Chevron Left
Вернуться к Leading for Equity, Diversity and Inclusion in Higher Education

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Leading for Equity, Diversity and Inclusion in Higher Education от партнера Мичиганский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 236
Рецензии: 74

О курсе

This course is open to professionals interested in learning more about leadership in higher education for a changing demographic or interested in developing their own leadership skills. The very idea that individuals can be taught to lead is not without its skeptics. Reasonable people, even some scholars in the field, point to the important traits, skills, and attributes that are observed in many visible leaders and contend that certain qualities necessary for effective leadership are not easily transmitted. To accept this premise and conclude that some people are born as natural leaders and others cannot be expected to lead at all is to make a mistake at the other end of the logical spectrum. We believe that leadership can be taught as long as it is concurrently nurtured, that most people possess a constellation of strengths around which they can construct their own leadership philosophy and approach, and that leadership development programming—if done well—can be transformative for organizers and participants. Course Level Objectives: Understand the historical narrative of institutions as well as institutional structures that have created instances of inclusion and exclusion in colleges and universities. Describe how transformational leadership is enacted for diversity, equity, and inclusion in a complex and contested environment. Compare legislative, governance, and public accountability and expectations in relation to contemporary issues in higher education. Analyze the strategic diversity planning process and documents of a selected institution. Recommend innovations and opportunities for transformational change at various levels of the ecological model using the strategic diversity planning process as a tool....

Лучшие рецензии

JS

3 янв. 2022 г.

This was a well-designed and delivered course. I learned so much about leading EDI initiatives and reflecting on my own thoughts about how to apply EDI strategies in my own unit at the college.

JM

30 нояб. 2020 г.

I really enjoyed the inclusion of the covering HBCUs during this course. That was an unexpected and welcomed area of content. This course was very inspiring and I learned so much!

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 75 отзывов о курсе Leading for Equity, Diversity and Inclusion in Higher Education

автор: Sarah V

16 сент. 2019 г.

Well organized and presents valuable information and thoughtful exercises on the subject of diversity, equity, and inclusion. Some of the lecture videos by Jon Burkhardt were very patronizing and included instances of biased language that seemed to have slipped under the radar. I would recommend this course but I would also urge the University to review the lecture videos and bring in an instructor of color who would not make such slips.

автор: Kenneth M

17 мая 2020 г.

The course was excellent! It is packed with eye-opening and useful information. The exercises were just right and the fifth star is reserved because it wasn't face-to-face assessment and instruction. Bravo!

автор: Oscar F L

17 авг. 2017 г.

Very interesting course and easy to follow. Sometimes a bit slow, since I suppose it's how the professor feels comfortable in front of the camera. Thanks for making this available to the world!

автор: Claudia G

9 февр. 2018 г.

It's a great course. Informative and very need for who wants to learn more about issues related to equity, diversity and inclusion and leadership in higher education.

автор: Sharon A M

3 апр. 2020 г.

Interesting course. The last two modules were the best.

автор: Azhar H

22 дек. 2020 г.

"I have seventeen plus years of experience taking training courses, therefore not easily impressed. Being in the academic world, I must say the course was excellent, one of the best I've experienced on a online MOOC format. I couldn't imagine him doing a better job of seamlessly walking students through a breadth of information in a remote environment. Professor did a fabulous job especially his explanation of Equaity, Diversity & Inclusion in the academic world"

автор: Diana s

19 авг. 2020 г.

Dr. Burkahardt performance in explaining the many complex factors, including providing great understanding of the pressing issues in Diversity, Equity and Equality in Educational institutions was outstanding. He explains with great passion.

The course it’s fantastic and it provides valuable tools to Development of Advocacy, leadership skills.

автор: Floreda M

30 июля 2020 г.

Although I have been involved with this type of work for many years now, there is always something new to learn, consider and grow from. My one and only recommendation is that you find a way to allow for more than just one presenter.

автор: Dr. L A P

7 июля 2020 г.

This course is definitely one that anyone can benefit from taking, even if you work in Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion. Continuing education is vital in the field of education and I appreciated learning from others around the world.

автор: Nur C

27 апр. 2021 г.

I Love this course so much, I can learn about higher education about equity diversity and inclusion. The amazing experience in this course that I can learn by free. thanks a lot, Coursera and Michigan University

автор: Emily F

14 июня 2022 г.

This course has lots of great tools and resources that will deepen your understanding of leadership through a DEI lens. The workload is very manageable and you can work at your own pace on your own time.

автор: Jo A S

4 янв. 2022 г.

This was a well-designed and delivered course. I learned so much about leading EDI initiatives and reflecting on my own thoughts about how to apply EDI strategies in my own unit at the college.

автор: Jackie M

30 нояб. 2020 г.

I really enjoyed the inclusion of the covering HBCUs during this course. That was an unexpected and welcomed area of content. This course was very inspiring and I learned so much!

автор: Gwendolyn E H

2 нояб. 2021 г.

I enjoyed the readings and videos. The information was engagaing. There was history included to help us understand how things have changed. Well done!

автор: Josephine J

18 апр. 2022 г.

I wish there was more information on tangible differences and ideas one could make or follow into higher education and access in higher ed.

автор: Marianne J

7 апр. 2021 г.

This course was highly supportive of processes I was familiar with but brought in a deeper way of thinking as well as new approaches.

автор: Richard F

2 дек. 2020 г.

Really liked this course. A lot of information that needs to be a focus for not only higher education but our country as a whole.

автор: Soraia M

26 окт. 2020 г.

It was a good course to analyze the situational environment of the educational institutes that i have been leading with

автор: Patricia M

17 мар. 2022 г.

This has been a very interesting and informative course. I learned a great deal and highly recommend it. Thank you.

автор: Mario L V

20 февр. 2022 г.

It was an outstanding experience learning from this course about Equity Diversity, and Inclusion in Higher Education.

автор: Maliheh R

13 апр. 2022 г.

One of the best courses I have ever taken. Excellent instructor, comprehensive content, important material covered.

автор: Deleted A

13 окт. 2020 г.

i love the content and the facilitator sharing. Wished we had more real time interaction and engagement though.

автор: Sandeep K

16 сент. 2020 г.

I highly recommend to professionals who are in the sector of Higher Education. The course is really insightful.

автор: Celia Z

11 нояб. 2021 г.

​The course is extremely informative. The materials are practical. Thank you for sharing.

автор: Ismael F

26 апр. 2022 г.

I really enjoyed my time on this training. I want to thank you for all that you all do.