Chevron Left
Вернуться к Love as a Force for Social Justice

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Love as a Force for Social Justice от партнера Стэнфордский университет

4.6
Оценки: 130
Рецензии: 33

О курсе

The objectives of this course are: -To introduce participants to different concepts of love, to empower them to be conscious of the power of love and the possibility of practicing it in everyday life, and to highlight in particular the idea of love as a force for social justice. -To communicate a sense of personal strength and empowerment by actively learning from each other and beginning to define how participants can apply their learning in service to society. This course will explore the concept of agape love (compassion/kindness) as a force for social justice and action and as the inspiration for service and the application of knowledge to positive social change. Biological, psychological, religious, and social perspectives of love will be discussed, drawing on the expertise of people from a variety of disciplines. During the six-week course, the following topics will be raised and discussed: kinds of love/defining love; non-violent communication; love and the biology of the brain; love as a basic concept of religious and ethical beliefs (e.g., Judaism, Christianity, Islam, Buddhism, Gandhian); love applied in action, and poetic expressions of love as a social force. This curriculum aims to foster a sense of the importance of love as a key phenomenon in creating community, connection, and functional societies among humans. Course materials will draw from a variety of sources. One of the goals of the class is to provide participants with some knowledge of the literature of love, and readings for the course are listed in the outline of the course on the pages that follow....

Лучшие рецензии

HW

Feb 18, 2019

I really love this course, and it really teaches me to see people and the world with other perspectives.\n\nHope more meaningful and inspiring courses coming out.

KH

May 27, 2018

Love as a Force for Social Justice is a great course to open up your mind and open up possibilities to look at the World with a pair of new eyes :-)

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 33 отзывов о курсе Love as a Force for Social Justice

автор: haiyan w

Feb 18, 2019

I really love this course, and it really teaches me to see people and the world with other perspectives.

Hope more meaningful and inspiring courses coming out.

автор: Alida C

Aug 02, 2018

A great way to productively listen and understand other's views and opinions!

автор: Edij

Mar 27, 2018

A wonderful course. So many courses are overwhelmingly available now. To me this one is like a hidden treasure.

A treasure because mastering the lessons and skills taught in this course is sufficient, in my view, to fulfill whatever good purpose I may have in my life, whether to become a successful and happy career person, or to have a meaningful live.

Hidden because it is not in the most popular course list in MOOC survey, to the best of my knowledge.

Thank you to all who have made this course available.

автор: Nigel K

Feb 05, 2018

I've learnt so much about life and myself through this course-- and it's not even done yet, I wish I could rate it higher than 5 stars.

автор: Paulo R V P

Dec 07, 2017

Excellent course to develop skills to practice agape love.

автор: JOHN Q

Oct 02, 2017

Excellent and Relevant course. Thanks so much!

автор: DeAnna

Jan 09, 2018

Great fun and supplement to all public health, gender, women's studies, men's studies, history courses

автор: Ildeblete G M J

Jan 06, 2018

I'm like a lot this course, now I'm getting more learn for me and my thoughts. Thanks for all.

автор: Evelyn D K

Jan 15, 2018

Indeed a good course very well adapted to this plataform.

Unfortunally theres no much attendance and the schedule actitvities goes past due.

автор: Jonathan W

Mar 01, 2018

Very much enjoyed this course. It was well done with great further reading and other resources. Glad I took it.

автор: Emil

May 30, 2018

Done it

автор: 민지 김

Mar 01, 2018

Amazing course!

автор: Daithi M W

Mar 31, 2018

Very stimulating and interesting course. There's a big variety of different perspectives on the main topics. Also, I thought the assignments and extra reading were all very informative and thought-provoking.

автор: Paula G B

Jan 22, 2018

One of the most well prepared and relavant courses with direct application that I have taken.

автор: Trisha L

Jan 02, 2018

Informative and amazing it is a perfect class for life period! i wish i could have everyone take this class so perfect

автор: Clara T A

Mar 07, 2018

This is a really good course!

автор: Lauren d S

Mar 05, 2018

This course was really inspiring and life changing. I have learnt practical ways to express love in my every day life on a micro-level, but also about how my choices can make a different on a macro-level. Thank you!

автор: VARUN T

Apr 09, 2018

one of finest course i hve ever come across

автор: Donna S

Mar 28, 2018

Excellent course, and just what I needed!

автор: Leah G

Oct 21, 2017

I found this course to be very interesting, and I thought that the videos in particular, with people discussing love from all sorts of viewpoints (philosophical/religious, neuroscience, business, art and music, and so on) were really eye-opening. Writing the essays and reading my classmates' work was an equally interesting piece of the project, because being on the lookout for instances of agape love in my life as a subject for the next week's essay really made me more aware of how much love is all around us every day. I do want to mention to future students that the readings here may be a little long sometimes, but many of them were also extremely interesting, and overall I found it to be a really worthwhile use of my study time. This class is for everyone. We all spend so much of our education studying wars and violence and actions spurred by hatred- why not change our academic lens a bit and focus on studying love sometimes, too? I found it refreshing.

автор: Kiran H

May 27, 2018

Love as a Force for Social Justice is a great course to open up your mind and open up possibilities to look at the World with a pair of new eyes :-)

автор: Zakharenkov A P

Feb 26, 2018

its close to my own philosophy

and i want to learn something what can halp me do work on it

and i find a people oppinions about it

good crossover biologocal culural and sociological course

автор: Amy ( Q

Mar 05, 2018

A little difficult, but it worths learning.

автор: Adanid P

Apr 08, 2018

Interesting and rich content

автор: José C Z J

May 01, 2019

Inspiring!