Chevron Left
Вернуться к Введение в философию

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Введение в философию от партнера Эдинбургский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 7,444
Рецензии: 1,743

О курсе

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

Лучшие рецензии

LT
1 сент. 2015 г.

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

SF
27 июня 2020 г.

It is an excellent course for anyone who is interested in knowing more about philosophy and philosophical questions. The lectures are short and very informative! I would highly recommend this course.

Фильтр по:

176–200 из 1,725 отзывов о курсе Введение в философию

автор: GUSISI

13 февр. 2017 г.

Teachers are really responsive to questions that were mentioned in the forum, and they provided me with a good start in philosophy. I would recommend this course to anyone who is interested in philosophy but has no previous experience. This course will lead you to the a different world.

автор: Eduardo S P

20 янв. 2016 г.

Very good course, it perfectly introduces some of the most relevant topics in philosophical discussion, some are new some are very very old but still fascinating. I would strongly recommend this course for anyone interested in learning about philosophy, history and culture in general.

автор: Christopher B

18 окт. 2019 г.

I had a great time on this course and I learned many new interesting concepts that got me thinking, and will help me to learn any other course I take. In particular, I enjoyed learning about Are Scientific Theories True?, Minds, Brains and Computers, and Time Travel and Philosophy.

автор: Kiran R

6 февр. 2021 г.

Being from a statistics background, I had missed out on learning Arts and Humanities, since I read a lot of varied stuff. This course as well as the teachers gave a wonderful insight into how philosophers approach topics and think about it. Was a wonderful five weeks of learning.

автор: L H

15 дек. 2020 г.

Excellent introduction to Philosophy. I particularly enjoyed the module on Time Travel, Dr Alasdair Richmond's passion for the topic is evident and really shines through during his presentation of the content. Please make a longer course going through the topics in greater depth!

автор: MUHAMMAD G S

30 окт. 2020 г.

It was a wonderful journey of knowledge. This has been made possible by the tireless efforts of teachers, officers, experts and technicians at the University of Edinburgh and Coursera. Love from the bottom of my heart to those concerned, especially to the teachers philosophers.

автор: Laura Y

29 мар. 2020 г.

I absolutely loved this! Really good overview of all these subjects, with an options and information to go deeper. The lecturers were all amazing, and I'm going to be going over these notes quite a bit! Really helped reignite my interest in thinking about things differently :)

автор: Nigel C

22 февр. 2021 г.

Really enjoyed the stretch of this course - 40 years since I last did any serious study for its own sake. Took me a while to establish a realistic rhythm and frequency to setting time aside but it was well worth it. Particularly appreciated the video/recap/review/quiz format.

автор: Vivi

22 апр. 2020 г.

Awesome introduction course. It invites you to think critically and challenges you in order to question your own conclusion. Thank you for all the teachings and easy and funny examples so that we can better understand the complex vocabulary of the quoted ancient philosophers.

автор: Manu N L

21 мая 2020 г.

Great course around a modern vision of the basis of philosophy; good material, very high level of equipment docent. I get skill on analysis and several 'trends' of the 'actual philosophy' in form of introduction. Thanks for all, then, to University of Edimburgh and Coursera.

автор: Hernán M

12 июня 2016 г.

Great course from one of the top universities in the world! Deep throughout, fast-paced but easy to understand, this course will give you a first impression of what Philosophy really is, making you want to delve more into this awesome world of thinking.

I highly recommend it!

автор: James D R

18 мая 2019 г.

An excellent course that does precisely what it says. It provides a fantastic taste of some of the foundations of philosophy. The content of the video lecturers are wonderful.

My only complaint is that the multiple choice tests at the end of each section have bugs in them.

автор: Nikko D M

15 янв. 2021 г.

Wow! This course is amazing! I have no regrets that I've enrolled myself for this! I took this for 3 days and literally help me to become more productive! I would like to commend all of the Lectures of this course, for delivering the lessons promptly and professionally!

автор: Terrance J M

27 апр. 2020 г.

Never even thought about philosophy before (pun unintended), but this introductory course to the subject was a great awakening. Plans are to continue in philosophical studies. Much thanks to the University of Edinburgh, Coursera and the great lecturers in this course.

автор: Crista M

11 июня 2020 г.

Super interesting course and excellent lecturers. There’s a lot to wrap your head around, but it’s engaging and thought provoking. It was easy to feel motivated to continue through the lectures and the quizzes are well crafted to help ensure that you truly do “get it.”

автор: Ajnabi K P

8 июня 2020 г.

Philosophy is a way of thinking about the world, the universe, and society. It works by asking very basic questions about the nature of human thought, the nature of the universe, and the connections between them. The ideas in philosophy are often general and abstract.

автор: Jose M G

9 дек. 2016 г.

Una excelente introducción al pensamiento filosófico, desde una visión bastante práctica. Me ha sorprendido especialmente el último tema sobre viajes en el tiempo, que en principio parece no cuadrar con el resto de "topics", pero resulta muy interesante y divertido.

автор: Emmanual P J

12 июня 2020 г.

The first thing I wanted to highlight is the remarkable wisdom of the professors. The ease with which they discuss the ideas is an evidence of the command they have over the philosophy of knowledge. They made the discussions so appealing with intelligible examples.

автор: Pablo G A

5 июня 2017 г.

I think this course is interesting and well structured. I think it is a good introduction to philosophy. I learned a lot about morality, knowledge, laws, politics, minds, science, free will, and time travel.

The course also helped me to practice English :-)

Thanks!

автор: Jake G

24 окт. 2015 г.

While the indidivual lectureres did have a breadth of knowledge, a manditory discusion should be held with the homeworks instead of just the quizzes for completion. Perhaps a page on each week should be good enough. Just to understand each lecturer's main points.

автор: Jim P

18 дек. 2020 г.

I really enjoyed the course. I find the topics very interesting and thought provoking, while most of the time remaining relatively easy to understand. My participation and completion of this course has definitely motivated me to pursue philosophy in more detail.

автор: JORGE E M L V

23 мар. 2019 г.

MUY BUEN CURSO PARA INTRODUCIRSE AL MUNDO DE LA FILOSOFÍA, DE VERDAD QUE ES BASTANTE INTERESANTE APRENDER COSAS DE FILOSOFÍA LO RECOMIENDO MUCHO APRA PERSONAS QUE ESTUDIAN CARRERAS DE CIENCIAS SOCIALES COMO DERECHO, EDUCACIÓN, FILOSOFÍA, PSICOLOGÍA Y HUMANIDADES

автор: Rahul P

20 авг. 2020 г.

One of the best courses out there that really take you out on a mental journey of interesting thoughts and insights. Perfect for beginner like me. The language was not difficult to understand and instructors were phenomenal especially "The Time Traveller" one.

автор: Sophia A

9 нояб. 2017 г.

Lead me to the beginning of doing philosophy and bring me with how to work out the right way of thinking about things. Share with me the big questions in contemporary philosophy.

I start to love Philosophy after this course! Thank you so much for your efforts!

автор: Valery M

12 мая 2020 г.

This course was great!

Definitely a good introduction to Philosophy, as they do an excellent job covering many different topics in such a short amount of time. The way concepts and ideas are explained is clear and perfect for beginners. Totally recommend it.