Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to HTML5

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to HTML5 от партнера Мичиганский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 10,344
Рецензии: 2,606

О курсе

Thanks to a growing number of software programs, it seems as if anyone can make a webpage. But what if you actually want to understand how the page was created? There are great textbooks and online resources for learning web design, but most of those resources require some background knowledge. This course is designed to help the novice who wants to gain confidence and knowledge. We will explore the theory (what actually happens when you click on a link on a webpage?), the practical (what do I need to know to make my own page?), and the overlooked (I have a page, what do I do now?). Throughout the course there will be a strong emphasis on adhering to syntactic standards for validation and semantic standards to promote wide accessibility for users with disabilities. The textbook we use is available online, “The Missing Link: An Introduction to Web Development and Programming” by Michael Mendez from www.opensuny.org. This course will appeal to a wide variety of people, but specifically those who would like a step-by-step description of the basics. There are no prerequisites for this course and it is assumed that students have no prior programming skills or IT experience. The course will culminate in a small final project that will require the completion of a very simple page with links and images. The focus of this course is on the basics, not appearance. You can see a sample final page at http://intro-webdesign.com/html5-plain.html. This is the first course in the Web Design For Everybody specialization. Subsequent courses focus on the marketable skills of styling the page with CSS3, adding interactivity with JavaScript and enhancing the styling with responsive design. You can see a sample site for the capstone course at http://intro-webdesign.com/...

Лучшие рецензии

AB

Sep 27, 2017

I really enjoyed everything about this course. I thought the exercises/quizzes were fair and the instructor showed me many things that will serve me well going forward. Great course, great instructor!

CR

Jan 31, 2016

Exceptional course, taught by a friendly, talented teacher. Perfect introduction to HTML. While the course seems to be still under development (there is the odd typo or the like) it's a great start.

Фильтр по:

2076–2100 из 2,567 отзывов о курсе Introduction to HTML5

автор: Luke M

Nov 15, 2019

Clear lectures. Good information. The instructor made clear the difference between mandatory elements and suggestions for good code. Downside: sometimes the extra readings were difficult to find, since links were provided at the beginning of the course, but without describing when certain chapters should be read before which quiz.

автор: Wouter P

May 11, 2018

For me, the actual coding came too late. I suggest coding bits directly after instruction videos, instead of at the end. Also, I suggest recreating a larger website. The final assignment was very interesting. I only learnt about the <section> tag during that assignment. In all, not bad. I especially liked the big final puzzle.

автор: ANTHONY R

Jul 08, 2018

Excellent course for someone who has NO plans to be web-developer but knows that internal operations of modern web needs understanding to communicate with technical/customer community if/when issues arise. Or other other opportunities are ;possible to exploit the web-knowledge for future applications - especially 5G/IoT.

автор: Sandesh C

Mar 01, 2016

Nice course! The take on accessibility is what I found the most interesting one. Whenever I had been through any introductory materials on web design or any designs, I had not even encountered accessibility as a topic. Thank you for getting me into thinking about not only building workable websites, but accessible ones.

автор: Taoran Z

Feb 19, 2020

This course builds the fundamentals about HTML5. What I like about this course is that the instructor explains everything clearly in details. This course is perfect for designers like myself who need basic knowledge about coding and people who are interested in web development. I am going to continue to study CSS3.

автор: Paul J M

Jan 15, 2016

Excellent, clear and to the point. It is good to see a focus on both standards compliance and accessibility, that latter al too often being ignored. Covers a fair amount of ground in three weeks but has fairly narrow ambitions; to make the most of this one needs to view it in the context of the full specialisation.

автор: Micol M

Jan 08, 2016

I thought the course was great! I understood the lectures well and was able to get coding quickly and efficiently. I also appreciated the emphasis on accessibility. The only note: one of the lectures of validation is actually after already have done some validation, but might be more useful before it.

автор: Jackson T

Sep 15, 2017

Excellent teacher and material. The course felt a bit short and I wish there were more assessments and opportunities to actually code, which is where I learned the most. After completing this course, though, the world of coding does not seem so scary and I have the confidence to go further into it.

