Chevron Left
Вернуться к Mind Control: Managing Your Mental Health During COVID-19

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Mind Control: Managing Your Mental Health During COVID-19 от партнера Торонтский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 8,295
Рецензии: 2,438

О курсе

Never in the history of humanity have so many people been feeling intense anxiety related to COVID-19 and the world it will leave in its wake. The intent of this course is to give you a deeper understanding of the anxiety reaction as it relates to various aspects of our current life, ranging from our consumption of news to the way we talk to our children about this. I will also give you clear strategies for managing and, in fact, turning off the anxiety response at least for short periods. My sincere hope is that you will leave this course with a better understanding of how your brain reacts to crises, along with some powerful tools for managing it before it manages you. In this course we will cover: 1.1 Introduction and Overview 1.2 Understanding the Anxiety Response 1.3 The Necessity of Strategies to Manage Anxiety 1.4 Achieving Relaxation: A Skill We All Need to Learn Now 2.1 Why Watching the News is Addicting and How to Manage Your Consumption 2.2 The Critical Art of Mental Distraction to Crowd Out Stressors 2.3 How We Think About Physical Distancing and Explaining it to Our Children 3.1 The Effects of Isolation 3.2 Some Strategies to Make Isolation More Tolerable 3.3 The Importance of Social Connection in a Physical Distancing World 4.1 The Need to Guard Against Depression: The Importance of Control 4.2 Bring it Together: Practice Makes Proficient 4.3 Invitation to Suggest Additional Videos...

Лучшие рецензии

VS

19 июля 2020 г.

The course is very insightful. The topics were carefully and simply taught by Prof. Joordens. It's easy to understand and has helped a lot in understanding how our minds work esp during this pandemic.

AM

17 июля 2020 г.

So grateful that a course like this exists. I found the information that was presented easy to understand and in such a way that small changes to my daily routine seem manageable. Thank you very much!

Фильтр по:

76–100 из 2,450 отзывов о курсе Mind Control: Managing Your Mental Health During COVID-19

автор: Sundar B P

26 июня 2020 г.

This really is a great course, guides you subtly through societal demographics, factors that influence you, overthinking, holding on to singular thoughts which negatively increase anxiousness due to over consumption of information and how to deal with these things by counter acting, balancing and teaching ourselves to practice mental and physical relaxation techniques also by distracting thoughts are the key features and the main aim of this course, it doesn't only help you through times like these but also in regular day to day life post the current scenario (physical isolation from social beings due to Corona Virus).

автор: Giovanna B B

12 авг. 2020 г.

O curso Mind Control: Managing Your Mental Health During COVID-19 é incrível. Ele ressalta aspectos extremamente importantes sobre o auto conhecimento, sobre as influências externas vinda de diversas fontes, os impactos de manter um rotina saudável , de entender o que está acontecendo e principalmente do papel fundamental de se divertir e experimentar coisas que lhe tragam prazer, pensando sempre em contornar a situação extremamente atípica que estamos vivenciando. Realmente consegui tirar lições extremamente valiosas e saiu desse curso com a sensação de tranquilidade e um olhar mais empático comigo mesma. Obrigada.

автор: Tang H Y A

26 сент. 2020 г.

The lectures provide very practical tips to help us manage the psychological state in the health pandemic of the century!

I like the Professor's friendly disposition used in his videos. Instead of speaking with us like a formal authority to students, his tone and facial expressions certainly show that he genuinely cares for all of us. ;)

A Professor who truly practises what he preaches about building social connections which are so vital during this looming mental health epidemic that experts have been talking about. Go for this course; you will not regret learning useful skills that can benefit us for life! :)

автор: Aakansha S

23 июня 2020 г.

During this pandemic, most of the people are suffering from the psychological issues or may be some kind of depression. This lecture on "Mind Control: Managing your mental health during COVID-19" can help a lot to identify your actual issues and there are many ways which are described here so that we can also find some kind of escape to deal with this. There are so many interesting ways such as painting, singing, dancing and many more to indulge your mind into different kind of activities so that we can take care of our mental health because mind is also the art of our body and also needed to treat well.

автор: LEANDRO J A

20 нояб. 2021 г.

The opportunity of learning this time of pandemic is something worth to keep and be shared to others. May this platform be continually blessed and prosper for the community you are serving and the change that comes with it. Thank you very much. To Prof. Joordens thanks for the great time and compassionate way of giving yourself to others. To the Univ. of Toronto what your institution imparted makes a big difference, than you for your generosity. And to Coursera, you are a platform whom should be recognized. Your dedication to educate the greater community is an amazing work. Keep it up and more power.

