Chevron Left
Вернуться к Fundamentals of Immunology: Innate Immunity and B-Cell Function

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Fundamentals of Immunology: Innate Immunity and B-Cell Function от партнера Университет Райса

4.7
Оценки: 142
Рецензии: 28

О курсе

Course 1 of a three course specialization called Fundamentals of Immunology. Each course in the specialization presents material that builds on the previous course's material. This is the first leg of a three-part journey through the defenses your body uses to keep you healthy. In this part we hope to give you the vocabulary and concepts you need to interact with the medical community and to provide them in a context that makes them memorable. Fundamentals of Immunology introduces students to the basic functions of the adaptive and innate immune systems. The early lectures survey cells, tissues and organs using metaphors, cartoons and models to improve understanding and retention. After describing the form, function, origin and varieties of antibodies, subsequent lectures provide details on the mechanism of the generation of variation. The course provides animations of gene rearrangement and class switching and descriptions of affinity maturation correlated with detailed physical models of antibody structure. The final lecture reviews these concepts in anatomical context. Testing employs multiple choice questions testing facts, concepts, and application of principles. Questions may refer to diagrams, drawing and photographs used in lecture and reproduced in the outline. What You’ll Learn: The difference between adaptive and innate immune systems, the characteristics of various pathogens that they protect you from and the overall strategies employed in this protection. The detailed structure of antibodies and related immunoglobulin receptors, the characteristics and function of the different antibody classes and the mechanism for producing both the recognition regions and stem regions.  Finally, how these structures are coded for in the DNA and expressed in the B cells....

Лучшие рецензии

AR

Aug 06, 2019

So far the lecturer has been very entertaining and interesting in her explanation of various concepts of immunology. I am excited to finish this course, which will be relevant to my future studies.

EJ

Feb 25, 2019

This was a great course. Immunology is my professional speciality and I still managed to learn new things. The lecturer is very knowledgeable and very engaging. All with all a great course.

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 29 отзывов о курсе Fundamentals of Immunology: Innate Immunity and B-Cell Function

автор: Marvin B

Feb 11, 2019

The course has good depth and is well presented. If you plan to take this class for academic credit at your academic institution later, this online course should be very helpful. The handout materials need some work to be practical, but I learned a great amount of basic knowledge. If you already know anything about genetic sequencing, it would be helpful. It is the only part of the course I felt very uncomfortable with. I would recommend this course to anyone serious about learning the immune system from the foundation. It is not a course for the casual learner. You will have to repeat view some lectures and do some side internet searches to understand all that is needed to finish, but I think you will find it time well invested.

автор: Momchil N

Feb 06, 2019

The best course ever and the material provided during the course to illustrate the knowledge is amazing

автор: Akhil G

Mar 13, 2019

this course only contains only theory and theory no practical animation which makes very easier to understand... so this course is not at all helpful for me... :(

автор: Bo L

Feb 18, 2019

Very good course for learning immunology!

автор: Emiel d J

Feb 25, 2019

This was a great course. Immunology is my professional speciality and I still managed to learn new things. The lecturer is very knowledgeable and very engaging. All with all a great course.

автор: Jhone R d S C

Mar 08, 2019

muito bom

автор: Fatma M E

May 03, 2019

It was a great course with wonderful material and organizing very well

автор: Melanie W

Apr 20, 2019

Professor Novotny provided relevant context that made a complex subject comprehensible for me. I really enjoyed her analogies. Her thinking questions in the tests required me to truly apply my knowledge to get them right. This could be the best course I have ever taken in my life. Thank you so much, Prof. Novotny!

автор: kristin v r

Apr 05, 2019

Great Professor. Funny and explains material well. Gave me the real quirky science teacher experience that I loved in Undergrad.

автор: Vicencio D

Apr 06, 2019

Excelente nivel, otorga una perspectiva biológica muy interesante.

автор: Pablo R F

Jun 30, 2019

Fantastic

автор: Eduardo A J

Jul 15, 2019

excelent!

автор: Isabella E A

Aug 06, 2019

excellent lectures

автор: AARON L A R

Aug 06, 2019

So far the lecturer has been very entertaining and interesting in her explanation of various concepts of immunology. I am excited to finish this course, which will be relevant to my future studies.

автор: NKOSINGIPHILE T

Aug 11, 2019

Thanks very much for the course. It had a good information. I benefited a lot.

автор: Constantino C R F

Aug 12, 2019

excellent

автор: Liliana C P M

Sep 08, 2019

Excelente formação.

автор: Tatiana I

Aug 21, 2019

The professor is phenomenal!

автор: Alexander J S

Sep 22, 2019

Really well taught and easy to understand!

автор: Prabin K

Sep 23, 2019

It is a nice lecture series. Helpful in understanding the concepts of immunology. Most of the concepts of immunology are clearly explain diagrammatically that helps me easily understand the things.

Lastly, thank you , professor, for such a lucid lecture

автор: maysam

Aug 31, 2019

it was great! that's it!

автор: MaartenL

Oct 04, 2019

Very instructive introduction to the field of immunology. It dares to simply the material a bit when necessary, yet still provides the student with a lot of insight in the matter.

автор: Laura O

Oct 10, 2019

Super accurate, relevant and works with engaging enthusiasm which is contagious! Draws you in like no other professor :)

автор: Brian J

Oct 12, 2019

Strong and pretty thorough introduction to a fairly complex topic

автор: Chris P

Oct 13, 2019

A really well taught introduction to the Fundamentals of Immunology.