автор: LMiranda

Oct 26, 2015

Excellent Course and Instructor! I would highly recommend this course to any new student interested in learning more about HTML and web development. The course is designed to provide the student with an introductory knowledge of HTML coding and introduces concepts in a very easy to understand manner.

автор: Andrei K

Jun 13, 2017

It is very unsatisfying that the most important part of the course - the final coding practice - works the way it does. I suppose it is crucial for every student to have his or her work validated somehow. And the situation when your work is either completely right or completely wrong surprised me.

автор: Deleted A

Oct 12, 2015

A lot of repetitive information here, throughout each lesson. I was expecting a bit more coding opportunities. However, I'm not new to HTML and think this is still a good introduction for brand-brand new coders (like ages 12-15). Good refresher for those out of it for a decade or so (like me).

автор: Priyanka N

Oct 10, 2015

I learned a lot of new things, although I am not a beginner. But I think for a newbie this course is a little tough. It would have been great if I got something to share about my accomplishment in the free version too. But may be that's asking too much! On the whole I am happy with the course.

автор: Rahul G

Feb 12, 2016

Basic introduction to HTML5. Though there were some issues with final project submission etc. but it was a good start in the world of HTML5. Also, when coupled with the other two courses of CSS3 and Javascript, it would really be a dangerous combination. Looking forward for other courses.

автор: Michael C

Nov 10, 2017

I think it was a good overview of the subject and instilled good practices. I feel like the instructor should have involved the student with a little more hands-on coding throughout the course to get a better feel for it. Otherwise it was very informative and I learned some good things.

автор: John B Y

Sep 28, 2015

Overall I found the course to do exactly what it said. Give you the very basics of HTML and allow you to put something out there. For someone that has zero experience with programming or creating web pages I would recommend, otherwise it will definitely be a little too beginner.

автор: Laura C

Oct 19, 2015

More hands-on practice, more exercises like the one on Week #2 where we(the students) follow the professor's step by step instruction into coding, and not so much lecture (though lecture its understandable as we need to learn all these definitions and what we are actually doing).

автор: S A J

Aug 24, 2019

This is one of the best Introduction to HTML5 courses you can find on web. The instructor explains the proper way to use however one thing is missing from this course that is it has very few graded assignments so you have to practice on your own. other than that this is great.

автор: Ali W H

Jul 06, 2019

The course is a great introductory to HTML5, with practical tips and references, in addition to accessibility in mind, not to mention the great lecturer :) .

The only thing, I guess, could improve the course is taking <tables> and <forms> in more details.

Thanks a lot.

автор: Priyanka S

Apr 02, 2018

The course is paced very well. The feedback that I mainly have is regarding the final project. I got the final project wrong, but passed all the questions. It would be great if I was able to find out what I did wrong in the html code, even though I passed the course.

автор: Karen S

Sep 03, 2016

Great beginning course to avoid being overwhelmed. I had no experience in writing code or how it worked, but I got to the "final" and realized how much I actually loved writing code! And, I do it well, which makes me want to work on it more and learn to do more.

автор: Hui T

Mar 10, 2020

The whole class is well organized and clean and clear. But most times, the teacher is just taking and talking. Well I like to hear more about the rules, syntax et al. But most of the time showing coding screen so that we learn directly from code is more fun.

автор: Jared D J

Jan 30, 2020

Great overview of the fundamentals. The final project was very useful. The only recommendation would be to include more hands-on exercises like the final project. A similar assignment each week of the course. Perhaps extending the course to 4 or 5 weeks.

автор: Ian S

Jun 27, 2016

A great course. You can learn a lot if you're willing to dive in yourself beyond the lectures. My only fault is that some of the quiz questions didn't really seem relevant to useful material learned in the course (ie, what year html was implemented etc.)

автор: KEVIN B

Jan 08, 2019

A good introduction to HTML5 with a nice emphasis on accessibility. I think it is a great idea to focus on design with best practice in mind, so you are more aware of bad habbits that would otherwise creep into your own developing style unnoticed.

автор: Joshua G

Mar 23, 2016

Very good basic introduction. The final project was a little challenging because some of the questions used coding that wasn't reviewed in either the textbook or in the lectures. The lectures were otherwise very informative and well-structured.