Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to GIS Mapping

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to GIS Mapping от партнера Торонтский университет

4.9
звезд
Оценки: 1,716
Рецензии: 559

О курсе

Get started learning about the fascinating and useful world of geographic information systems (GIS)! In this first course of the specialization GIS, Mapping, and Spatial Analysis, you'll learn about what a GIS is, how to get started with the software yourself, how things we find in the real world can be represented on a map, how we record locations using coordinates, and how we can make a two-dimensional map from a three-dimensional Earth. In the course project, you will create your own GIS data by tracing geographic features from a satellite image for a location and theme of your choice. This course will give you a strong foundation in mapping and GIS that will give you the understanding you need to start working with GIS, and to succeed in the other courses in this specialization. This course is for anyone who wants to learn about mapping and GIS. You don't have to have any previous experience - just your curiosity! The course includes both practical software training and explanations of the concepts you need to know to make informed decisions as you start your journey to becoming a GIS analyst. You will need a Windows computer with ArcGIS Desktop installed. (software is not provided)...

Лучшие рецензии

AF

16 апр. 2020 г.

Don Boyes is one of the best instructors I have seen. Throughout the course, I never felt boring. So all credit goes to Don Boyes for making this course very interesting with his good sense of humor.

KS

1 авг. 2021 г.

This course is all about the introduction of GIS. It gives an insight of the GIS system especially the projection systems. Don Boyes made this course very easy and so entertaining. Thank you so much.

Фильтр по:

501–525 из 558 отзывов о курсе Introduction to GIS Mapping

автор: Marseld A

29 февр. 2020 г.

Best

автор: AJAI A K

11 окт. 2021 г.

Od

автор: Luis A S V

5 янв. 2021 г.

ok

автор: Deleted A

7 авг. 2020 г.

OK

автор: Himal B

12 окт. 2020 г.

I

автор: Konstantinos L

8 июня 2021 г.

I had taken GIS classes in my undergraduate studies, but I haven't had the theoritical background to interpret the procedures I was mechanically followed in order to finish my assignments. Now, with this course I can definitely understand the "WHY", behind every step I follow in order to complete my work.

Finally I have an overall view of projections (learning about geoid, ellipsoid) as well as matters concerning scale (ideal scale for digitization etc.) The tutor also is really understandable, methodic using humor in his lectures, exactly where he needs to make you "relax" before he goes on. I recommend it to those who want to learn the basic theoretical knowledge, before starting to get into the deep practical matters of GIS.

автор: Yean D

10 июня 2020 г.

Great Course. I've done few courses on Coursera. But till now, Don Boyes is the most friendly instructor. He explains everything from the very beginning so that anyone from any discipline can easily catch his lesson. Still I think it would be more helpful if he could provide some specific instruction shapefile, and serve the course like a guided project. I knew nothing about ArcGIS, so when he was showing volcanic map/elevation map and using some tools on that map, I was frustrated where to get these files, how to make it look like the same as the video.

автор: Victor M E R

28 мая 2021 г.

Muy completo el curso, me divertí y aprendí muchos sobre GIS, pero lo que no me gusto fue que al no tener ArcGis pro es muy limitada la experiencia, además es muy complicado tener el programa, pues es costoso y obtenerlo de otra manera es complicado , yo utilice Arcgis online o Arcgis viewer y la experiencia es muy diferente pues el curso no tiene secciones que ensenen a manejar esta plataforma online, la cual es bastante diferente a ArcMap O Arcgis pro.

автор: Heleen B

25 авг. 2020 г.

This course has been very helpful for learning the basics on cartography and GIS. There's a lot of attention for some fundamental principles that need to be taken into consideration before starting with a map design (e.g. the consequences of the fact that the Earth is an ellipsoid, choosing a geographic coordinate system, methods of navigation, and so on). Many interesting examples of projects are provided, with a historical context alongisde!

автор: Khoa M

30 окт. 2021 г.

Interesting course. I love that Don is a very passionate professor. Other than that, I feel the course should have involved more practice on ArcMap. There are also a lot of plagiarized works for the final assessment, which is frustrating, but okay, not really the course organizer's fault. Also, the ArcGIS is not provided for free anymore, which is kind of sad. Nonetheless, I still learned a lot and had a lot of fun with the final assessment.

автор: Megan M

20 сент. 2020 г.

Course material was wonderful but the peer reviews I received were very unhelpful. I do not necessarily see the point in having these types of roadblocks to completing the course if those grading your content are not going to give constructive criticism to your work. I received a number of low marks on my map but not a single note as to what was deficient. How can a student improve if low marks or reviews are not explained?

автор: Rishabb A

26 июля 2020 г.

The course structure is good and thought out well. It is quite beginner-friendly and certainly helpful for people who are working to get their GIS certification. My suggestion would be to include more reading material and maybe show some additional map representations so that we can get a deeper understanding of how things work. Overall, it is a good course for beginners.

автор: Greg K

27 апр. 2020 г.

Well-organized content, though quizzes could have been better integrated into the hands-on material. One limitation was that access to ArcGIS takes up to two weeks, so it's hard to get much hands-on experience in ArcMap until the software is available. However, concepts could be tied to online versions of ArcGIS, which appeared to be available sooner.

автор: huimin l

16 нояб. 2021 г.

​if I had old software, it would have been easier to navigate. In the lectures, he uses the older version. Maybe if he gave a rubric of where each item could be found on the new software.

I​ was able to find most items in the software though.

A​s far as teaching style, very good, and fun

автор: MELISSA E R E

12 апр. 2021 г.

It was a very interesting course about maps. I know that its the introduction of mapping, and it was foccused on the geography and geology on maps, however I would have love to have more practice with arcmap. The proffesor was great, very clear and even funny! :)

автор: SONU K

27 июля 2020 г.

Lots of things can be learned fro this platform in a very easy way and this can be helpful in the career because in this modern technical world software knowledge is like a success of KEY. So please go through this and developed or enhanced technical skills.

автор: Manuel C D

14 апр. 2020 г.

En general es muy completo como base, quizás una parte practica en cada semana estaría bien y como proyecto final algo un poco más complicad, aunque completo me ha parecido un poco fácil.

Un saludo

автор: Carolina Z

14 сент. 2020 г.

Great course, very necessary for the people with zero knowledge of GIS, like me. It tackles difficult subjects but with a very simple approach that makes them very easy to understand.

автор: Xi L

19 мая 2020 г.

Easy to understand. If there's more practice include in this course will be better. Hope professor can add more related data materials for students to practice with each course video.

автор: Prevena v p

30 сент. 2020 г.

Wonderful course! Easy to digest for anyone who doesnot have any background before. The assignments and activity is fun to do. This is very interesting as well as useful course.

автор: Jens B

12 февр. 2020 г.

Very good explanations of geografic coordinatesystems and projections.

I would give it 5 * if it used arcgis pro which, as I understand it, is the new platform of choice.

автор: Tsanyu K

12 янв. 2020 г.

A really good entry course starts with the basic concept of GIS. Students would have an opportunity to create their own map at the end of the course.

автор: Alberto R D

20 авг. 2020 г.

A very good entry point to GIS software. I like that the instructor not only explain how to use it, but he teach you the basis of every process.

автор: Muthanna M T

27 мая 2020 г.

It was a good course, thanks for you. But i have one note that i think a gis mapping must complete with a vedio of the map layout, regards.

автор: Laura D B

4 июня 2020 г.

Is a lot of theory, they can implemento some practical excercises, in that way we can explore the program following some instructions.