автор: Chris L

30 авг. 2021 г.

I knew, before I started this course, that I will learn a lot of valuable and practical knowledge here. But now.... I'm shocked that how come this is not even a mandatory course in life.

I wish I had this knowledge and tools back in my high school days. It will definitely save the sanity of me, my friends and my family for countless times.

Starting the very first sentence in the first video, professor Joordens's calm and understanding way of speech was very soothing. All the examples used in the course was very clear and easy to follow/relate.

Thank you for offering this helpful course on Coursera!

автор: Barbara J

3 июля 2020 г.

Excellent course! From this course I am taking away a lot of helpful information and points how to better deal with the anxiety COVUD-19 has brought into my life and the life of everyone around me. It made me understand better why I/others feel so extremely stressed and what options there are to deal with the situation in order to stay healthy. Steve even opened my eyes that I/everyone can get something positive out of this extrem situation. Thank you! What an excellent class and teacher! I can definitely recommend this course and will continue using COURSERA for my personal growth. Thank you!

автор: Esther B

22 нояб. 2020 г.

This course was well presented and very interesting. The presenter was excellent. I have learned a lot and it helped me to see the every day things in a different light. Staying at home is not about hiding but helping to fight the virus and protecting others. Phoning other people is not a waste of time but you are helping yourself too when you reach out to others. Learning to relax and give structure to your days is very important. I really enjoyed the course and looking forward to doing another one. It keeps you brain stimulated and broadens your knowledge. Thank you very much.

автор: Mina N

22 мая 2022 г.

Prof. Steve Joordens is one of the best people on earth! His comforting voice and his lectures really touched my mind. I should have taken this course much earlier though. In the biginning phase of Covid pandemic, we were really scared. Schools and gyms, work places, restaurants and shops, everything was closed and we were anxious all the time. Now it's much better compared to that time. But his lectures are worth taking! It taught me how to react to anxieties, how to deal with people who need help, what you should have in mind when you are the leader of a bunch of people.

автор: Srimedha R S

8 сент. 2020 г.

The course was structured very well. The videos had the right amount of content - they were neither overwhelming nor underwhelming. Complex concepts are explained in a simple manner and Psychology is brought into the picture again and again. This lends depth to the content and the learner feels like they're truly getting something out of the course. The knowledge gained is applicable to real life and can be done in a few simple steps and this is perhaps the biggest plus point. All in all, it was an extremely interesting few hours and I'd definitely tune in if there's more!

автор: Mimi G

14 июня 2020 г.

I found this course to be very helpful with respect to acknowledging what one may to feeling during this pandemic, to the whys one may be feeling the way they are to how one can can gain some feelings of control through simple specific daily actions. As the parent of a teenager heading off to university studies this September, I really appreciated the concise delivery of relevant material that is easily explained to others (ie. that teenager). I found this course, the manner it was delivered and the take aways very positive, helpful and comforting. Thank you Professor!

автор: Ma. C M S

24 сент. 2020 г.

I am so glad to take up this course. This is very much relevant in our present situation and also this will stay with me all along since these concepts and practices are also applicable in dealing with other factors causing us anxiety, not just this ongoing pandemic. Professor Steve Joordens effectively shared with us his knowledge and delivered a comprehensive understanding on how our mind works and shared us how we can control negative thoughts. This is very much helpful in many ways. Thank you Professor Joordens, University of Toronto, and the whole Coursera Team.

автор: Tong L F

23 окт. 2020 г.

The reason I was drawn to take this course was to gain insights on what the world of mental health was doing differently in this pandemic. While what was presented were not something too different from what I've known due to my profession, I still learned a thing or two. I'd recommend this course to those who are currently feeling some form of anxiety. This course... or I'd like to say, these self-help videos gives you some practical ways you could apply and manage anxiety. Professor Joordens's videos, in my humble opinion, may extend some calmness to live.

автор: Teresa G

10 нояб. 2021 г.

This was an amazing course. Dr. Joordens presentation was excellent. I feel like i've been in his classroom and have learned so much. It is course which does not only apply during the COVID-19 but during difficult times of anxiety, stress and the lack of healthy social interaction, especially for someone who is alone, going through challenges in life and minimized social intereaction due to loss of family and moving to an area where it has not been the right choice. I hope that Dr. Joordens will have more courses like this. Thank you so much!

автор: Sabina G

22 апр. 2021 г.

