Chevron Left
Вернуться к Введение в международное уголовное право

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Введение в международное уголовное право от партнера Западный резервный университет Кейза

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 2,483
Рецензии: 632

О курсе

-- About the Course -- From the Nuremberg trial to the case against Saddam Hussein, from the prosecution of Al-Qaeda terrorists to the trial of Somali pirates – no area of law is as important to world peace and security as international criminal law. Taught by one of the world’s leading experts in the field, this course will educate students about the fundamentals of international criminal law and policy. We will explore the contours of international crimes such as genocide, war crimes, terrorism, and piracy. We will examine unique modes of international criminal liability and specialized defenses. And we will delve into the challenges of obtaining custody of the accused and maintaining control of the courtroom. -- Course Syllabus -- This course comprises eight units (or "modules"). Each will include an assigned reading, typically an article or book chapter, as well as a simulation designed to bring the readings to life. I will also offer video lectures on each of the topics, accompanied by slides. In addition, there will be online role-play exercises and debates, enabling the students to share their own insights. The order of class sessions will be: (1) History: From Nuremberg to The Hague (2) International Crimes Part 1: War Crimes, Genocide, Crimes against Humanity, and Torture (3) International Crimes Part 2: Terrorism and Piracy (4) Special modes of liability: command responsibility, co-perpetration, and incitement (5) Special defenses: insanity, obedience to orders, duress, and head of state immunity (6) Gaining custody of the accused: extradition, luring, abduction, and targeted killing (7) Pre-Trial Issues: plea bargaining, self-representation, and exclusion of torture evidence (8) Maintaining control of the courtroom -- Recommended Background -- You don’t have to be a lawyer and there are no prerequisites for this course. However, the course will be conducted at the level expected of advanced undergraduate students. Therefore, for all participants, reading and writing comfortably in English at the undergraduate college level is desirable. -- Suggested Readings -- Students should read the assigned online materials for each unit in advance of the class session. In addition, students are invited to subscribe to “War Crimes Prosecution Watch,” a free bi-weekly e-newsletter that summarizes the latest developments in the field of international criminal law. -- Course Format -- This course is made up of eight content units. Each unit is based on an online reading assignment, a video lecture of about one hour in length, and one or more role play exercises to stimulate on-line discussion. The course also offers in-video enrichment quizzes (ungraded) for each unit, a ten question multiple choice midterm diagnostics exam (ungraded), and a ten question True/False Final Exam. -- FAQ-- How will this course be graded? This course is graded on completion. In order to complete the course each student must: (1) finish each module (or “lesson”); (2) write at least one essay response of 200 words or more for at least one simulation throughout the course; and (3) get a score of 6 out of 10 or better on the Final Exam. What resources will I need for this course? For this course, all you need is an Internet connection, and the time to read and discuss the exciting materials available online. What is the coolest thing about this course? The topics we will be discussing are ripped from the headlines. The topics are often controversial and thought-provoking, and always exciting....

Лучшие рецензии

AM

Sep 22, 2020

learned so much from this course, absolutely loved it, and the way the professor taught the lessons showed his experience and his knowledge even for fist timers it would be a great course to opt for.

MK

Apr 11, 2020

The course is very informative and concise, yet it does not leave details that is necessary for nouvelle learners like me, who are interested to delve into understanding International Criminal Law.

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 626 отзывов о курсе Введение в международное уголовное право

автор: Sagi Z

Sep 11, 2015

The course was fantastic, the lectures were clear and interesting.

The lecturer explained each concept while providing real examples which added to the value of this course.

Overall i had a great time and learned a lot. Coming from Israel this course is actually relevant for me to understand the ICC and its procedures as well as basic terms and definitions.

Thank you very much Prof. Sharf, I'm looking forward to more courses from you.

-Sagi Z.

автор: Monika Ś S

Jul 04, 2020

Saying that this course is interesting could be unfair. This course is EXTREMELY interesting! I'm not fluent in English but I understand almost everything. The classes are well prepared and professor Sharf looks like a really nice person. It's so developing to listen to a person who is such an expert in this area! I truly recommend this course to all lawyers, law students, and anyone who's interesting in this topic!

автор: Ricardo J C B

Sep 18, 2020

Un curso bastante ameno, el docente maneja de forma magistral el tema y se imparten las clases con base en casos reales y con simulaciones de situaciones verídicas, desafortunadamente el derecho penal internacional ha surgido con base en lo peor del ser humano, pero es bueno saber que se cuentan con mecanismos eficaces para impartir justicia contra los respondables de crímenes contra la humanidad. excelente curso!

автор: Guillermo P

Oct 28, 2017

This program/course was excellent and inspiring. It gave me the background and knowledge structure to pursue further studies and read Professor Sharf books. Beyond my expectations! I have no words to express my gratitude to him and all the people and organizations to provide the world community with this unique opportunity to become more educated. Thank you, thank you.

Dr. Guillermo Pimentel

автор: Victoria S

May 29, 2020

This is a complete course with everything you need to know about introduction to international criminal law. The teaches is the best teacher!!! Great classes and super interesting, he manages to gives the whole class in a way where you just want to keep taking the class and don't get bored at any time. The best course, I definitely recommend it, you'll learn a lot. THANK YOU VERY MUCH!

автор: Jeanette G

Sep 24, 2020

This course was a real eye opener as it meticulously fleshes out arguments and trains participating students to take up defenses and analyze international criminal law blunders through its simulations and materials. The professor is undoubtedly well versed on the topic and makes sure to keep discussions interesting! Hoping to find other value-adding courses like these in the future

автор: Савчукова А Е

Jan 12, 2018

I`m absolutely in love with this course. It helped me to understand the main aspects of International Criminal Law which will surely be helpful in my future career as a lawyer. I suppose I found that brunch of law i`m interested in the most. The lector is very good and the whole system with video and reading materials accompanied by online-simulations and discussions is very helpful.

