Chevron Left
Вернуться к In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

Отзывы учащихся о курсе In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting от партнера Музей современного искусства

4.9
звезд
Оценки: 1,241
Рецензии: 553

О курсе

Want to know how some of the 20th century’s most celebrated artists made abstract paintings? This course offers an in-depth, hands-on look at the materials, techniques, and thinking of seven New York School artists, including Willem de Kooning, Yayoi Kusama, Agnes Martin, Barnett Newman, Jackson Pollock, Ad Reinhardt, and Mark Rothko. Through studio demonstrations and gallery walkthroughs, you’ll form a deeper understanding of what a studio practice means and how ideas develop from close looking, and you’ll gain a sensitivity to the physical qualities of paint. Readings and other resources will round out your understanding, providing broader cultural, intellectual, and historical context about the decades after World War II, when these artists were active. The works of art you will explore in this course may also serve as points of departure to make your own abstract paintings. You may choose to participate in the studio exercises, for which you are invited to post images of your own paintings to the discussion boards, or you may choose to complete the course through its quizzes and written assessments only. Learners who wish to participate in the optional studio exercises may need to purchase art supplies. A list of suggested materials is included in the first module. Learning Objectives: Learn about the materials, techniques, and approaches of seven New York School artists who made abstract paintings. Trace the development of each artist’s work and studio practice in relation to broader cultural, intellectual, and historical contexts in the decades after World War II. Hone your visual analysis skills. Use each artist’s works as a point of departure for making your own abstract paintings....

Лучшие рецензии

AN
22 мая 2021 г.

Excellent. The course was very educational, extremely well put together and Corey´s instruction was excellent. One really needed to put time and effort into it but is worth every second of time spend.

DB
25 июля 2020 г.

Beyond my expectations! Encouraged by in studio where I discovered I could be successful experimenting with all the different artists. The knowledge, insight, and fascinating experience was joyous!

Фильтр по:

51–75 из 545 отзывов о курсе In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

автор: Lisa G

30 мая 2020 г.

This was a great course to take to learn more in depth about the painting methods and art theory of Post WW 2 painting. Cory D'Augustine's demonstrations were interesting to watch. I liked the combination of video content presentations and supplemental reading materials. The quizzes were challenging and the final essay with peer review added a nice format for connecting with others taking the course. This was a well designed course and I would recommend it.

автор: Ma. K C D C

20 нояб. 2017 г.

Definitely my favorite course taken on coursera so far. It gives the learner a new perspective in appreciating abstract expressionist paintngs. It also tackles in depth the processes of the artists discussed in the course. The opportunity to make your own version of the works that were discussed gives the learners a new appreciation of the famous pieces. I am hoping to see more courses by MoMA similar to this one. WIll definitely enroll in more of these.

автор: KACIE L

17 окт. 2019 г.

I learned a lot from this course and I found it to be very interesting. I learned a lot by studying these artists and their different styles, techniques and the tools they would use. The studio work was fun too, trying to recreate the artists styles, it was different from the way I normally would create a painting. Corey is a great instructor and very knowledgeable. I would definitely recommend this course if you are interested in art and art history.

автор: Lynn M

3 сент. 2020 г.

I absolutely loved this course. I was very impressed with Cory's knowledge and expertise, and the combination of a 'deep dive' into a different abstract expressionist artist each week and the opportunity to learn and complete an exercise in their style/medium, was really gratifying. My knowledge of the artists, the period, and their process expanded substantially; and, it has made me a better artist by pushing the boundaries I had subconsciously set.

автор: Danielle D

11 июня 2020 г.

I have really loved this course because the one area of art I have had the most difficult time learning and wrapping my head around was abstraction! This really went into great detail about the art, the artists and the process that they used to create their works. As an artist, I want to be constantly learning and researching artists and methods so that I can broaden my own horizons. These courses will also work nicely with my Museum Studies too.

автор: Jennifer S

25 янв. 2021 г.

I loved this course. It seriously eroded prejudices and narrow judgements I had about some eras of art, which freed me up in my own work. Given that it's quite a short course, it covered a lot of ground, including technical info about oil and acrylic paints and gels and painting in the styles of artists, which inspired and gave me more tools to work with. I had quite a breakthrough in a painting I had been stuck on before I started the course.

автор: kp k

12 сент. 2020 г.

i really enjoyed studying this class, the videos and presentations by Corey and the curators made the lessons come alive. The career in 8 works for each of the artists made it easy to understand their work and follow how their attitudes changed over the years. The provided reading documents were very informative again broadening my knowledge. Thank you to MOMA, Corey and coursera for providing this course. Look forward to learning more.

автор: Christina T

18 авг. 2020 г.

this course is fantastic. i wish this course wouldn't end too soon. i wish there is more similar courses like this. Corey D'Augustine you're awesome! i wish i could physically join your class somehow in near future. I really love all the details he shared and the explanations at very art piece. i will continue to explore more on abstract art, at least i now know what to look at compare to before that i have absolutely no knowledge.

автор: Leza H

24 нояб. 2018 г.

Excellent course and one which I have recommended to many people. Gives you a unique first hand insight in to technique and methods. The course tutor, Corey, is impressive. I would love to see more courses led by him, like this one, featuring different artists. I now visit MOMA with a far greater appreciation of the artist’s skills and it has encouraged me to paint using different techniques. Truly insightful and enlightening.

автор: Paul B

24 дек. 2017 г.