A course really worth attending! Professor Joordens has a way of bringing the content that is so incredibly pleasant; his calm, clarity and amiable attitude, coupled with the uncomplicated use of technology, give the course the feel of a private session with him. His wealth of knowledge and experience and the use of a language that is never redundant or empty (I think I have never heard so few filler words as in Prof Joordens' lectures) make this course an excellent experience that leaves a mark and a lot of usable content. Highly recommended!!

автор: Supta A

14 сент. 2020 г.

Enrolling on this course was the best thing I did in this time. It helped me learn the ways we can manage our anxiety. This course also taught me how important it is to take care of our mental health and how we can do that simply by focusing on little but important things and doing our everyday habitual chores more purposefully. The instructor was just Amazing, Fantastic, Great!!! If I could, I would give him more than 5 stars for his wonderful effort to make this course so enjoyable as well as informative in a way that everybody can remember.

автор: Daniela V R

21 сент. 2020 г.

This course really helped me understand feelings and behaviors that have arisen in me and those close to me in the wake of the pandemic. It has also given me ideas and tools to control the anxiety that generates so much uncertainty, without a doubt isolating myself was not helping me so I have chosen to strengthen my friendships virtually and from a distance, but without a doubt the power of the feel identified and in society.

Tanks Steve

P.D. I keep practicing and I am more and more aware of when I need to regain my state of relaxation

автор: Mikhaella J

23 сент. 2020 г.

I really like this short course because it is something that most of us needed during these times. What I like most about the topic is that it truly helps me in determining and managing what triggers my mental problems. One way to manage our mental health is by teaching our mind and body how to relax and what relaxation feels like; hence the guided relaxation. Trying out the guided relatxation activity really puts my body into ease and I might try to make it a habit along the way to lessen my anxiety even after this pandemic.

автор: Dexter d L

9 апр. 2021 г.

Thank you for this wonderful insight in managing our mental health. The topics are interesting and are worthy to apply in these trying times. I have learned a lot and will definitely use them. Once again kudos to you and your team for making this free course, these are definitely hard times we are facing and seeing courses like these makes you wanna think thay there are people out there that are willing to help without expecting anything in return (except of course your wellness). More power and God bless.

автор: Nolleen L G

19 нояб. 2020 г.

This course, Mind Control, is very helpful and informative. It helps me in beginning my Coursera journey. And it helps me in knowing more about Psychology. Filled with practical tips and suggestions that can be applied in my everyday life during pandemic. Looking forward to a course by the same professor in dealing with depression because it is already being experienced by many at least here in my country, the Philippines. Thank you so much and continue in educating people about mental health and its care.

автор: Lizy.J

3 авг. 2020 г.

Mind control: managing your mental health during COVID 19 ,was an absolutely fantastic course. Wow! I did the entire course in the 3hours duration as i was eager to learn all at once, professor. The course was eventy paced and easy to understand. I loved the guided relaxation and have been practicing it severals time a day and seeing immediate benefits this was my every first course by course. Earned I am inspired to take more courses and especially ones though by this professor,thank u so much.

автор: SAIMA E

28 июня 2020 г.

This course is really very informative and practical in nature. I am really impressed by Professor Steve Joordens style of teaching. The course is very beneficial in all respects, For me as well for my family and others related to me. Please send me more list of professor Steves Joordens courses in Coursera. I want to learn more from him and practice it in life.

He is an excellent teacher.

Thank you professor Steves for sharing your knowledge with us.

Best Wishes and Kind Regards

Saima Ehsan

автор: ISADORA S S

16 апр. 2021 г.

Curso excelente!! Amei, sou profissional da saúde no BRASIL e a ansiedade é algo que vem me acompanhando a alguns meses, esse curso me ajudou muito, muito obrigada professor por disponibilizar do seu tempo para compartilhar conhecimento conosco. | Excellent course!! I loved it, I am a health professnal in BRAZIL and anxiety is something that has been with me for a few months, this course helped me a lot, thank you teacher for taking the time to share knowledge with us. (Google translator)

автор: MIRIELA C

23 мар. 2021 г.

I enjoyed the pace and the way it was explained. I am always looking for information on how to not only help myself, but also share with others what I learn and what helps me. This course is one of the best ones I have seen. The only thing I could not access was the e-mail and other information of the professor to ask questions because it was blocked by his video speaking, but I hope to be able to get the information as I search the course again to look for things I may have missed.

автор: Lerato M

26 июня 2020 г.

this was a very helpful and skill asserting course that assisted me in being able to deal with the anxiety and depression caused by the pandemic , it really opened up ways to ensure i be able to manage isolation as well as helping those who are lonely and not social connected ..the idea is to connect, re-invest and re connect with people socially dispite physical distancing we are facing and making better things of the free time we have in hand and also keeping healthier and better .