автор: Hafiz M A

Jun 06, 2018

It was a wonderful experience learning ICL in which I was very much interested. I have gained much of the useful knowledge based on some assignments and quiz related experiences. I am very grateful to the Instructer, Case Western Reserve Unviersity and Coursera organizing this marvelous event and I am looking froward for some more fruitful courses in the coming days. Thanks all

автор: Mudit S

Oct 04, 2020

Mr. Michael P. Scharf is the best professor ever. The way he taught us everything regarding international criminal law stays in the memory of a learner or a student forever. This was just the perfect course to learn about the international judiciary because it makes the most complex procedure so easy to learn.

I'll miss Michael Sir's lecture so much, now the course has ended.

автор: Mr. S H

Jul 26, 2020

Professor Michael Scharf is a fascinating and wise teacher who really knows about how to make the lecture interesting for students. The course is well-designed and thoroughly innovative. The questionnaires are based on historic events and hypothetical circumstances that really prepares students for encountering future crimes against humanity, genocide, and war crimes. Thanks

автор: Dr. N F (

Jan 31, 2018

Maybe the best course I had ever. Not only because to its material/topic, but mostly because of the way Professor Michael Scharf communicated with me as a student.

I feel very lucky to get this course and definitely I recommend it to all. Especially to lawyers, judges and D.A.'s around the world.

Thank you CWRU for this course.

Thank you Professor Scharf.

Until the next course..

автор: Foysal S R

Aug 06, 2020

Michael Scharf's teaching style is impeccable, as a Law student, I got to learn really a lot about international criminal law, which was previously a very confusing subject for me. I really think that after completing this course, it'll take a long way in my future career. This course is a must-do for Law students who are interested in criminology and international crimes.

автор: HARSHIT T

Jul 13, 2020

This course is absolutely amazing. It helped me a lot in enhancing knowledge on Prespective Of International Criminal Law also provided a lot to understand the Scope of criminal at Different level as currently I m doing my masters in comparative And critical criminal law subjects.It helped immensely throughout the course study

Thank you Michael Scharf.! and coursera.🙏

автор: TAMARAPALLI A

Aug 19, 2020

I liked this course very much, especially after the completion of third week videos , every element and and every video feels like and movie sequence and I enjoyed a lot....Thank you for providing such a great online course........I recommend every one who is reading the review to enroll the course without any doubt........THANK YOU, ONCE AGAIN.........................

автор: Vidya S

Sep 24, 2020

This courses provided a wide perspective towards international crimes and the way international crimes are prosecuted. There's so many cases and topics that help you understand the history of issues normally invisible to the public. Perhaps visible but people maybe blinded. I learned a lot from this course. It felt like I was doing a degree course. Felt myself mature.

автор: Kaylee C

May 12, 2020

This course is genuinely interesting and well done. As a non law student, but as a person very interested in the subject, I found the material well explained and presented in a way I could easily follow. The professor is clearly passionate about this subject and that brings out a larger impact of this material. Thank you for sharing this great class!

автор: Najah M M A D

Jun 16, 2020

I really really thank you with all my heart..

I've got a lot of advantageous and expanded my lawful international law knowledge with new information which me and other Arabs lawyers cannot find it in their Arabic references.

The paralegal and the legal student research in the Master degree in Syria... Najah Muhammad Maher Al-Dakkak!

автор: MARIA F A R

Jun 14, 2020

I thank the representatives of the virtual course Introduction to International Criminal Law hoping that the course contributes to my expectations thanks to all the excellent exhibitors; I want to say thank you from the bottom of my heart for giving me this beautiful opportunity to participate in this virtual course. see you soon

автор: Meropi D

May 14, 2017

I think that the lectures were absolutely perfect and I liked the reading material. Very good idea to include the introduction to international criminal law notes, especially for those who are not familiar with the subject at all. I enjoyed the fact that at the final quiz, the questions were based on a hypothetical case-study.

автор: SUZAN g

Dec 03, 2018

I really enjoy this course teachers are greate this course improved my knowledge of international law rules where they apply and why lcc is important for safer world more than that it will teach you justices doesn't mean only court room it has it own spirits and it comes to live when you give it a body by lcc courts

автор: Afolasade B

Jun 01, 2020

This is a really interesting/intriguing course. An eye-opener to international law. It provides a step by step explanation on the process of International law and how to deal with international war criminals.

The Professor made the ride easy, I hope to meet him one day! I totally recommend this course.

автор: Satinder K B

Aug 10, 2020

Course has been designed in a very simple, easy to understand format. I having very little legal background could appreciate the case studies, simulations and reading material quickly speaks about the quality of course content and its presentation. Kudos to Professor for delivering this course.

автор: Sushant P A

Jun 29, 2019

Coursera, through this course and all its other ones has made learning law more experiential and interactive. The role-play exercises and simulations have made me understand Law even better than your videos did. The study material is always top-notch. Overall, the best experience in education.

автор: Kristin P

Nov 05, 2017

This was a great course. Professor Scharf is well spoken and engaging. I think being responsible citizens are those who engage with and are knowledgeable about the rest of the world and how things like this work. This course helps you understand systems most of us are very far removed from.

автор: ENAS A A

Dec 03, 2015

one of the most important courses I`ve learned ...really appreciate being in that course ...I did it one time before and now I joined for the second time to repeat it even I didn`t participate any assignments or exams ...valuable materials you should have if you are really interested in law !