Chevron Left
Вернуться к Seeing Through Photographs

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Seeing Through Photographs от партнера Музей современного искусства

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 3,766
Рецензии: 1,019

О курсе

Taking, sharing, and viewing photographs has become second nature for many of us. Given our near-constant engagement with images this course will help you dig into the meaning of pictures and reconsider photography’s role in our visual culture. This course aims to address the gap between seeing and truly understanding photographs by introducing a diversity of ideas, approaches, and technologies that inform their making. In this course you will look closely at 100 photographs from the collection of The Museum of Modern Art, going behind the scenes of the Museum and into artist studios through original films and audio interviews. You will hear a variety of perspectives on the ways photography has been used throughout its 180-year history: as a means of artistic expression, a tool for science and exploration, an instrument of documentation, a way to tell stories and record histories, and a mode of communication and critique. Short texts and readings from MoMA publications provide enhanced context for the works in the course. By enrolling in this course, you’ll join a community of international learners in discussion forums, receive invitations to live and virtual events from our lead instructor Sarah Meister, and gain exclusive access to MoMA resources. UPDATE: We’ve been listening to your feedback! In September 2020, we launched new content in Seeing Through Photographs, including audio interviews with additional contemporary artists from around the world, videos of Sarah introducing key ideas, and almost doubling the number of photographs from the collection. We’ve also added opportunities for you to share and receive feedback on your photographs in the discussion forums....

Лучшие рецензии

AQ
8 мар. 2016 г.

Seeing Through Photographs has given me a whole new way of looking at my own and other peoples' work. So many aspects, details and points of view, the world of photography now seems even more amazing.

EE
2 июня 2019 г.

It was very insightful, and a good thing is they offered quizzes and other full content, which some other free courses do not, which really helps learning. Hope to go for other courses under them. :)

Фильтр по:

101–125 из 1,006 отзывов о курсе Seeing Through Photographs

автор: Dafne B C

7 июня 2020 г.

I really loved this course because I learned to analyze and critic some of the work we discuss each week. I truly believe in self-learning and through these weeks I appreciate the way I can acknowledge things and topics about photography and I also learned the big work of making an online course with professional teachers and examples.

автор: Paola S T

13 сент. 2020 г.

I loved this course! It allowed me to discover amazing photographers around the world.

Additionally, I learned about documentary photography, pictures of people, about challenging histories while constructing narratives and the contemporary culture!

In conclusion, I loved the course and now is my dream to go to the Museum of Modern Art!

автор: Maria I P

17 сент. 2017 г.

This is a seriously interesting course. It includes a wide range of perspectives and practices in photography with a manageable coursework, and at the same time gives a wealth of information to anyone interested to get to know more about a given module or artist. If MoMA decides to offer any other similar courses, please count me in!

автор: Matteo T

30 апр. 2016 г.

Great content and very useful material. Lessons are prepared in a very professional way. It probably misses some analysis of the preparation work the mentioned photographers did for their collections/books. It's more based on critics and MoMA history and connections with differents genres and movements within documentary photography.

автор: Olga M

20 июня 2020 г.

The academic base is very well prepared and let me see the history facts and learned about photographers that made a huge impact into the industry. Changed my perspective view to the black and white and documentary photography by helping to discover the hidden sides and effects. Special thanks for the media content of the course!

автор: Rafael P F

19 окт. 2020 г.

It is a great tool in understanding everything that gives meaning to a photograph. I learned to observe, not only the image but the context and the intention of the photographer. I am a photographer and I must say that this course has motivated me to start my own research path to develop new forms of expression with photography.

автор: Melissa S

12 июля 2020 г.

I really enjoyed this course. It was very though-provoking and students could dive in as much or little as comfortable with. The instructor emailed us and sent various opportunities to attend extra chats, webinars, etc. It was very well paced and stayed interesting the entire time, even for those of us who are not "art majors!"

автор: Nandita H

31 мая 2020 г.

This course has helped me understand the complexities, or at least some of the complexities involved in documentation of events around us (the main area of my interest). It has deepened my understanding of the meaning of art (an old fashioned phrase!) and will help me (hopefully) make my writing more nuanced. Thank you.

автор: Monique D

20 мар. 2017 г.

This class was an excellent overview of photography. I also was able to learn about new photographers. I've taken a history of photography course before and other art courses where photography was reviewed so I was happy to see that the course still allowed me to learn something different. I highly recommend this course.

