Chevron Left
Вернуться к Fundamentals of Immunology: Innate Immunity and B-Cell Function

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Fundamentals of Immunology: Innate Immunity and B-Cell Function от партнера Университет Райса

4.7
Оценки: 184
Рецензии: 37

О курсе

Course 1 of a three course specialization called Fundamentals of Immunology. Each course in the specialization presents material that builds on the previous course's material. This is the first leg of a three-part journey through the defenses your body uses to keep you healthy. In this part we hope to give you the vocabulary and concepts you need to interact with the medical community and to provide them in a context that makes them memorable. Fundamentals of Immunology introduces students to the basic functions of the adaptive and innate immune systems. The early lectures survey cells, tissues and organs using metaphors, cartoons and models to improve understanding and retention. After describing the form, function, origin and varieties of antibodies, subsequent lectures provide details on the mechanism of the generation of variation. The course provides animations of gene rearrangement and class switching and descriptions of affinity maturation correlated with detailed physical models of antibody structure. The final lecture reviews these concepts in anatomical context. Testing employs multiple choice questions testing facts, concepts, and application of principles. Questions may refer to diagrams, drawing and photographs used in lecture and reproduced in the outline. What You’ll Learn: The difference between adaptive and innate immune systems, the characteristics of various pathogens that they protect you from and the overall strategies employed in this protection. The detailed structure of antibodies and related immunoglobulin receptors, the characteristics and function of the different antibody classes and the mechanism for producing both the recognition regions and stem regions.  Finally, how these structures are coded for in the DNA and expressed in the B cells....

Лучшие рецензии

AR

Aug 06, 2019

So far the lecturer has been very entertaining and interesting in her explanation of various concepts of immunology. I am excited to finish this course, which will be relevant to my future studies.

MM

Oct 04, 2019

Very instructive introduction to the field of immunology. It dares to simply the material a bit when necessary, yet still provides the student with a lot of insight in the matter.

Фильтр по:

26–37 из 37 отзывов о курсе Fundamentals of Immunology: Innate Immunity and B-Cell Function

автор: Rui H

Nov 17, 2019

It is a wonderful course that provides a good way for me to understand the basic concepts in Immunology.

автор: Julie D

Oct 18, 2019

The professor is excellent. She is engaging, charismatic and fun. She presents very complex material in a digestible format and ties together why these cellular mechanisms are so vital to the real world. She is not focused on having studies memorize information, instead, she wants us to understand the concepts as evidenced by the critically-thought out quiz questions she presents. The tests are open book and allowable for 3 attempts but most importantly, the questions actually TEACH you if you take the time to read the right and wrong answers. If you do some digging as to why your answers are wrong you will truly learn. I wish that all instructors were as holistically-focused on conceptual learning as this Ms. Novotny. Five out of five stars!!! I've recommended her course to multiple colleagues.

автор: Sakhile S N

Oct 20, 2019

This was an excellent course, it helped me a lot, i took it co-requisitly with my university one, i felt i gained more here than i did with my university module.

Dr Alma Moon Novotny was awesome, she recapped and spoke slow enough for me to grasp the concepts.

автор: Gene M A

Nov 27, 2019

I am completely satisfied with what I have learned!

автор: Jorge L D L C O

Dec 03, 2019

Excelente curso, Alma Moon es una profesora muy didáctica. El curso se aprovecha mejor si uno ya tiene algún acercamiento con la inmunología. Gracias Rice University.

автор: Durbar S

Dec 04, 2019

Excellent! Videos are enough. may require re-watching. Professor

Alma Moon Novotny was really good. She's cute and has come up with lot of techniques to make things harder to forget. Would love to take more courses.

автор: Mohammod K I

Mar 10, 2019

The quiz are really hard specially at 5th and 6th week syllabus. However, this course dives deep into immunology.

автор: Colleen O

Apr 26, 2019

I'm only auditing, but considering a certificate at some point in the future. It won't be good for other schools as credit, but it might add to my academic portfolio. So far this class is informative, the information is entertaining to learn, a little bit more elementary than I would expect, but good for beginners.

автор: Mohamad A M

Aug 12, 2019

An excellent course for medical students who are interested in Immubology

автор: Adeola F

Oct 05, 2019

I enjoyed learning from Dr. Novotny. She presented this material simp with a lot of helpful visual aids and graphics that made the concepts easier to grasp. The structure of the lessons, having them broken down into 10-15-minute videos, made it easy to keep track of where I stopped and easier to reference lecture materials.

автор: Ariel A

Oct 28, 2019

The first three lectures were really great and questions are well constructed. The discussion and presentation got a little confusing on the last two lectures.