the forum where there were numerous bugs noted by the staff contributors. The information required for the assignments could and should have been presented better to achieve the same effect without the hours of independent research.

автор: Jorge V

3 авг. 2020 г.

mal explicado, el profesor no explica los temas, solo los enuncia y tienes que buscar todo el material fuera de la plataforma, lo cual ocasiona que sea un curso muy complicado y que te tome muchísimo mas tiempo del que debería. Yo no siento que sea un curso, lo veo mas como una oportunidad para certificar si ya conoces todos los temas. Como consejo para los que quieren hacerlo, solamente lean las libretas y busquen los temas por internet, el profesor no les servirá de nada. dejo 1 estrella ( MUY MALO)