Chevron Left
Вернуться к Music Business Foundations

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Music Business Foundations от партнера Музыкальный колледж Беркли

4.9
звезд
Оценки: 2,245
Рецензии: 592

О курсе

This course has been developed to provide students with the latest instruction on the best way for creators, consumers, and facilitators to navigate the resurgence of one of the world’s most exciting industries: the music business. Three things are clear about today’s music industry: The consumption of music is expanding at the greatest rate in history and from the most portals ever imagined, the cost of producing music is decreasing, and the number of artists creating and seeking to expose their work and develop careers through the Internet has increased dramatically. Whether you’re a music creator, consumer, or facilitator of this process, you’ll want to understand the history, underpinnings, and basics of the music business. Course author John Kellogg—administrator, educator, entertainment lawyer, performer, and radio and television personality—offers students the opportunity to learn the fundamental principles of the developing new music business, for now and into the future. What you'll learn: -- The basic history of the music industry and today's business trends -- How recording agreements are formulated -- The basics of copyright law as it pertains to the music business -- The role of agents, managers, attorneys, and specific business entities...

Лучшие рецензии

BD
22 окт. 2017 г.

This course was very useful and important to me, I plan on venturing in the music world very soon and knowing/ equipping myself with all of these will come in pretty handy for me. Thank you immensely.

DK
21 февр. 2016 г.

I advise this great course to everybody who wants to learn more about music industry in general, music business principles and tricks, including all types of agreements and principal actors.

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 579 отзывов о курсе Music Business Foundations

автор: Chinazo O

4 авг. 2017 г.

This is an amazing course. Learned so much more than I thought I could from such a quick course. Mr. Kellogg is truly gifted at relaying what could be confusing and difficult information in a way easy to understand and digest. Plus he's really inspiring. I wasn't planning on writing a review but this course merited a glowing review. I am not a business minded person and must admit I was only half looking forward to this course. But from the first lesson I knew starting was a great decision. Great stuff!

автор: András D

28 февр. 2021 г.

I'm really grateful that there are such a great resource available online from Berklee.

The instructor has a great voice and it is a pleasure to listen to stories that he tells about.

The training material is huge and really gives the foundation to understanding the music business.

The pace of the lessons are slow for my brain and unfortunately I'm always lacking time so I had put it up to 1.25* speed almost all the time which means that I could not enjoy the nice voice of the instructor anymore :D.

автор: Barbara F

18 мар. 2016 г.

I loved this course! I learned so much about the music business, more than I learned as being a part of it as an artist roughly about the same time that Mr. Kellogg was working as an artist. Things have changed a lot and this course made me think about how it might change even more in the future and if there might be a place for an "older doll" like me. John Kellogg is a great teacher. He sited real experiences, and that's what made things stick for me. Thank you Coursera for a great course!

автор: PORKFOOT a T O M B

6 июня 2017 г.

The was my first online course. I have taken a music business class at a community college once before. I found this instructor to be much enlightening and motivating, plus light years more informed and experienced. This isn't my last class from Coursera and I have been recommending to my friends. Is great for those older folks who haven't the time to go back to college and is wonderful for the parents who have those little wonderkin.

автор: Indroneil K

4 окт. 2020 г.

A really good course. Extremely helpful and full of practical knowledge that I needed as an artist who's starting out. Since I'm not American, I can't use all the legal information as it is. Which is why for me it was not as useful as I thought it would be. But I didn't think I should give it a low rating just because of that. I feel it's tailored to an American student and exceptionally well designed for that.

автор: Amanda W

27 окт. 2017 г.

A very thorough and insightful course. I feel much more confident in terms of the legal aspects involved in the music industry. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to learn more about the legal side of the business (contracts, copyrights, digital streaming, etc). Great for artists, songwriters, producers, independent companies/labels, managers, and creators within this increasingly competitive industry.

автор: Bernadette B H

9 мая 2021 г.

Calling all artists and future artists, writers, musicians, managers, booking agents, parents of artists, etc. this course is for you! I choose this course to acquire some basic knowledge of the music industry and to be able to advise my middle schoolers about the field. Mr. Kellogg thank you for an excellent course. It left me in a state of wow and inspired. I can't wait to share my new knowledge.

автор: Jessica C

12 авг. 2020 г.

I am so glad I convinced myself to take this course! I've always had an interest in the business aspect of the Music Industry but never had the chance to take any classes related to it while working on my undergrad since my major was in a different field altogether. If you have any interest at all in this subject I highly recommend taking the course! John P. Kellogg is a fantastic instructor!!! I

автор: Robert D

26 авг. 2021 г.

This course is a very valuable introduction to the basics of what is involved in music business. While I do believe there is a need to update and cover some of the new technologies , the essential elements of what music business are covered very well. This is an introductory course, and will pique your interest to pursue music business as a career. Thank you Professor Kellogg !

