Chevron Left
Вернуться к Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop от партнера Калифорнийский институт искусств

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 1,408
Рецензии: 576

О курсе

Why just write poems when you can write better ones? This course is built on the notion that the most exciting writing begins after the first draft. It is specifically for folks who believe that writing poems just to express oneself is like using the Internet just for email. After all, poetry can change the way you and your readers think of the world and its inhabitants; it can break new ground for language; turn a blank sheet of paper into a teeming concert of voices and music. Though any of us may have the potential to make that happen, having an understanding of how several tools of poetic composition can be used (and audaciously “mis-used”) gives you more ways to try (and if we do this right, we might surprise ourselves most of all). We'll cover key poetic terms and devices by studying poems by a handful of modern and contemporary poets and then get a chance to try our own hand at writing new poem drafts from a select number of prompts. Throughout the course you will have the opportunity to workshop your poem drafts and get feedback on your work, working towards a more polished poem....

Лучшие рецензии

VS
22 июня 2020 г.

This was a superb workshop. I enjoyed myself thoroughly and learned a lot that came in my way. Grasping poetry devices taught in such an fun way was really awesome. The mentors were very supportive.

SM
11 июня 2020 г.

Loved the course. Douglas Kearney is amazing as an instructor. I love poetry and this workshop has made me happy during the times of COVID 19. I thank CalArts for the encouragement and appreciation.

Фильтр по:

551–575 из 576 отзывов о курсе Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop

автор: Enyang W

23 апр. 2021 г.

the lecturer was soo cool!

автор: Sumaiya A

23 июля 2016 г.

very informative course.

автор: Dr.Halowine C

29 июня 2016 г.

It is a riveting

автор: mario g

1 нояб. 2020 г.

Excelente curso

автор: Xhanti M

19 нояб. 2015 г.

i

автор: Brian B

13 авг. 2021 г.

Although the level of the course is very basic (it is definitely designed for total beginners), I appreciated the opportunity to write to a prompt and with a deadline, both of which kept me motivated. That said, the peer review system was a bit disappointing; it is important for people considering this class to understand that your workshop poems are ONLY reviewed by other people taking the class at the same time as you, so you are basically at their mercy. I appreciated most of the feedback I got, but I did have one peer reviewer who just wrote "nothing" in every single space where a written comment was required. This was a bit annoying since I had worked quite hard on the feedback that I provided for her!

I also must join the (many, many) other reviewers who have commented on the antics and silly energy of the instructor. While it was obvious that he was trying to keep the viewer engaged with all the jokes, banter, etc. I must admit it did get old... for several of the videos, I turned off the sound and just read the transcription.

I would recommend this class for people who want a very basic introduction to writing and appreciating poetry. More experienced writers might be less satisfied.

автор: Nguyen C C A

4 мая 2020 г.

The course material, assignments, and the instructor are fine. The only problem I have with this is the "Peer-graded Assignment", while a lot of the time they are helpful, there is a handful of people who have no idea what they are doing. They do not read the instruction (as for grading) at all and give the wrong mark (as in technical requirement, not in whether the poem sounds good or not). For example, it said "give 2 points if response to the other prompt" and yet the "peer" give 0 point? Some people cannot read and their response show that they have no knowledge about certain types of poem and their feedbacks are even sometimes contradictory? This same problem occur in other courses as well so I will stop using Coursera due to its inttelligent "peer" grading syste.

автор: Carol M

17 июня 2020 г.

I learned one thing from this course- that I write poetry in trochee, not iambs. I can't think of a poem that I've written that hasn't begun with a stress ... and emphasis. Best exercise of the course, for me, came in the Forms week. I gave writing in iambs a try and think that I should practice more as routine.

I have peer reviewed before and have found it helpful in revision. In this community, I'm not sure that all of its participants were familiar enough with poetics to closely review a poem. I would say that one reviewer would give insightful consideration of their read, and the second lacked experience in reading poetry.

With that said, learning one thing is learning something, so I was generally satisfied.

автор: Scott D

22 нояб. 2016 г.

