Chevron Left
Вернуться к Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Stanford Introduction to Food and Health от партнера Стэнфордский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 28,225

О курсе

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Лучшие рецензии

AE

21 июня 2018 г.

It was an amazing course that allowed for me to be much more conscious of what I was eating and pushed me to strive to achieve a healthier lifestyle. Overall, it was very entertaining and informative!

CS

26 авг. 2019 г.

Very informative and useful. I'm from India and I look forward to study more about nutritional values of different foods. This course gave me a head-start and information to pursue my goal. Thank You!

Фильтр по:

6601–6625 из 8,064 отзывов о курсе Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

автор: Juan J B L

2 апр. 2018 г.

It is a good place to start thinking about how to change your eating habbits. I looked for a course like this on YT but no luck. I didn't want to research diets, I wanted a holistic understanding of nutrition itself so I can make personally informed decisions. I want to understand how and why things work and don't work, rather than just trusting diet; this course really helped kick that off.

автор: Lakshmi V

11 окт. 2017 г.

This course is presented in a neat and friendly manner. The simple language in explanation and illustration makes it enjoyable to delve into the course. I personally liked the way suggestions were presented in taking care of one's own and family health, rather than making it technical. I am glad I to have taken up and completed the course. Wishing many more delightful courses from Maya Adam.

автор: Willemina S

3 февр. 2023 г.

It is an excellent introduction and the learnings are practical and can be implemented immediately. I really enjoyed the course, but I was looking for something with a bit more depth. Maybe a short study that is also referring to scientific evidence. Nevertheless the course further encouraged me to learn more about food and health, so I believe mission accomplished with this introduction.

автор: Hugo

31 мая 2020 г.

Interesting course which remember me fundamentals of nutrition and best practices to cook healthy.

I regret that course dont go more far on nutrition skills or vegetarian recipes for example but it's a good course to introduce nutrition for a person who wants to change his bad consummation habits and increase his health and his nutrition skills.

Hugo (sorry for my bad english, i'm french)

автор: Deborah

6 сент. 2016 г.

This was an easy course and I found the information very helpful in making you aware of processed food. I think it could have been a bit richer by exploring some other areas of health and food. I felt like the main focus was on processed food. The good thing though I learnt so much about processed food and I'm making every effort to cut it and eventually eliminat it from my diet.

автор: Paul G

12 янв. 2021 г.

There are some good points, and some misinformation that was presented in the material. The point about getting the family involved in meal preparation, and relying less on processed foods is a great place to start.

The soundtrack that played during the course makes it next to impossible to concentrate on the subject matter. I was expecting more from a Stanford produced course.

автор: Yi X J

19 июня 2017 г.

For an introduction course this is very clear and easy to understand. Some of the action plans, such as sensible substitution are very practical to adopt. I would wish this course to be more comprehensive, for example, not just focused on battling most common health issues in the US, but also health benefits of different vitamins or nutrition planning for different demographies.

автор: Yumiko Y

9 февр. 2019 г.

This course was easy to understand, gave me chance to recheck my eating habit. As a Japanese I thought I know a lot about nutrition, food and health issue, since my mother often taught me with these issues including how to cook. However to learn from a professional from the start made me more clear and gave me the confidence what I learn from my mother was overall correct.

автор: Kim L

12 июня 2020 г.

A good basic overview of nutritional concepts and some of the science behind transfats and different dietary conditions. Quite basic at times so can be completed fairly quickly and easily but it's short so nevertheless it's a great way to reaffirm existing knowledge, gain perspective on the food industry in modern society and fill in the gaps of your nutritional knowledge.

автор: Valentina Q

20 мар. 2021 г.

A good introduction to Nutrition if you're new to this field and you're not familiar with basic stuff like the difference between carbohydrates, protein, and fats. Some of the topics were briefly explained, but I understand it's an introduction so it's okay. I think it gives the necessary information to get you interested in taking charge of your eating habits and health.

автор: Jessica J

15 нояб. 2017 г.

Very interesting introduction to health, understanding food labels, and how to make better choices. Everything was explained clearly and the structure was well prepared. I would have loved for it to further in depth into how the body is affected by different foods. I was also surprised and disappointed to see white sugar being suggested to use, especially in the recipes.

автор: Thian Y F

2 дек. 2022 г.

