Chevron Left
Вернуться к In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

Отзывы учащихся о курсе In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting от партнера Музей современного искусства

4.9
stars
Оценки: 646
Рецензии: 268

О курсе

Want to know how some of the 20th century’s most celebrated artists made abstract paintings? This course offers an in-depth, hands-on look at the materials, techniques, and thinking of seven New York School artists, including Willem de Kooning, Yayoi Kusama, Agnes Martin, Barnett Newman, Jackson Pollock, Ad Reinhardt, and Mark Rothko. Through studio demonstrations and gallery walkthroughs, you’ll form a deeper understanding of what a studio practice means and how ideas develop from close looking, and you’ll gain a sensitivity to the physical qualities of paint. Readings and other resources will round out your understanding, providing broader cultural, intellectual, and historical context about the decades after World War II, when these artists were active. The works of art you will explore in this course may also serve as points of departure to make your own abstract paintings. You may choose to participate in the studio exercises, for which you are invited to post images of your own paintings to the discussion boards, or you may choose to complete the course through its quizzes and written assessments only. Learners who wish to participate in the optional studio exercises may need to purchase art supplies. A list of suggested materials is included in the first module. Learning Objectives: Learn about the materials, techniques, and approaches of seven New York School artists who made abstract paintings. Trace the development of each artist’s work and studio practice in relation to broader cultural, intellectual, and historical contexts in the decades after World War II. Hone your visual analysis skills. Use each artist’s works as a point of departure for making your own abstract paintings....

Лучшие рецензии

CG

Feb 25, 2019

This is the best art class I have ever taken. It offers a perfect mix of studio art/painting techniques and art history. Instructor Corey D'Augustine is fantastic. Thoroughly enjoyed this course!

AS

Oct 04, 2019

Well-designed course; interesting material, including optional readings. The studio demonstrations and accompanying exercises were very helpful to my own art work. Excellent overall; thank you.

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 261 отзывов о курсе In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

автор: Luciana A N

Jun 06, 2017

Exceed my expectations in every way. Having an instructor deeply knowledgeable and passionate about painting techniques - and not just how they fit into this or that movement - allowed for a much deeper understanding of the paintings, from a perspective entirely new to me. I know a lot about art, from what I see in museums and from avid reading on the topic. But to see them all come to life with brushes and paints... that was awesome and made me much more appreciative of the work involved in each artwork. I'll be rewatching some of the videos, for sure. Please do a 2nd installment!

автор: Cheryl K

Feb 18, 2019

This course completely changed my prejudiced views of abstract art. I'd never been interested or paid much attention to any abstract art, but discovering the passions and values of the artists covered in the lessons has definitely awoken a drive to find out more and fascination in learning about the emotions, thought processes and influences that went into their art work. Inspirational!

автор: Callie G

Feb 25, 2019

This is the best art class I have ever taken. It offers a perfect mix of studio art/painting techniques and art history. Instructor Corey D'Augustine is fantastic. Thoroughly enjoyed this course!

автор: Peter R

Jun 19, 2017

This was my second attempt at a Coursera course and it widely exceeded my expectations - the first was in a technology arena and the technology for doing homework assignments never worked.

This class is exceptionally well thought out and executed, particularly for someone such as myself who has never had any painting experience. Corey D"Augustine has that rare gift of an instructor who intuitively knows what the student needs in order to advance through a concept. The class begins with the absolute basics, starting with how to stretch a canvas, prime a canvas and then through the different types of paint and tools needed. The class progresses to increasingly more complicated forms of painting in the style of postwar abstract expressionism.

I thoroughly enjoyed how each week progresses through one artist after another with the opportunity to do a painting in the style of that artist. Each module does a superb and consistent job of presenting the artist's major works, the philosophy and history and then the techniques through a demonstration. It is great to be able to upload a photo of your effort and then see and react to what other students have done. The quiz at the end of each module help to reinforce the lessons learned for that module.

In the end, I found that I could paint paintings in the style of the postwar abstract expressionists - something I never thought possible. To the student with little or no experience with painting, especially oils, the mere mixing of paint and applying it to a canvas can be intimidating - this instructor effectively moves the student away from those hesitations. More importantly, I will likely never look a painting in a museum with a more critical eye than I now have for this style of art and, I can now articulate why I have always enjoyed this period of art history. Well done Corey!

автор: Maura S

Jul 14, 2017

Extraordinary class!

A self-taught artist of eight years, I found I didn't really "get" abstract expressionism. This course as presented gave me a much deeper appreciation for the historical impact of this movement as well as a greater understanding of techniques employed, thanks to Corey D'Augustine's weekly "In the studio" video sessions. In fact, those videos, in particular, gave me the confidence to work in oils, which I had never attempted before, and validated my own instincts in working in the abstract world. What's more, the readings and images studied by these seven artists informed my appreciation for the AbEx movement and, hopefully, my ability to not sound like a dumba$$ when discussing AbEx or other forms of art as the course also provided a deeper introduction into technical terminology and evaluatative (is that a word?) procedures.

