Chevron Left
Вернуться к Bayesian Statistics: Techniques and Models

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Bayesian Statistics: Techniques and Models от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Санта-Крузе

4.8
Оценки: 248
Рецензии: 69

О курсе

This is the second of a two-course sequence introducing the fundamentals of Bayesian statistics. It builds on the course Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis, which introduces Bayesian methods through use of simple conjugate models. Real-world data often require more sophisticated models to reach realistic conclusions. This course aims to expand our “Bayesian toolbox” with more general models, and computational techniques to fit them. In particular, we will introduce Markov chain Monte Carlo (MCMC) methods, which allow sampling from posterior distributions that have no analytical solution. We will use the open-source, freely available software R (some experience is assumed, e.g., completing the previous course in R) and JAGS (no experience required). We will learn how to construct, fit, assess, and compare Bayesian statistical models to answer scientific questions involving continuous, binary, and count data. This course combines lecture videos, computer demonstrations, readings, exercises, and discussion boards to create an active learning experience. The lectures provide some of the basic mathematical development, explanations of the statistical modeling process, and a few basic modeling techniques commonly used by statisticians. Computer demonstrations provide concrete, practical walkthroughs. Completion of this course will give you access to a wide range of Bayesian analytical tools, customizable to your data....

Лучшие рецензии

JH

Nov 01, 2017

This course is excellent! The material is very very interesting, the videos are of high quality and the quizzes and project really helps you getting it together. I really enjoyed it!!!

B

Jul 08, 2018

This is a great course for an introduction to Bayesian Statistics class. Prior knowledge of the use of R can be very helpful. Thanks for such a wonderful course!!!

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 68 отзывов о курсе Bayesian Statistics: Techniques and Models

автор: Brian K

Apr 01, 2019

Excellent course! This covered a large amount of material, but it was well organized, with a good number of problems to solve. Matthew Heiner does an excellent job with the lectures and explains things well. Coming from the frequentist worldview, I found this course to be a definite challenge, but well worth the time.

автор: Jonathan

Jan 01, 2019

Just finishing this class now......it is very good. Much better than the first one in this series. The videos and examples are better explained, and you leave with a solid understanding of Bayesian Analysis. When I signed up for this class I really wanted to know how I could use tools like MCMC to perform real analysis, and I feel like I got what I signed up for. Well done!

автор: Arnaud D

Dec 08, 2018

Really interesting course. The coding session are useful and can be use cases for lots of various situations.

автор: Hugo R C R

Jun 19, 2018

Brilliant course! Very well organized and with useful study cases.Suggestion: It would be nice to have the same examples in Python using, e.g. Stan or PyMC.

автор: Seema K

Nov 17, 2019

One of the best designed courses. The material and videos are very precise and informative. The quiz questions and assignment are very enjoyable. Thank you !

автор: Georgy M

Apr 01, 2019

The second course of the great series. The knowledge and skills gained in this course allow to actually do statistical analysis on scientific data. The course is very clear, systematic and well presented. Thank you!

автор: zhen w

Jul 28, 2017

really like the content.

the R material in this actually changes my view towards R, so thanks.

автор: Eugene B

Jun 26, 2019

The course provided a lot of very helpful tools. However, I believe it was a bit too fast paced. Furthermore, there were certain topics which were not explained clearly -- for example, the discussion of the Metropolis-Hastings Algorithm and Gibbs Sampling was extremely confusing.

автор: Yahia E G

Jun 06, 2019

Really good intermediate introduction to bayesian analysis. I really liked how hands-on the course is. The last project was very useful as one will likely to face challenges and try to solve them especially if you use a rich dataset.

автор: Chiu W K

Jul 29, 2017

Informative but the pace is slow

автор: Sandra M

May 14, 2018

Good course, but the peer review process for the Capstone project in Week 5 is broken. Based on submissions to the course Forum in which multiple students have submitted their work on time but not received a grade due to lack of peer reviewers, this has been going on .

автор: Sathish R

May 21, 2018

This course is taught in a way that not useful for real world applications.

автор: Jiasun

Jul 20, 2019

Not enough depth.

автор: Juan C

Jan 29, 2019

Muy recomendable para los investigadores y profesionales que quieren desarrollar productos y procesos nuevos.

автор: Stephen H

Mar 18, 2019

Fairly good introduction to basic Bayesian statistical models and JAGS, the package to fit those models.

автор: Nikola M

Apr 07, 2019

one of best stats courses I had

автор: Chen N

Apr 08, 2019

Amazing, super cool!

автор: Wangtx

Dec 11, 2018

Great materials and well organized lecture structure. But in the meanwhile, it requires quite a lot preliminary knowledge.

автор: Jonathan H

Nov 01, 2017

This course is excellent! The material is very very interesting, the videos are of high quality and the quizzes and project really helps you getting it together. I really enjoyed it!!!

автор: Vlad V

Mar 21, 2018

Very good course giving a good practical kickoff to a very interesting and exciting topic of Bayesian statistics.

автор: Cooper O

Aug 02, 2017

This course was fantastic. It combined detailed learning materials with frequent and comprehensive assessments. While managing to cover everything from the basics of MCMC through to the use of a number of different bayesian models. My only issue with the course was that the learning materials encouraged copy-pasting code and often didn't properly explain the choice of priors and other details about the chosen models.

автор: Юрий Г

Aug 28, 2017

Excellent course, with deep explanation of difficult topics in Bayesian statistics and Marcov chain applications. Good quizzes and enough time to complete them. Recommend to all interested in probability theory.

автор: Jerry L

Jul 05, 2017

This course fills an essential gap in learning Bayesian statistics, and provides concrete assistance in moving from theory to actual model writing in R and jags. Worth every penny, and then some more. However, the course requires a fairly high level of comfort with both general Bayesian statistics and the R language. I think it would benefit from a brief introductory lecture on jags syntax, as well as some additional worked problem examples.

автор: Sergio M

Jun 06, 2018

Excelente curso. Da una introducción a los métodos de MCMC de una forma bastante sencilla y fe acompaña en problemas de regresión utilizando JAGS. Recomiendo este curso a todo aquel que tenga nociones de Estadística Bayesiana, pero que tenga pendiente los métodos avanzados para muestrear la posteriori de los parámetros.

автор: Cameron K

Jun 07, 2017

An excellent introduction to the rjags package in R and using it to perform Bayesian analysis. The applied learning is supported by lessons in Bayesian theory, however, most of the learning is focussed on fitting, assessing and interpreting Bayesian models using rjags and the rjags language. The course is accessible if you have a passing familiarity with statistics and R. I have used traditional, frequentist statistical techniques for five years and I had no trouble completing this course without having done any Introduction to Bayesian Theory course - just jump right in!