Chevron Left
Вернуться к Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way от партнера Мюнхенский университет Людвига-Максимилиана (LMU)

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 492
Рецензии: 193

О курсе

Discover the mighty kingdom of Assyria, which came to be the world’s first great empire three thousand years ago. From the 9th to the 7th centuries BC, during the imperial phase of Assyria’s long history, modern day northern Iraq was the central region of a state reaching from the Mediterranean Sea to the Persian Gulf, and incorporating what is now Iraq, Syria, and Lebanon, as well as half of Israel, and wide parts of south-eastern Turkey, and Western Iran. In its geographical extent, this state was unprecedentedly large, and the distinct geography of the Middle East, with deserts and high mountain ranges, posed challenges to communication and cohesion. What were the mechanisms that kept the Empire running? This course explores the methods the Assyrian government employed to ensure unity and maintain loyalty across vast distances, using traditional as well as innovative strategies. Some of these imperial techniques have marked parallels in the ways modern multi-national corporations are operating, others will strike you as profoundly alien. This course focusses on how the Assyrians organised their empire by analysing key aspects, namely: · The CEO – the king, a religious, political and military leader, who is charged to govern by his master, the god Assur; · Home Office – the royal palace in the central region and the royal court that form the administrative centre of the state; · The Regional Managers – the governors and client-rulers to whom local power is delegated; · Human Resources – the Empire’s people are its most precious assets, its consumers and its key product, as the goal of the imperial project was to create “Assyrians”; an approach with lasting repercussions that still reverberate in the Middle East today; and finally · The Fruits of Empire – it takes a lot of effort, so what are the rewards? When we explore these topics we will contextualise them with information about the lives led by ordinary Assyrian families. Taking this course will provide you with an overview of the political, social, religious, and military history of the world’s first superpower. It will give you insight into the geography and climatic conditions of the Middle East and contribute to your understanding of the opportunities and challenges of that region. It will present you with a vision of the Middle East at a time when its political and religious structures were very different from today....

Лучшие рецензии

SS
15 янв. 2021 г.

This was my first MOOC and I fully enjoyed every aspect. The knowledge level of the instructors was evident as was their commitment to their students and the varied formats were consistently engaging.

LF
27 янв. 2021 г.

The variety of presentations of a vast amount of knowledge made it engaging. Dr. Radner herself was engaging! The course provided a deep look into a civilization that is a bedrock to the modern world.

Фильтр по:

76–100 из 192 отзывов о курсе Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way

автор: Lara

22 февр. 2021 г.

I loved this course and I loved the instructor! humorous and interesting, very easy to follow her lectures and comments.i wouldn't mind to take all classes she should offer, the best ever!

автор: Nikola W

17 февр. 2020 г.

Nice introduction to the Assyrian history. Due to different types of videos (interviews and lectures), quizes, and an interesting selection of topics, the course offers fun while learning.

автор: Mardohar B B S

22 июня 2020 г.

Other courses on ancient history sometimes stay as mere chronicles and not a message. This course is different. It gives a strong emphasis on how ancient ideas are never ancient at all.

автор: aigars i

15 дек. 2020 г.

It was a brilliant way if having a course. I've enjoyed every piece of it as it's way more interestingly and intuitively set up than many similar courses on the ancient world.

автор: Des C

26 июня 2020 г.

As others have written a very good course good set of lecturers. One of the more informative and well presented of the courses on offer here and a good start to farther study.

автор: Emilio L A

22 февр. 2020 г.

Excellent course! Congratulations for your lectures, Mrs. Radner. Have you thought of doing another course about the extraordinary Assyrian art? I would be very interested!

автор: John D

8 июля 2018 г.

Professor Radner, her staff, and the expert faculty that she had speak provided an amazing journey into a long gone government, society, and culture and made it seem alive.

автор: Vicente A A

19 мар. 2020 г.

Interesting, relevant, well organised, smartly discussed and thoroughly enjoyed. I feel that I have learned quite a few things and moreover, that I want to learn more.

автор: Hardeman B

9 окт. 2018 г.

A great course that I enjoyed ! It expanded my knowledge of Assyrian history and allowed me to develop a interest for ancient Assyrian history. I highly recommend it!

автор: Virginia M

14 мая 2019 г.

An excellent course. Congratulations to Professor Radner and her excellent staff. They all made our learning both profitable and thoroughly enjoyable. That you all!

автор: José M P Z

5 июня 2020 г.

Splendid introductory course. I have enjoyed and learned a lot. It has motivated me to continue researching and studying about the Assyrian Empire. Congratulations.

автор: Jummai

4 янв. 2020 г.

Interesting, entertaining course that has increased my interest in history especially the empires that arose around the world after the fall of the Assyrian Empire.

автор: Eduardo L P

27 дек. 2019 г.

Really enjoyed it - excelent format with lectures and a series of "asides" that provide context and texture.

Hope to see one course on the ancient mesopotamian city!

автор: Andrew S

15 авг. 2020 г.

Honestly the best online course I've taken so far. The variety of formats used for the videos was very effective and engaging. Great professor also. Thank you!

автор: Byron N

18 июня 2020 г.

Thanks to Dr. Radner who has put together an amazing course on the Neo-Assyrian Empire. Her enthusiasm is contagious . I feel I learned a lot in the course.

автор: Miloš B

11 мар. 2019 г.

This course was so much fun. Thanks to all the good people that made it possible for us to not only attend but also enjoy it. Prof. Karen is a real treasure.

автор: David I

17 июля 2020 г.

An amazing course that provides a broad overview of an empire but also intimate detail of everyday life of the ancient Assyrian people. Highly recommended!

автор: Sompairac T

12 июля 2020 г.

Very interesting giving a full picture of a civilization that is not very well known and which invented basic concepts that survived till now.

автор: Fan C

5 дек. 2018 г.

I have watched the module 1, and I have gotten an impressive view to the Assyrian Empire through Professor Karan and her wonderful lectures

автор: Tracey G

15 февр. 2021 г.

Fantastic course. Pitched perfect to someone who had no previous knowledge of the Assyrian empire. Iam hooked and now want to know more!!

автор: Vadim

6 февр. 2021 г.

Very interesting topic. Nicely presented. I really liked meaningful and frequent quizzes which keep one engaged in the course. Thank you!

автор: Zachary P S

30 нояб. 2020 г.

I really enjoyed how the course material was layered adding to the understanding and knowledge retention of the topics and concepts.

автор: Rob M

14 мая 2018 г.

An excellent course. If you have an interest in the Ancient World, politics or sociology, then this is a definite course for you.

автор: Keith P

24 июля 2020 г.

The breadth of the course and the presentation made this a fascinating introduction to a subject that I knew nothing about.

автор: Jen P

6 нояб. 2019 г.

Really good structure with some testing quizzes; excellent lecturers; interesting material well-explained and presented.