I highly recommend this course to those artists wanting to enhance their works, and also to those on the critical / commercial side of the art world seeking to deepen their understanding of the AbEx movement and become more informed about different painting processes in general.

автор: Catherine F

Jul 22, 2019

I have really enjoyed every stage of this fascinating course.

I was an an architectural student in the late 1950´s & early 1960’s, the period covered by your course. I regret to say that, at the time, being committed to designing our vision of a « brave new world », with imaginations running riot, I was aware of the movement in New York but the subtlety of the work was lost to me. At last, after too many years, I have a better understanding of the art and of the artists Involved. I will now give their paintings the time that they deserve and not walk past assuming that I have absorbed all there is to see.

The course has been a revelation for me and what I have really enjoyed is the feeling of involvement , not just me + a computer screen. The « in the studio » series was fascinating, as were so many other constituents. The course will , I think, influence my paintings and sculpture, as well as having been fascinating to follow. Many thanks to all involved & I hope the next stage will be a visit MOMA.

автор: Jan M

Jun 14, 2017

I have always loved the NY abstract expressionists therefore this course gave me the opportunity to learn and appreciate these painters in so much more detail. Also, learning how these artists painted and practicing their techniques has helped me build a much stronger connection to this vital transitional art movement, as well as the artists intentions and concepts. Each artist of study was unique. I really enjoyed our presenter and teacher Cory. He explained everything really well with such conviction. I also enjoyed how the course was set up with information from different sources, recommendations and then the chance to comment and discuss with other course members. As soon as I know I was at the end of the cause, I found myself looking for another one. This is my first online course and I am very happy and inspired to do another one on painters that includes studio practice.

автор: Maureen W

Feb 11, 2018

Thank you...a million thank yous for this excellent course. Corey Augustine is brilliant, funny, easy, smart and talented and his style makes what was aways complex for me so much more understandable. I have seen Rotho, Pollock and Kooning in galleries n Toronto and Ottawa and a bit in NYC but I never really knew what I was looking at, even when it stirred me, pleased me, upset me. I am so privileged now to be introduced to meaning. I feel so lucky to have come upon this course. And my 93 year old neighbour who loves Rothko was so pleased when I told her about this course that she is checking out post-war AEE on Coursera today. I love how the course is constructed...the workshop demonstrating materials and approaches, the different voices describing the work. Brilliant!! :)

автор: Elizabeth M

Nov 05, 2019

As someone who has been involved in digital graphics/video/music production and had not touched paint since grade school I suddenly over the last year or so surprisingly found myself being drawn to the ideas behind painting. I perused the course "In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting" but was unsure how much I would learn.

The course far exceeded my expectations. At times it almost felt like being in the classroom. I learned so much and am looking forward to trying out all the techniques described each week as I explore making my own paintings over the next few years.

The teacher is amazing, love Corey’s teaching style, he explained things in a very clear manner and his humble down to earth manner was endearing. Would highly recommend this course!

автор: Carla B

Jul 10, 2017

I learned so much in this art appreciation and experimentation course. Many thanks to Corey D'Augustine who's straight-forward, easy-going style of teaching helped us not be afraid of trying products never used before, in my case oil paints and all the mediums that go with them, and trying methods of famous Abstract Expressionist artists. Many thanks to MoMA for providing this course through Coursera.org and to sponsors like Volkswagen who help make such enlightenment possible. I looked forward to learning through video, reading, my own research and in the studio exercises. I am off to look for similar In the Studio offerings on MoMA's website and considering what I will sign up for next on Coursera. Thank you!

автор: Ingrid W

May 10, 2017

This is an amazing course! I learnt a lot on the technical aspects of many artists I already knew about, discovered early artworks I had not seen before and also got to spend more time on artists like Ad Reinhardt I knew little about. I have always been interested in art history but I never dared touch a brush to try to put myself in the artists seat. This course gently encouraged me to do so thanks to Corey's wonderful videos and I am amazed at what I produced, the fun I had and the additional dimension it provided to my observant eye. Thank you MOMA for such an amazing set of materials and for fuelling the passion for art in more ways than can be imagined.

автор: SueC

May 30, 2017

I will admit that I am not a fan of abstract painting and that was one of the reasons I enrolled upon this course. I wanted to try and look again, and to attempt to see what others saw who were more enthusiastic about abstract expressionism.

The course covered not only the history of the movement but also the studio techniques of the various artists were demonstrated and you could `paint along' too. The visual analysis techniques were invaluable. While I am still not a total convert I do now take the time to look and think when I see the work of these artists. Thank you for providing an interesting and thought provoking course. More like this please!

автор: Red M

Jan 24, 2018

I'm a Coursera student for two years ago. In this time I became a professionale painter. To be honest, I thought that he could not teach me much that I did not know, but I love abstract expressionism and I paint in abstract material and so I decided to follow him. It was a wonderful discovery. The teacher and artist is a beautiful person, with a subtle and pleasant sense of humor, a high level of preparation and a person who knows how to teach. It was one of the most beautiful courses I've ever done, the artists are among my favorites and discovering them so closely has been moving. I recommend it to anyone who loves art. Really beautiful.

