Chevron Left
Вернуться к Ideas from the History of Graphic Design

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Ideas from the History of Graphic Design от партнера Калифорнийский институт искусств

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 2,251

О курсе

This condensed survey course focuses on four key periods or themes from the history of design in the West. Together we’ll trace the emergence of design as a recognized practice, why things look the way they do, and how designers approached specific design problems in their work. Students will develop an understanding of where the wide variety of today’s design practice comes from. By participating in this survey of the works of innovative groups and individuals, we outline the process by which graphic design moved from a purely instrumental practice, to becoming a demanding creative and hybridized field. Each week, a short quiz will test your knowledge of concepts, and a short reflective assignment will give you the opportunity to analyze the questions designers ask themselves today. This is an essential course for emerging designers entering the field, or for students interested in learning more about visual culture and analysis. No previous experience is required. A note about this course: This course is taught from the perspective of contemporary design, to connect ideas that helped formulate design practice from the 1850s through the 1960s to the ways that designers think today. The relationship of words and pictures in graphic design is looked at through the ever-changing social and cultural contexts, technologies, aesthetics, and politics of their eras. The definition and practice of graphic design includes all public visual communications, which is a global practice. It was the evolution of mass production and communication in the West that specifically redefined graphic design as a professional practice and is this course’s particular narrative. We hope students will consider how to connect the themes and ideas offered in this course to your own culture....

Лучшие рецензии

PD

26 нояб. 2016 г.

Its been a great course, many info and points that are fantastic in the learning or adding new knowledge always. I will always recommend this course for those who want to know more and learn design.

ER

21 мар. 2022 г.

I was a little bit nervous about this course, I always hated History in school, but surprisingly this was very good! I enjoyed it! The assignments were easy to understand and managebale to complete.

Фильтр по:

451–474 из 474 отзывов о курсе Ideas from the History of Graphic Design

автор: Peter R

3 янв. 2017 г.

Excellent.

автор: MARISOL P V

4 окт. 2017 г.

Great!

автор: Charudatta J

26 июня 2020 г.

nice

автор: DINESH K K

14 июня 2020 г.

good

автор: Battina D G

10 мая 2020 г.

GOOD

автор: Katie S

14 сент. 2020 г.

This course was great--really wish it was a bit longer and went through more information. While the course information was good, there is a problem with peer reviews in this course. I found obvious plagiarism and/or a complete misunderstanding of the assignment every week in my peers so something needs to happen with the assignments--in one week I flagged over 4 of my peers. Maybe instructors need to select various images not found online that the students review? Something at least...

автор: Samantha F

5 апр. 2019 г.

This course provided a solid foundation in graphic design - though limited to a Western history. Today it seems as though Bauhaus-influenced minimalism is an all-encompassing design approach. As a new designer, it would have been beneficial to understand alternative or reactionary approaches (maximalism is a new design buzzword, for example) and traditions from outside the USA/Western Europe schools of design - especially as these are difficult things to research independently.

автор: Sami L

6 дек. 2016 г.

The course being concentrated exclusively on the design ideas of United States, it's quite literally "some ideas from the history of graphic design". Some of the choices for the contents of the course were, from the continental point of view, rather odd, though that did not make them any less interesting. As a summary: the course was interesting enough to be passed through.

автор: Bhavna S

22 мая 2017 г.

I found this course very interesting and intensive. There is so much history to understand, interpret and re-contextualise as a designer.

автор: Luis H

3 июля 2016 г.

A nice introductory course.

However, I found the latter half of the course too skewed towards the USA.

автор: Riya A

28 июня 2021 г.

I found this course boring because there was so much history and so many things have to be remembered.

автор: Dmitrii P

9 апр. 2017 г.

Week 4 - too much of materials, and test questions does not match the text

автор: Sebastian J M G

13 авг. 2020 г.

I dont like how classmates grade the work, even if its a good one

автор: arshla j

24 сент. 2016 г.

Informative and sometimes fascinating.

автор: Gary D G

7 июня 2020 г.

To many videos and reading

автор: Erick A R A d l S

24 февр. 2018 г.

The course is very light.

автор: Tarun V M

1 мая 2020 г.

purty gud

автор: Mi Z

2 авг. 2018 г.

This course is really dry and I feel what I learned in the videos are not necessarily connected with the assignments. This is the 3rd course under Graphic Design certificate and is my least favorite one.The ones about fundamentals of Graphic Design and Typography are both really helpful, but not this one.

автор: Shahmeer A

24 апр. 2022 г.

This course is worst about ideas from the history of graphic design and in the history of graphic designing courses. The videos were so long and boring I had to skip them and I just completed this because I wanted to complete the specialization but this course is the worse of all courses

автор: Ala'a N E

2 окт. 2019 г.

This course wasn't interesting at all, nor assignments. Please try to enhance the way of presenting the theoretical information.

автор: Liudmila V

27 июня 2016 г.

This course is about nothing, it is poor illustrated and uninformative. The lecturer's manner is anno

автор: Ahmed M

18 мар. 2022 г.

struck with peer reviews

автор: Sarah E M

14 июля 2020 г.

I don't recommend at all

автор: Kathleen D

11 сент. 2016 г.

This course is