Chevron Left
Вернуться к In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

Отзывы учащихся о курсе In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting от партнера Музей современного искусства

4.9
звезд
Оценки: 1,059
Рецензии: 474

О курсе

Want to know how some of the 20th century’s most celebrated artists made abstract paintings? This course offers an in-depth, hands-on look at the materials, techniques, and thinking of seven New York School artists, including Willem de Kooning, Yayoi Kusama, Agnes Martin, Barnett Newman, Jackson Pollock, Ad Reinhardt, and Mark Rothko. Through studio demonstrations and gallery walkthroughs, you’ll form a deeper understanding of what a studio practice means and how ideas develop from close looking, and you’ll gain a sensitivity to the physical qualities of paint. Readings and other resources will round out your understanding, providing broader cultural, intellectual, and historical context about the decades after World War II, when these artists were active. The works of art you will explore in this course may also serve as points of departure to make your own abstract paintings. You may choose to participate in the studio exercises, for which you are invited to post images of your own paintings to the discussion boards, or you may choose to complete the course through its quizzes and written assessments only. Learners who wish to participate in the optional studio exercises may need to purchase art supplies. A list of suggested materials is included in the first module. Learning Objectives: Learn about the materials, techniques, and approaches of seven New York School artists who made abstract paintings. Trace the development of each artist’s work and studio practice in relation to broader cultural, intellectual, and historical contexts in the decades after World War II. Hone your visual analysis skills. Use each artist’s works as a point of departure for making your own abstract paintings....

Лучшие рецензии

DB

Jul 26, 2020

Beyond my expectations! Encouraged by in studio where I discovered I could be successful experimenting with all the different artists. The knowledge, insight, and fascinating experience was joyous!

CG

Feb 25, 2019

This is the best art class I have ever taken. It offers a perfect mix of studio art/painting techniques and art history. Instructor Corey D'Augustine is fantastic. Thoroughly enjoyed this course!

Фильтр по:

426–450 из 466 отзывов о курсе In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

автор: Ana G

Nov 13, 2017

Buenísimo.

автор: Lais D

Nov 06, 2017

Amazing!!!

автор: Bet

Oct 17, 2020

Loved it.

автор: Catherine A J

Jun 30, 2020

Loved it!

автор: Ines Ž

Jun 20, 2020

Splendid!

автор: Brenda M

Jun 04, 2020

Enjoyable

автор: KARLA J

Jan 19, 2020

excelente

автор: Iván M B L

Oct 10, 2017

Excelent!

автор: Amitava S

May 09, 2020

Enjoyed!

автор: Guilherme D

Dec 28, 2017

Amazing.

автор: Roberto B F

Aug 18, 2017

Awesome!

автор: Eva J R

Apr 24, 2017

great!!

автор: LOUAI A

Apr 25, 2020

thanks

автор: Povilas K

Sep 17, 2019

Super!

автор: BILAL A A

Aug 06, 2017

thanks

автор: Caroline G

Jul 02, 2018

loved

автор: Jing L

May 23, 2017

Thank

автор: Diane M

Jul 15, 2020

Until last week, I was extremely happy to be taking this course. Especially that it's online and available during these strange covid-19 times.

But I am experiencing another aspect of the course that's putting another light on taking it:

In the midst of my life tasks and responsibilities, and longing to simply get back to actually painting, all the many otherwise worthy Coursera homework assignments in the "In the Studio" course are becoming overwhelming to keep up with, or even to try. So I've mostly given up on doing the readings, and am right now just trying to watch as many of the videos as I can manage.

I'm trying to relax the tension I feel around the pink exclamation (!) mark that appears when I get an answer wrong on a test. And trying to just learn, and enjoy whatever I can manage to do in the course.

I have yet to actually do one of the painting exercises, which I thought would be great to learn from and the reason I signed up. I'm basically just trying to get off the computer so I can paint more, hopefully, with ideas and inspiration from Corey D'Augustine's instruction.