автор: Chronis P

1 июня 2020 г.

This course gave me an excellent chance to study the history of photography through the works and lives of interesting photographers. I've learned a lot about 'reading' photographs and creating better and meaningfull photographs. These six weeks were fun, interesting and make me look my passion in a more artistic way

автор: Neil M

22 мая 2020 г.

I really enjoyed this. It encompassed the history and art of photography and provided some succint and select examples of the artform. I emerge from it with a deeper appreciation, not so much from a technical perspective but a better understanding of emotions that are generated and also what is possible. Thank you.

автор: André C

12 февр. 2017 г.

Ce cours est très complet, les supports sont variés et intéressants sans être trop lourds. L'organisation est bien pensée, avec quelques heures par semaine il est possible de le suivre sans trop de problèmes. J'ai beaucoup appris sur les débuts de la photographie et également sur le travail de divers photographes.

автор: Rezky N

28 июня 2020 г.

This class is good for anyone who has an interest in photography either as an audience or a photographer. You'll learn the history of photography through different eras and how it developed over time. It's not really about how to take a photograph but more about understanding messages in the realm of photography.

автор: Diogo F

25 апр. 2020 г.

It's an exceptional course. The content and topics covered are quite varied but they manage to establish an archival relationship between them. It is a tour with the curator Sarah through the MoMA archives that will hardly be repeated. For photographers or not photographers it is a course that I strongly advise.

автор: Savvas I

29 мар. 2020 г.

This course does not only provide insights into photography since the Daguerre era, but at the same time offers a drone-like introspection of human history, culture and civilization, during the same period. It is expertly presented following a multidimensional approach and it is worth every minute spent studying.

автор: Emilia

15 мая 2018 г.

I've only done just 2 weeks of this course but I am totally falling in love with It.

I am not that photography master, it's just one random passion I have between many, but thanks to the pictures shown and the detailade but not hard to understand knowlege I am starting to be even more passionate about Photography.

автор: Alison E

1 июля 2020 г.

This was a thorough and very well constructed course, I really enjoyed the variety of challenges, resources, range of photographers and approaches to seeing through photographs. I would recommend this to both those new to studying photography, and those like me, who have been studying photography for some while.

автор: Sabrina L B

15 мая 2020 г.

It was such a great pleasure to follow this course. It was my first online Photography course I attended and I learned how to look at photographs in such a different way. Even if many photographs relate to the real world, it's incredible how each viewer has a different emotion of the same image.

Sabrina Biagini

автор: harald w

11 июня 2020 г.

Thank you so much for everything - all the in-between information I received, especially the invitations for discussions, all the wonderful online readings (and the it was possible to copy out text for translation - as english is not my mother language, that was sometimes helpful

Great experience!

kinds Harald

автор: Jonathan H

4 мая 2020 г.

A well structured course taking the pupil from the early days of photography through to the modern day, focusing on the many and varied subjects and methods used by the leaders in this medium. Both mandatory and optional reading materials mean you can do as little or as much as you want to complete the course.

автор: Ella S

3 авг. 2020 г.

Very interesting and informative! I was able to complete the course alongside other studies as it's flexible and easily set out to follow progress and areas missed. Would highly recommend for anyone interested in photography or art as there are a wide variety of artists and themes within photography covered.

автор: Maria X

3 апр. 2020 г.

Great course for reflections on photography and analysis of art. You will be provided with short interviews with artists and art professionals. You will discover photographers you didn't know and potential links among their photos. A really good option for anyone interested in photography, curating and art.

автор: Elizabeth C

6 февр. 2017 г.

I developed a deeper understanding of the role of photography from this course. From the first lesson I was hooked. It has ample examples of all different types of photography and how they have influence society. I found the interviews with the photographers to be enlightening. Highly recommend this course.

автор: Theresa K C P

31 окт. 2020 г.

Wonderful course! I have a PhD in Art History but I don't typically work on photography or contemporary art. This course had a lovely balance of material that made it accessible for beginners but also enough depth in the recommended readings to make it engaging for advanced students and arts professionals.

автор: Eric Z

23 сент. 2020 г.

lots of information that went beyond what the lectures talk about. The class overall serves as an introduction to photograph examination and historical progress. I really enjoyed its content and can also say that I will use the information I learned in the future, for personal as well as academic purposes.