It's good to know more about the importance of taking real food in our daily lives, not only for better health in long run, but also we can learn some basic cooking skills to cater our own at home. Besides, we get to know more about the macronutrients structure and how our body metabolize these materials. It's not new to me, but I learn new things from here! Thank you!

автор: Jamie V

7 апр. 2020 г.

This is a great course! Although it was mostly a review of things that I already knew, I highly enjoyed learning about the properties of macronutrients and how they are digested in the body. I also appreciated learning about processed food versus real food and the recipe videos. I would love to see more content about other nutrients and specific foods in the future!

автор: Nazareno M

29 окт. 2022 г.

i liked the course, and i also understand is an introduccion course, but i was more expecting for something more international but the most of the info in it was about what happend in the usa. nice (or not so nice, sorry) but there are some background that really doesn't appy to those who are living in another countries.... but anyway, it was really nice. thanks!

автор: Nick I

18 апр. 2020 г.

This course felt very basic, which I liked. I didn't really have any knowledge as far as nutrition goes so it was nice to have everything broken down to the most basic levels. I wish they would've jumped into a little bit more depth or maybe added 2 or 3 more modules. It's nice to know more, but it would've been better if I felt like I got even more out of it.

автор: Zainab K

23 окт. 2016 г.

It was a very helpful course, giving an insight about our routine when it comes to food and health. It gives an understanding of how to take care of ourselves in the best way possible, and how easily we are fooled by media and the society to ruin our health in the long run. It is more essential than we think, to maintain a proper diet, so thank you for this.

автор: Sonja Z

22 июля 2022 г.

Very well put together presentation. Gives a really good simple explanation of why you should preferably stick to whole foods, mostly plant based, rather than fall into the trap of fad diets or highly processed 'easy' meals. It is rather basic though, so it really is for beginners. The recipes and videos at the end are highly appreciated and fun to watch:)

автор: Alice S M W

28 мая 2020 г.

This is a very basic course but the ideas are put across very well and I feel I am able to explain my food decisions in clearer terms when talking to my husband. I even told my doctor recently that I prefer to eat in moderation than choosing low fat or low/sugar free products because they have replaced what they removed with even more unhealthy substitutes.

автор: Matteo R

20 мар. 2021 г.

Excellent course for beginners, especially the part on moderation.

Only sore point, it lacks a part dedicated to dairy products and their use in the diet.

Also talk a little more about how to manage portions by differentiating breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Maybe talk a little bit about allergies and intolerances would be nice too.

Nice part about the recipes.

автор: Mónica L A R

22 окт. 2021 г.

The course indeed is very good as an introduction to Food and Health. Very friendly. Learned new things. I wish there were PDFS to complement knowledge. Even though the videos are very explicative and that is good. Recipes are great. Thanks for this opportunity. Maya´s recipes are very good and I hope to prepare them some day. Videos are very well made.

автор: Lucia S

30 мая 2022 г.

As the course name says it's an "Introduction" - if you already have some knowledge in the field, you won't find much new information you've haven't heard before. Still it helped me organize my knowledge in a coherent and complete way. It definitely gives you motivation to change your eating habits and becoming a reliable advisor for those around you!

автор: Srinu L

19 мар. 2019 г.

It was comprehensive and targeted the key points regarding food and health. I do wish there was more discussion with policy regarding food in the US and how it can sometimes be difficult for some to find healthy and fresh food. Also, the topic of preparing food and cooking was discussed but more tips for managing time and effort would have been nice.

автор: Heather D

16 мая 2018 г.

An excellent course, mostly for those new to the idea of eating healthily. I absolutely loved the first week which explained how food worked inside the body. I also was glad there was a list of books to read, documentaries to watch, and websites to use for continued science-based nutrition information. Thank you very much for providing this course!

автор: Deleted A

7 июня 2016 г.

Very interesting and enjoyable, I think the mix between information about food and recipes for healthy food is a good one. I do think that for example adding recipes to lectures about certain types of food would make it an even better combination. For people living outside the US, the information about healthy diets might seem a bit US centered.

автор: arpit m

11 мая 2020 г.

This course is great to learn the basics of nutrition but it is majorly based on western diet and culture. That's why I feel it is more constraint to a certain audience in some cases. Nevertheless, I enjoyed and learned basic day to day health and food habits, which I will try to implement in my lifestyle.

Thanks and Kuddos for making us aware.