автор: Barbara " A W

23 февр. 2020 г.

Excellent course, great material especially regarding the digital age, well presented by Mr. Kellog. Loved his interesting stories regarding his experiences in the 70s and 80s! makes me definately want to continue to learn about these subjects. As a musician entering a year where I will be bringing out new music, I needed to know many of the issues which are presented here.

автор: Victor L P

2 нояб. 2020 г.

I have really found great foundations to create a healthy and profitable musical career. I always dreamed of Berklee and now that I know I know, it is the great institution I envisioned.

Yo realmente he encontrado grandes fundamentos para crear una carrera musical sana y proechosa. Siempre soñé en Berklee y ahora que lo gice sé, que es la gran institución que imaginaba.

автор: Ray W

16 авг. 2018 г.

Really love professor Kellogg's course.Hes very insightful since he was in the business as a musician and now music lawyer.thanks for teaching me alot about the new industry.Like the professor I am old school so I came here to learn alot about how it works now.If you want work in the music industry this is a great gateway course to the music business you will learn alot

автор: MAYKON D S E S

12 дек. 2015 г.

I'm very happy with the content from this course. It is exactly what I was looking for in terms of information about music business. Really interesting and the professor speaks in a very calm and nice way to make our life better to understand the lesson and everything that is said, specially for me that I'm not an English native-speaker. Great job! Well done!

автор: Kelly N

22 янв. 2016 г.

I liked this course - very informative. The instructor telling industry stories helped with remembering details and none of the videos were too long. It does get a tad complicated as it gets into commissions and copyright details, but never overwhelming.

I bought the instructors book but only used it once. Still, it's a good reference for the future.

автор: Iliana P

16 сент. 2017 г.

Mr. Kellogg is one of the best teachers I've had, even for online learning!

He explains everything he says and he gives examples that apply to all so that makes the course really interesting, not very easy for someone that is not familiar with the music business, but with studying and watching carefully the videos, someone can learn a lot!

автор: Serah J

28 окт. 2016 г.

I enjoyed the course however, I do have some feedback - watching so many videos just to get the underlying information was not only a lengthy but also boring. It would be great it we could have received some material to read and a few less videos. A few more examples at each stage also would help to emphasise certain points more clearly.

автор: Anna-Maria W

6 нояб. 2017 г.

Very informative and very helpful explanations and examples given! I really enjoyed this course, and it was perfect for me next to my full-time study in International Business and Management Studies as an interdisciplinary course to get a first overview in music/entertainment business, as I aim for an internship in this branch next year.

автор: Diana

4 янв. 2018 г.

Amazing learning time spent with the powerful and magnetic professor Kelogg! The material was put together in a consistent, analytical way, it is easy to take notes and remember information on the go. The valuable personal examples combined with the soft humor of the professor really makes the materials easy to absorb. Go for it! :)

автор: 张瑾

6 мар. 2020 г.

Because of the Internet issue, I made great difficuly in learning this lesson. Almost no video can be played from head to toe fluently and I tried to fix it by changing the setting of computer but it seems worse. However, this is a good and systematic foundation course for those who want to know how an advaced music industry work.

автор: LeAttol ( E L

25 окт. 2017 г.

At first I wondered about the teacher's Modus Operandi (He seemed Un-Natural); But John Kellog has proven to Be decisive and giving clear direction. That is good and I am taking a great deal from this course. It is especially good because I intend to release Music to the open market. Thanks John - Le Attol / Robert Ellis Langford

автор: Ben P

17 окт. 2018 г.

An extremely insightful course that is presented in an easily digestible way. It has lots of great extra articles and videos for review and really gave me a much more rounded understanding of the music business. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for insight on things like contracts, managers, labels, copyrights.

автор: Jennifer M

31 окт. 2015 г.

The presenter is fabulous! He is very clear and repeats important information to help you remember things well. I had to retake a few of the quizzes twice because they were challenging, but it helped me notice when I hadn't learned something well enough and had to go back and review it. I learned SO MUCH!!! Thank you!!!

автор: Kris S

22 июня 2018 г.

Great course! Great information. Even though it's been a couple years, it all still applies very dramatically to today. The initial overview of the music business shows how it's changed and grown over time, so you really see how what you're learning fits into the world right this moment. Thank you for an incredible course!

автор: Mateus M R

25 июня 2017 г.

An excellent study of the music business which goes beyond the "birds-eye" view and tackles in-depth analysis of the history of the industry and the concrete realities of the agents and musicians involved. This course should be mandatory for anyone who has the ambition of entering into any position on the music business.

автор: Justin K

21 февр. 2016 г.

Excellent overview of the music business. The course had a "goldilocks" quality to it...not too much information so as to overwhelm a beginner but just enough examples and facts to whet the appetite of those looking to dig deeper or become better prepared and more knowledgeable about their business as an artist!