Chevron Left
Вернуться к Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Stanford Introduction to Food and Health от партнера Стэнфордский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 22,393
Рецензии: 6,641

О курсе

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Лучшие рецензии

CN
13 мая 2021 г.

Really good as an introductory guide to general human nutrition. Gives great insights on cooking, planning meals and health diet habits. It's a rather short course with actually impactful information.

CS
26 авг. 2019 г.

Very informative and useful. I'm from India and I look forward to study more about nutritional values of different foods. This course gave me a head-start and information to pursue my goal. Thank You!

Фильтр по:

6276–6300 из 6,647 отзывов о курсе Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

автор: Thomas C

23 нояб. 2016 г.

Incredibly basic- more for the average person rather than a student or professional, but it seems as though that is who the material is directed at- so not a great course if you are a professional looking to increase your knowledge, but great usable information that the average person can easily apply.

автор: kondapalli t

2 июля 2020 г.

i found this course interesting to an extent as this is my first online course. But apparently, the information was too compromised. Although, I got to learn quite a bit, it didn't reach my expectations. There could be another course introduced in extension to this one which would be great.

Thank you.

автор: Ricardo C H

11 мая 2020 г.

Es un curso realmente muy básico, ideal para personas que no entienden nada de nutrición o su conocimiento respecto a este tema es mínimo.

Las explicaciones y la información se presenta de una forma bastante sencilla y entendible por lo cual no debería haber mayor dificultad para aprobar el curso.

автор: Makarova V A

18 июля 2021 г.

Среди тонны бесполезной информации промелькивали действительно полезные факты.

1. Пейте чистую воду много и заменяя любые другие напитки

2. Питайтесь с большим содержанием белков и жиров, а в виде углеводов предпочитайте две чашки овощей и столько же фруктов. Еда не переработанная - лучший выбор.

автор: Eric J

7 авг. 2020 г.

Decent course but could have been better. Information was okay but confusing and repetitive in some ways during the weeks of this course. I got very bored with this course in the 3rd week. Overall this course is a 3 out of 5 starts and execution could have been better with presentation as well.

автор: Jayde F

17 апр. 2020 г.

Very basic course aimed at somebody who is on a very unhealthy american diet and focused on helping them to get slightly healthier. For somebody who already makes good food choices this course isn't for you. To be honest, I can't imagine anybody is unhealthy enough to need this level of basics!

автор: Alexander U

4 сент. 2019 г.

Interesting, but did not learn much I did not already know. Course was nice though, would recommend it to my acquaintances. I would diversify the references, and not always have Michael Pollan (some controversial stuff there), even though his interviews were on point and politically correct. :)

автор: Aliona C

13 февр. 2016 г.

extremely short & easy - fun-ducation. Not hugely informative for someone who's looking to learn about the links between what we eat and how we eat, and how human bodies respond. But the instructor is very charming, so it was a pleasant experience. The whole course can be completed in 1-2 hours

автор: Fiona V

29 апр. 2017 г.

This course gives you a general overview over nutrition. It is a good start for those who want to have an healthier diet. Personally I already knew most of the information provided and I am a bit further into the 'eating healthy' process. The course is well done anyway and worth a look.

автор: Cassi T

12 авг. 2016 г.

Starts off informative and then becomes very basic. It felt like it was more for informing families struggling with nutrition than for informative education on health and food.

The interview with Michael Pollan that was woven in to each lesson were the main reason to finish the course.

автор: Yoke D

8 апр. 2021 г.

If you have absolutely no prior knowledge about food I could see this course being beneficial. Nothing against the instructor; it was very well spoken and put together. I would have loved to have a little more nutritional science involved. This makes for an interesting documentary.

автор: Marvin B

1 сент. 2020 г.

Copied review which captures my experience: "Not actually a 'course' but a short series of very basic self-help videos with distracting background music throughout. 3 stars because it's a nice public service by Stanford but I personally was expecting a university-level course."

автор: Simran P

22 мая 2020 г.

The course was informative. However, i was very basic. Being a post graduate in food science and technology myself, I was looking for advance level. I have a suggestion as well, the background music was high which hindered the listening when the coaches were speaking. Thank you!

автор: Jennifer H

1 февр. 2016 г.

This seems like a good overview for those new to the kitchen, and/or health concerns more generally. For someone interested in deepening their understanding, it's of more limited value--but it is presented as an introduction. I wish there were readings to supplement the videos.

автор: Susan M M

1 сент. 2017 г.

I enjoyed most of the information in this course. The last week recipes and instructions seemed ridiculous as it was out of sync with: "eat food, not too much, mostly plants." I would have appreciated some plant based recipes. These recipes had too much dairy and meat. <3

автор: Jessie Z

16 мар. 2016 г.

It was filled with a lot of interesting, pertinent information but I did feel that there was not enough variety in terms of interviews and I do wish that she had delved more into some of the topics. I understand it was an overview but I often felt that it was very brief.

автор: Sarah M J

3 февр. 2016 г.

I was hoping for something a little more technical. This course might be good for someone who has no previous knowledge of the nutrition content of food or how to cook. It would be perfect for kids getting ready to head off to college who've never cooked for themselves.

автор: mihail m

22 сент. 2020 г.

A good beginners course that is well presented and easy to follow along. Kind of behind of raising awareness on the damage eating meat and dairy causes on a personal level, and a global level, but a good first step for the well intended, misinformed people out there.

автор: Patsy D

29 июня 2018 г.

Most of the concepts are very straight forward. I have been on and out of diets since I was 12 years old, at least the first week was a different approach, the rest was common sense. I would like to do deeper into the topics of nutrients and choosing better options.

автор: Cyril P

1 июля 2019 г.

Some good advices, but it lakes of amounts and informations are rapidly repetitives (i'm french, so perhaps those informations are for me mainstream and that's why i find it repetitive).

It's actually helpful to begin my own seach but i expecteted more informations

автор: Milica S

21 июля 2021 г.

The course was short and easy to digest. Both moderators are easy to understand and ideas are transmitted in a clear and coherent way. It seems as though there are too few key notions and maybe different public than myself would draw a lot more to learn from it.

автор: Chloe P

8 февр. 2021 г.

I was a bit underwhelmed with the information in this course. It was definitely a "Nutrition 101" and I would recommend it for someone who has little to no knowledge of food & health. I did take away a few good points but overall would have liked a deeper dive.

автор: Virat M

6 сент. 2019 г.

A very basic course just skimming over information. I wish that more in-depth material was included. I got the feeling that it was designed to promote M. Pollan's books and point of view. Nevertheless, there were some useful tips and hence the 3-star rating.

автор: Christian P R

3 мар. 2019 г.

As with almost the totality of all courses produced by HarvardX, the production quality is world class.

Despite this being an introductory course, I expected more knowledge to be included. But this is a subjective review so whatever. What is reality?