Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to HTML5

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to HTML5 от партнера Мичиганский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 10,231
Рецензии: 2,577

О курсе

Thanks to a growing number of software programs, it seems as if anyone can make a webpage. But what if you actually want to understand how the page was created? There are great textbooks and online resources for learning web design, but most of those resources require some background knowledge. This course is designed to help the novice who wants to gain confidence and knowledge. We will explore the theory (what actually happens when you click on a link on a webpage?), the practical (what do I need to know to make my own page?), and the overlooked (I have a page, what do I do now?). Throughout the course there will be a strong emphasis on adhering to syntactic standards for validation and semantic standards to promote wide accessibility for users with disabilities. The textbook we use is available online, “The Missing Link: An Introduction to Web Development and Programming” by Michael Mendez from www.opensuny.org. This course will appeal to a wide variety of people, but specifically those who would like a step-by-step description of the basics. There are no prerequisites for this course and it is assumed that students have no prior programming skills or IT experience. The course will culminate in a small final project that will require the completion of a very simple page with links and images. The focus of this course is on the basics, not appearance. You can see a sample final page at http://intro-webdesign.com/html5-plain.html. This is the first course in the Web Design For Everybody specialization. Subsequent courses focus on the marketable skills of styling the page with CSS3, adding interactivity with JavaScript and enhancing the styling with responsive design. You can see a sample site for the capstone course at http://intro-webdesign.com/...

Лучшие рецензии

AB

Sep 27, 2017

I really enjoyed everything about this course. I thought the exercises/quizzes were fair and the instructor showed me many things that will serve me well going forward. Great course, great instructor!

TB

Nov 11, 2017

Good introduction to web development. The teacher (Colleen van Lent) has great attitude and seems interested in getting students themselves interested... she explained the intro topics very clearly.

Фильтр по:

2076–2100 из 2,522 отзывов о курсе Introduction to HTML5

автор: Michelle H

Jun 03, 2019

Two instances of typos (advised multiple times in comments by different users over many months) but not fixed.

<ul> / <ol> mixed up

<nav> / <nag> mixed

Causes confusion on final project

Content otherwise great

автор: Cynda F

Feb 06, 2016

Autograder on final project is very frustrating - no feedback on the code to know what it didn't like. Other than that, everything else was very helpful and straightforward for this novice. Thank you!

автор: Gabriel C

Jan 18, 2020

Very informative course. Although I feel this was just a small step into html, I believe now that I'm capable of diving as much deeper as I can into this subject by using the basis that I learned here.

автор: 李浩

Nov 22, 2017

teacher is good,but i hope you can describe the tags by code,that can make us profound influence.

and we can understand directly.

more examples are better than introduce.thanks a lot for your curriculum

автор: Dimitris K

Aug 24, 2016

Great course for an overview of what HTML5 is like! I would have preferred it, however, if there still was a kind of instant autograder, like a parser or something. The lecturer is quite good as well!

автор: michelle O

Jun 17, 2017

This was at a self learning pace that allowed me to succeed. Colleen van Lent does a great job in the videos where they are short enough to not lose interest, yet enough information to easily learn.

автор: DURBA B

Jun 16, 2017

it was my first experience of taking lectures online but i must say it was very helpful for me to know many new and vital details on this topic..thank you so much for assisting me with this course☺

автор: Daniel G R

Jun 03, 2017

The course is a good starter, but it could do with more material allowing you to practice the skills presented each week rather than the self-driven approach, which could be done without the class.

автор: Rajan S

Oct 31, 2016

She was an exceptional teacher throughout but I believe that some tags weren't explained thoroughly like the navigation tag she just told us about it and so I had to search around on how to use it.

автор: Igor M

Feb 06, 2016

Great course! Wonderful teaching by Colleen! However, there is not so much practice within this course, that I expected. Thanks a lot to Colleen for creating this specialization! It's amazing!

автор: Kel D

Sep 25, 2016

I like the course it was very simple and easy to follow. I only thing I didn't like was the final. When your code was wrong it could at least give you a hint about what needs to be addressed

автор: Mikhail S

Apr 28, 2016

It's a good course for beginner! A lot of knowledges about hosting, domains etc. But not so much about directly HTML5. I would be better to extend this course for 4 weeks!

Thank you, Colleen!

автор: Colin W

Sep 03, 2017

This course is perfect for learning the very basics of html. The instructor also explains basic concepts beyond the code itself, including how to use editors, validators, and hosting sites.

автор: Andrés Q

Oct 17, 2016

The instructor is very good. The course could use a litle more practical assignments, but the concepts explained are still very good and useful, even if the course is mostly theoretical.

автор: Yash K

Mar 20, 2019

Best course for beginners. Here you learn basic html5 and also build a webpage by using html5. This course lot of help me. So I suggest to all if you beginner then you take this course.

автор: Pradeep M

Mar 31, 2019

The course was really good , however I was expecting more final projects for practice. Also, for practice, there should have been some links where we can find sample pages to create.

автор: Ayan R

Dec 19, 2017

Good course. Covers a lot of ground. Only recommendation, is to slow down a little bit in the middle to explain concepts more and let user get more practice. Otherwise very thorough!

автор: Alan P

Jun 11, 2016

I wanted to get an understanding of the fundamentals of html and this was a great course. It doesn't babysit you so you have to get interactive with the coding to actually learn it.

автор: Caitlyn C

Jun 21, 2019

It is kind of confusing but not bad! I am more confused on how this works like it says enroll on the separate courses? I really hope I don't have to pay for each of those seprately

автор: Reem H M Z

Apr 03, 2018

Fantastic course. only gave it 4 stars because I feel like some things (especially the last part) could have been elaborated a bit more. but otherwise, wonderful course, thank you.

автор: Mallory S

Jan 24, 2018

Little confusing at times, and the last test/ project was jacked up. Turning in the project did not help and the test was definitely created to confuse. But i guess it was needed

автор: Francisco

Dec 20, 2015

I was expecting more coding exercises and the major task was only the demo page which I completed and validated, but somehow I always failed that answer wrong in the final quiz

автор: clara c

Sep 28, 2019

Muy muy básico pero hay cosas que no sabía y que han sido interesantes. Me ha gustado el enfoque que le da todo el rato a que sea accesible para todo el mundo. Muy interesante.

автор: ahmad a

Oct 30, 2016

It gives the basic of the basic of HTML5. I would recommend to either merge this course with other courses that have more about web stuff or to add some JS stuff to the course

автор: John R

Jul 26, 2017

It was good, but it was too short in my opinion. I think there should be more practical examples of how to use HTML5 - more assignments and exercises (probably optional).