автор: Arvydas G (

Jan 10, 2019

Thank you, Corey D'Augustine for your lessons, which really enriched my knowledge and teach me to understand art better. I really began to develop a deeper appreciation of the artists works, acquired new skills and inspired to create new works.

I really liked the way the lessons were organized and the course as a whole. Refinement and reinforcement of knowledge is very well at the end of each lesson, when I have to answer quiz. And of course Final Project, peer-graded assignment, studio exercise, and visual analysis essay - all this is undoubtedly assimilated and settles in long-term memory and becomes yours for life.

автор: belinda h

Jun 19, 2017

Thank you so much for offering this class! This is an excellent organized in depth course. Corey D'Augustine provides wonderful educational videos that offered insight into these artist's works, their techniques and the materials that they used - I loved it! Part of being a great teacher is engaging your students -- I was excited to do the assignments and to see what lesson was next! Finishing the course has brought a greater appreciation for the artist's works while also prompting me to apply their techniques to my own painting. I will be looking to more courses from Mr.D'Augustine!

автор: Gary P H

Apr 01, 2019

Super course. Really good. If you're out to learn something about Abstract Expressionism, or just have a general interest in painting, this course is for you. I particularly enjoyed the optional practicum element, and you should definitely try the exercises that are a fun way for a beginner to get familiar with oil paints and some interesting techniques. I started this course out of curiosity and became hooked; I intend to follow up with more reading and painting. A five-start effort by the whole MoMA team, I highly recommend In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting.

автор: silvia r

Nov 22, 2017

I love this course. I was very excited to attend a course by Mo.Ma of New York and to have it on-line it's perfect for me cause I live in Italy. I learned a lot of interesting things that I've never known before. The teacher is really expert in painting. great to explain in the right way the painting techniques but also he's able to analysis in the details the artworks. I appreciated the resources, video and books given to better understand artists and abstract art. I'm waiting for the next one! Thanks Mo.Ma! Silvia

автор: Gabriela L

Jan 09, 2018

Great course. The lecturer is knowledgeable and passionate about the subject, his explanations are very clear. I think it's a great idea to combine art history on the artists with studio technique lessons. The best part is to have the lessons taught in front of the actual paintings that hang on the walls of MoMA, that's not only exciting, but we are able to see the true dimensions of each work reviewed, as well as some close ups to appreciate details and textures. The references and links presented are very useful.

автор: Karen A

Jan 31, 2018

With the completion of this course I had to have a lot of concentration for the readings, to take care of the deadlines, persistence to move on until the end, I developed my reading and writing in English that is not my original language. All this besides the specificities of the course properly on post war painting. The course is very complete, on theory and practice, with great visual presentation for the texts for the videos of the classes and links. It was a great experience that I highly recommend

автор: Roberto B

May 17, 2017

Very interesting course I appeciate it very much. My only suggestion is: maibe will be nice to go more deeply in the materials used by the artists (not the supposed one) , with link to papers, scientific investigation, conservation treatment report and other useful information about on what is the actual knowledge on the painting materials and tecnique used by the painters of newyork school. That can be useful for people involved in conservation study, or for others involved in museums jobs.

автор: Jane C

Aug 17, 2018

This is a fabulous course, made even stronger by Corey's painting technique videos - a novel addition to an art history class! I'm just taking this class for fun but I've learned more in 8 weeks than in courses taken at university. The content, structure, and pacing of this class is marvelous. I look forward to seeing what else Mr. d'Augustine has to offer in the future. If nothing else, this class has made me want to spend a week at MoMa. Can't rate this class highly enough!

автор: katrina s

Jun 22, 2017

I am fond of the New York School poets so I really enjoyed learning about these postwar New York artists who were working at the same time. Many were active when I was living in NYC as a child. I loved getting an idea of how they worked and how the work changed throughout their lives. I did not do the studio part of the course which I am sure would have been great but I loved the videos, readings and links to the MOMA collections. Thank you so much for this course.

автор: Kate G

Jun 18, 2017

This course can be pricey if you are following along on the studio exercises, and have no art supplies at home already. That said, the course is very, very good in terms of technique process, better than the any 40k plus art school I ever attended. There is almost no teacher/student interaction except for the Q&A, so the interaction can leave something to be desired, but I think in terms of pure information, this course is incredible, clear, concise, and excellent.

автор: Ma. K C D C

Nov 20, 2017

Definitely my favorite course taken on coursera so far. It gives the learner a new perspective in appreciating abstract expressionist paintngs. It also tackles in depth the processes of the artists discussed in the course. The opportunity to make your own version of the works that were discussed gives the learners a new appreciation of the famous pieces. I am hoping to see more courses by MoMA similar to this one. WIll definitely enroll in more of these.

автор: KACIE L

Oct 17, 2019

I learned a lot from this course and I found it to be very interesting. I learned a lot by studying these artists and their different styles, techniques and the tools they would use. The studio work was fun too, trying to recreate the artists styles, it was different from the way I normally would create a painting. Corey is a great instructor and very knowledgeable. I would definitely recommend this course if you are interested in art and art history.