Crystal clear lectures and fantastic demos by Corey D'Augustine. The readings are often superb but the museum lectures can be a bit droll. Either way, the real magic occurs when you pick up the paint brush and get to work on a canvas. The magic in working :in the style of" is a great way of learning and training oneself to free up the creative flow. I recommend this course even to those who have never painted before!

автор: sylvia

6 окт. 2018 г.

This course bas been very effective for my study on abstractionism. Also learning the technique each abstractionist used to express their ideation is a bonus. I always read about few of these techniques but never in form of visual demonstration. Thanks to the instructor and his dynamic way of explaining the philosophy and meaning of each major artwork increase my engagement and curiosity to go searching for even more

автор: iliana i c n

27 мая 2017 г.

Excelente curso, me encanto la forma del instructor de enseñar los gestos que realza el artista al pintar, como mezcla su paleta de color los materiales, la información sobre sus obras y la biografía de los artistas muy completa, la plataforma del curso fácil de seguir mi dificultad es que mi ingles no es muy bueno y me ocupo un mundo de tiempo tratando de traducir muchísimas palabras y ponerlas en el contexto.

автор: Garland5

25 окт. 2017 г.

I love this course and am getting a new and deeper understanding of art from this period. Even though i studied art at university and am a painter myself, I still learned new things about the technique of these artists. The video on DeKooning's "Woman 1" was incredible. Great that an art conservator teaches this because you get in depth information about how the paintings were constructed from the canvas up.

автор: ARMAND C

17 июля 2017 г.

I cannot think of how much more thorough an on line course could be. It blended videos, presented by professional curators; an excellent lead presenter, Mr D'Augustine who explained and demonstrated the tools and techniques used by the various post-WWII NY School artists and reading assignments and community feedback, to form a superstructure any dedicated learner could depend upon to progress as an artist.

автор: Juliana M

13 авг. 2017 г.

I did not know a lot about Abstract Painting, but I loved the courses of MoMA and decided to do anyways. I was extremely surprised by the quality of the content and how the course inspires us to deepen the study about the New York School. I was fascinated by the theme and started to create paintings inspired by the artists and read more about the subject. I could not be more pleased with this course.

автор: John V

23 июля 2017 г.

I liked this course very much. The instructor Corey D'Augustine has an excellent presentation style: clear, concise and to the point. The studio component of the course was difficult but extraordinary rewarding, the works of the artists covered are incredibly difficult to reproduce. You get a true understanding of the brilliance of their ideas and their works. Excellent course. I highly recommend it.

автор: SSharada

22 февр. 2021 г.

The course is extremely beneficial for both beginners and advanced as studying artists and their techniques inspires each one to try out or incorporate something different that we discover through the journey.

Thank you MoMA for the wonderful presentation and Coursera for bringing it to the public. Great work and am going to continue with the other projects too. Extremely well put together. Congrats

автор: Sune L

21 окт. 2017 г.

It's incredibly inspiring. Corey gives very good instruction and specific tasks, while encouraging pushing beyond limits if you feel like it. You won't be left flailing if your new to painting (like me) and you won't be limited if you are more experienced and adventurous. If in doubt check out the free "In the studio" videos on you tube, I gives a great idea of what you will get more of here.

автор: billcat88@comcast.net

10 февр. 2018 г.

i loved the course leader a lot and was excited to to learn and participate. i learned a lot and was motivated to try new thing in painting. i have wanted to do abstract painting for years but have been afraid to try it. the course opened new doors for me. I know my painting is going to be evolve and improve after this course. thank you Corey D'Augustine! i hope your will do another soon.

автор: Maria E F

22 июня 2020 г.

The course is conceived in a suitable way for everybody thanks to the video lessons. In addition, all the reading resources available involve students to deepen their knowledge about the artists, their technique, and the idea that stands behind their compositions. At least, this is what I experienced. I discovered the treasure underneath Abstract Expressionism and modern art in general.

автор: brian n

16 июля 2017 г.

It is impossible not to love this course. Corey's sincere enthusiasm is contagious and his ability to make painting skills accessible for beginners is awe inspiring. The videos are incredibly well done and the free written materials would cost hundreds of dollars at MOMA's bookstore. I cannot say enough great things about this class, so take it so you can experience it for yourself.

автор: Julie H

11 сент. 2017 г.

I loved this course and learnt so much by doing it. The resources, both written and visual, were first rate, as we're the presenters. I have developed an understanding and appreciation of abstract art and it has spurred me on to read more on this topic. I have no hesitation in recommending this course. Thank you to the MoMA team for producing such an enjoyable learning experience.

автор: Alejandro I A L

5 апр. 2021 г.

Fue muy gratificante profundizar y ampliar conocimientos acerca del grupo de Nueva York, sus motivaciones, lo genuino y particular de cada propuesta, inspiradores testimonios de vida .

Descubrir dentro de las lecturas y recursos temas relacionados, fuentes fidedignas e inagotables de información, a sido también una luz que ayudo a mitigar algunas horas de encierro forzado.

автор: Cheryl B

24 июля 2020 г.

I have loved abstract art all my life... I have Kandinsky and Miro and others on my walls. I decided that it was time to learn somethimg about the art and this course was fabulous. It introduced me to techniques and processes that i knew nothing about, and introduced me to a few artists in ths movement that i was not familiar with. I'm sorry that the course is over!

автор: Uma H

4 авг. 2017 г.

This course is EXCELLENT. I have been following many tutorials but this one is the unique: show you in a dry ad efficace way different painting techniques combine with the history of the painters who invented it. More you have a critics presentation of the most interesting abstract paintings of the century. Thanks for sharing your studies and your experiences with us.