Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization от партнера Пенсильванский университет

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 1,972
Рецензии: 606

О курсе

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture....

Лучшие рецензии

DA
27 мая 2018 г.

This is indeed a great course. It is very simply put and very easy to follow up.\n\nDo join without any hesitancy if you have a genuine interest in learning about the history of ancient Egypt!

RR
24 мар. 2020 г.

First online course and I loved every moment of it! It felt really refreshing to hear some old names that I used to study as a child. Well done and thanks again for the amazing opportunity!

Фильтр по:

526–550 из 602 отзывов о курсе Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

автор: kouassi n c

5 авг. 2017 г.

très bon cours dommage qu'il n'y ait pas de sous-titres en français j'ai appris beaucoup sur ce pays

автор: Amy F

15 мая 2019 г.

Was wonderful. Instructor is very knowledgeable and this was great beginner's learning. Recommend.

автор: Kate M

5 февр. 2017 г.

Very interesting material covered by the course. The Professor teaching it sounds a little dry.

автор: Tamar W

20 февр. 2018 г.

Frequently even with my sound turned full up I have difficulties hearing the Coursera classes.

автор: Ajlan A

13 нояб. 2016 г.

needs more data visiualizations.. images that used repeated many times which is confusinng.

автор: joyce b

23 нояб. 2020 г.

generally fascinating, but far too many names and details given too quickly to absorb.

автор: Johan N P E

8 мар. 2019 г.

I liked this course..thanksfull with you coursera and the university from penssilvanya

автор: Alicechrr

3 июля 2020 г.

Really great course but there could have been less videos by making them longer.

автор: Marly Y

16 янв. 2017 г.

It needs more written notes so that it would be easier for a person follow up.

автор: Sachin R

26 апр. 2017 г.

I wanted to give it 4.5 Stars. The course was wonderful and was well thought.

автор: Christian W

20 нояб. 2016 г.

Nice and rather short course, giving a good introduction about Ancient Egypt.

автор: Tanya

4 апр. 2020 г.

A lovely introduction on different aspects of ancient Egyptian civilization!

автор: Vir K

1 мая 2020 г.

info is great but it might be a little overwhelming, layout can be improved

автор: Colleen M

8 апр. 2017 г.

Interesting course stimulated my desire to learn more about ancient Egypt

автор: Nancy D

11 окт. 2019 г.

it was slightly hard to follow but a great class. i enjoyed it immensly.

автор: Mirela F C

10 апр. 2020 г.

Probably too much of a general approach and not enough information.

автор: Domen H

8 апр. 2018 г.

This was a very good introduction to the history of Ancient Egypt.

автор: V.B. V

22 сент. 2020 г.

I loved it. I only wish there was even more details and quizzes.

автор: Mack G

2 мая 2017 г.

Lots of detail, particularly about the Penn museum.

Descriptive

автор: Philippe A

20 дек. 2016 г.

Interesting class, which give a good overview of Ancient Egypt.

автор: Enrique U U

4 мая 2019 г.

It's been a very interesting course, quick and easy to follow.

автор: Shreya S

19 мар. 2020 г.

I learnt interesting facts about Egypt that blew my mind.

автор: Clotilde D

20 окт. 2018 г.

Thanks for all the informations, it's a great course !

автор: Rachel A

12 дек. 2016 г.

Fantastic content, I really learnt some new things

автор: Rony K

5 мая 2020 г.

very interesting course! I love ancient Egypt