Doug's lectures were great! He's entertaining and he gets the concepts across very clearly. I struggled with the course itself, however. The participation rate was low and the iOS app was so buggy I deleted it. The web interface was better but still difficult to work with.

The iOS app would forget I was in the course and lose my assignments. It also wouldn't let me open the discussion forums. With the technical problems and low participation I can only give the course 3/5.

автор: Victoria B

6 июля 2019 г.

I think this course is good if you're just starting out and want to know the basics. But it's not a great course for more advanced students. The peer graded assignments are a gamble because some people fail to understand what the assignment actually is before they try to grade your assignment. Also, I don't like how certain sections are heavily focused on rhythm and rhyme. This course isn't really geared toward free verse poets.

автор: Elizabeth D

1 авг. 2016 г.

The annotations of the different poems were great and taught me a lot about different poetic elements, but the lectures were unbearably corny with all of the different sound effects and bits. I found myself reading the transcripts because I could not watch the videos without feeling like I was being talked down to or that the instructor didn't take the course seriously.

автор: Samantha A

9 сент. 2015 г.

Not as much creative flexibility as I thought there would be. Writing to prompts left very little room to create poetry that felt like my own. Good short course (knocked it out in a couple of days) for revising/learning techniques.

автор: Stefan W

6 сент. 2020 г.

This course seems to be aimed at absolute beginners. If you don't know what a rhyme is, this "workshop" is definitively worth your time. Else, there may be better investments.

автор: Hari K D V

28 окт. 2017 г.

there's got to be more poems, more reviews. 1 poem to be reviewed makes the brilliant course flippant

автор: Jennifer F

5 сент. 2020 г.

ok. some tools are missing, like a resource page referred to by the instructor.

автор: Liz A

21 мая 2018 г.

A stimulating course. Great online interaction with tutors. Some great links.

автор: Priyanka D

5 июля 2021 г.

L​earnt a lot about writing poetry. Realised there's still a lot yet to learn

автор: Garrison G

1 сент. 2017 г.

The course could have used more content. That is, it is too brief.

автор: Tonya

21 сент. 2015 г.

Elementary and entertaining with some unique and creative prompts.

автор: Lama B

7 мая 2020 г.

It was a great course, however it was very short and brief.

автор: Keegan O

20 июля 2020 г.

This course is a brief overview of poetry. For that it is fine. The lessons are extremely brief and it takes very little time to get through this course. The problem with taking a workshop online and in this setting is that you rarely get valuable feedback as a large percentage of your classmates will have very little to say about your poem. Many take an approach of I need to do these two peer workshops to get a grade and breeze right through it. Another negative I have with the course is it never allows you to workshop a poem that is not derived from a prompt in a lesson and many of these prompts are extremely forced. If you are someone who is already writing poems I doubt this is the course for you. My advice is to seek out people in the discussion forum who seem to know what they're talking about and start a correspondence with them. You will get better feedback and can workshop things outside of silly prompts. I apologize if this came off as pretentious. I spent at least 30 minutes with every poem I was asked to workshop. 2 out of 3 submissions my workshop feedback was one sentence long. I got one valuable piece of advice from 3 workshops.

автор: Michael N

11 июня 2020 г.

While the material has been interesting, I paid to take this course in large part for what I assumed would be helpful feedback and critique, to help me improve. I submitted my first peer assignment 6 days ago, and I've not received even one critique/feedback. If things change as I continue this course, I'll revise my rating. But at the moment, I'm not satisfied in the least. If none of my fellow students reviews my work, how about one of the staff mentors? Hello? Is anyone even out there?

автор: Maria L

11 апр. 2020 г.

This 'course' is so diluted and threadbare it's unbearable. Add to that the misplaced gimmicks and 'humour' in the videos and you soon feel you are wasting your time. I wasn't expecting anything advanced, but this is not even basic. Might be OK for a 5 y.o. though. For adults, I would recommend a good book on poetry writing. Or, even better, on prosody. There are some excellent ones to choose from.

автор: David M C

18 апр. 2021 г.

Decided I wasn't interested so tried to unenroll but can't.