***I am wondering if all the artists we are learning about--Pollack, Milne and others--went through intensive academic instruction and testing, and whether they took intellectual learning of facts, and tests and grading as important, or even relevant to their work, other than as an intellectual restrictions to see beyond and go beyond.***

What I am suggesting is that you offer the choice of another way of going through the course, more experientially, without the intellectual demands and academic grading and punitive feedback; for artists and others who have genuine interest in the material. I'm sure Coursera is not aware of that as part of their art presentation, but it is. For anyone like myself, who did not have an easy time in school (and in liberal arts college and grad school programs), the grading and automated harsh feedback is unpleasant and counter to an artist's work and life. And it reawakens memories of how difficult a time I had in school.

I, like many other artists, used to think I must be lazy or unintelligent, and it's taken many years to realize I am intelligent and just need to be in and create an environment that suits my artistic style.

Academic punitiveness is not something that we should be having to deal with again as adults, and certainly not during these difficult covid-19 times. More spaciousness, choices and kindness are needed, in particular, around the Coursera testing feedback and homework.

I wonder if this academic conventional strictness is so ingrained in the culture that it might be invisible to those in academia?

Otherwise, it's a great course. And Corey D-Augustine is a great teacher.

I hope this response can be read and considered in future programming. Thank you very much for asking for feedback, and for this otherwise really excellent course.

автор: DIEGO F B G

Mar 25, 2019

Se aprende mucho en cuanto al arte abstracto y su implicación en la sociedad y la forma de transmitir los que se siente y lo que piensa. Muy buen material y metodología del profesor D'Agustine. Me gustaría que pudieran poner el curso en español al menos por los subtítulos. Gracias.

You learn a lot about abstract art and its involvement in society and how to transmit what you feel and what you think. Very good material and methodology of Professor D'Agustine. I would like you to be able to put the course in Spanish at least for the subtitles. Thank you.

автор: Mary-Jane

Apr 25, 2018

A very well put together course with great practical and theoretical information. I would have liked to see one or two of the women artists included such as Joan Mitchell and Helen Frankenthaler. I know it is difficult to include all the wonderful Abstract Expressionist artists, but my feeling is that it is worth increasing the length of the course to cater for these two artists. Alternatively, offer another Abstract Expressionist course - so have Part I (the current course) and Part II which follows on from Part I.

автор: Wil A

Nov 23, 2019

great course, learned alot, in general though the online aspect is very confusing when it comes to grades and there seems to be no one to talk to about things... just email and that isn't solving things. still don't know if i will get my certificate and things look wrong in my progress on the computer to what it was supposed to be... no one seems to connect me to someone that can answer questions and fix things... i am really perplexed and will get very upset eventually, but no one seems to take responsibility!

автор: David D

Jun 03, 2017

So much fun. I only wish I was ready at the time to stretch my own canvas, squeeze the tubes and start painting.

What really made this course was the difference it makes when a painting is described for you. It makes abstract art so much more enjoyable than it would otherwise be - at least for myself. Plus you have to say the 'teacher' was quite skilled in all the various techniques and exceptionally clear in his presentations. Bravo!

автор: Julie T

Sep 15, 2020

While the course was good, I would have liked to have had some feedback from the instructor on my essay and my art instead of just peer responses. It felt like it was not really a true course without this type of response. I signed up for the course for purely a self interest so it really did not matter. However, if I had wanted the certificate, I would have felt short changed. I did enjoy the videos and the class overall.

автор: Ethna H

Jun 04, 2020

I have no background in fine art or history of art nor am I an artist. I undertook this course because I have a passion for art and in particular a couple of the Abstract Expressionists. I thoroughly enjoyed the course and found the study format very easy to follow and the additional resources for extended reading very interesting.

Corey you have a great way of imparting knowledge.

Thank you

автор: Rose N

Oct 25, 2019

Interesting and engaging course content with evidently knowledgeable instructor. Thoroughly enjoyable optional practical exercises. A pity that the peer review of the final 'assessed' submission took a long time and did not provide much useful feedback; as there is obviously not a huge cohort, perhaps the instructor or an assistant would be a more appropriate/useful assessor.