Chevron Left
Вернуться к Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Stanford Introduction to Food and Health от партнера Стэнфордский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 25,731

О курсе

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Лучшие рецензии

GG

7 окт. 2021 г.

this course changed my view on healthy eating and also instilled healthy cooking habits in me! I absolutely oved the simple , delicious and healthy recipes! definitely trying them out ! Thank you Maya

SD

6 авг. 2020 г.

I really enjoyed doing the course, Very elaborate and informative course. Things are simplified so much that anybody can understand the basics of nutrition which helps in making the wise food choices.

Фильтр по:

6126–6150 из 7,509 отзывов о курсе Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

автор: Alice S M W

28 мая 2020 г.

This is a very basic course but the ideas are put across very well and I feel I am able to explain my food decisions in clearer terms when talking to my husband. I even told my doctor recently that I prefer to eat in moderation than choosing low fat or low/sugar free products because they have replaced what they removed with even more unhealthy substitutes.

автор: Matteo R

20 мар. 2021 г.

Excellent course for beginners, especially the part on moderation.

Only sore point, it lacks a part dedicated to dairy products and their use in the diet.

Also talk a little more about how to manage portions by differentiating breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Maybe talk a little bit about allergies and intolerances would be nice too.

Nice part about the recipes.

автор: Mónica L A R

22 окт. 2021 г.

The course indeed is very good as an introduction to Food and Health. Very friendly. Learned new things. I wish there were PDFS to complement knowledge. Even though the videos are very explicative and that is good. Recipes are great. Thanks for this opportunity. Maya´s recipes are very good and I hope to prepare them some day. Videos are very well made.

автор: Lucia S

30 мая 2022 г.

As the course name says it's an "Introduction" - if you already have some knowledge in the field, you won't find much new information you've haven't heard before. Still it helped me organize my knowledge in a coherent and complete way. It definitely gives you motivation to change your eating habits and becoming a reliable advisor for those around you!

автор: Srinu L

19 мар. 2019 г.

It was comprehensive and targeted the key points regarding food and health. I do wish there was more discussion with policy regarding food in the US and how it can sometimes be difficult for some to find healthy and fresh food. Also, the topic of preparing food and cooking was discussed but more tips for managing time and effort would have been nice.

автор: Heather D

16 мая 2018 г.

An excellent course, mostly for those new to the idea of eating healthily. I absolutely loved the first week which explained how food worked inside the body. I also was glad there was a list of books to read, documentaries to watch, and websites to use for continued science-based nutrition information. Thank you very much for providing this course!

автор: Deleted A

7 июня 2016 г.

Very interesting and enjoyable, I think the mix between information about food and recipes for healthy food is a good one. I do think that for example adding recipes to lectures about certain types of food would make it an even better combination. For people living outside the US, the information about healthy diets might seem a bit US centered.

автор: arpit m

11 мая 2020 г.

This course is great to learn the basics of nutrition but it is majorly based on western diet and culture. That's why I feel it is more constraint to a certain audience in some cases. Nevertheless, I enjoyed and learned basic day to day health and food habits, which I will try to implement in my lifestyle.

Thanks and Kuddos for making us aware.

автор: PRATEEK K D

25 авг. 2019 г.

explanation is excellent. i got to know much new things.

if you give some practical examples. and region wise available food and their dieting plan then it will be great. like i am from INDIA. here food are not same as like USA or other countries.

make a brief nutrition planning for different types of disease and daily exercise planning.

автор: Vivian W

12 июля 2019 г.

It is a simple course with basic knowledge, principles and recipes that everyone can apply to improve their daily meal and health. As I've read a couple of nutrition books, I found the content is not intensively structured enough for me. But I would definitely recommend it to my friends who care about their health or eat not very healthy.

автор: Director S N

28 июля 2020 г.

Excellent teaching in basics. Instead of the emphasis on recipes towards the end, I would have preferred learning more about what to eat when, what can be a healthy mix for what time of the day, diet for the more active, for the people with different objectives of weight and fitness etc. Maybe you could have an advance course for this.

автор: Sharoon S

14 окт. 2017 г.

This was an interesting course. It was visually appealing, timed just right and mostly informative. I would have liked for this to be a bit more scientifically informative. There was a lot of feel good episodes which I personally felt didn't add to my take away. I do appreciate the course instructors positive demeanor and presentation.

автор: Sheryl W

16 сент. 2017 г.

It was an informative course and enjoyable. I would suggest that in the last two lessons recipes be added for vegans and those with dairy intolerance. It was good to see gluten free recipes but they need adapting for egg intolerance. I would recommend this course as it is informative and tries to put things forward in a helpful manner.

автор: Ana M

15 авг. 2021 г.

A very easy and friendly introductory course for basic nutrition. Could expand a little more on concepts related to nutrients and their importance to the functioning of the human body and prevention of specific diseases. eg. Besides obesity and diabetes, blood pressure and bone related diseases that are influenced by the diet we take.

автор: Nancy I

10 сент. 2018 г.

I loved this course, i had so many new discoveries, so many different methods to prepare a healthy meal and to maintain a healthy lifestyle.

But i have a request, i need to put on a little weight coz i am underweight, if i could get recipe's for that i will be most grateful. Thanks again, you guys are doing a wonderful job over there!

автор: Akshay

22 янв. 2020 г.

Really nice course to begin for beginners. Gives basic understanding of food and changes the way you would look at food the next time after taking the course. Should go for this course even if its not related to your career tracks. Decent explanation and really emphasis on the difficulties we face in day to day life regarding food.

автор: Mansi K

29 янв. 2016 г.

I star reduced because it was somehow lacking in assignments and practical applicable steps to start eating healthy. A great base of information to build on and offer more in depth of what foods to eat and not to eat. Would also love more information on label reading and organic vs Other food. Extra Virgin vs Virgin Olive oil etc.

автор: Maggie W

5 мая 2017 г.

I loved that a lot of the content was easy to understand and convenient to follow. The materials is definetely helpful for anyone who has interests in eating healthy or even losing weights. I was just a little surprised that the last week of this class turned into a series of cooking videos. Overall, this was an amazing course!

автор: Lauren B

12 апр. 2016 г.

If you are looking for advice on how to live a healthier life I believe this might be a great course for you. However, if you are looking for depth in the nutritional science this course will be unfulfilling. I stopped after the 3rd week of lessons because this course did not contain the scientific information I was hoping for.

автор: HILAL I K

29 июня 2020 г.

I'm interested in the question of how we can be healthy with food. When I saw this course, I enrolled immediately. The lessons are very useful because images and videos are informative to learn beginner level. However, the course needed to be developed because I could not see more scientific information or data. Thank you :)

автор: Ay T

20 окт. 2021 г.

V​ery helpful, I learned a lot and am much more aware when in the grocery store. However, I have been looking for, and not yet found, someone who teaches how to eat well WITHOUT COOKING! Not everyone in the world can cook, or wants to, or has a kitchen. This course spends a large amount of time on cooking, which was wasted.

автор: Vo N D

30 дек. 2016 г.

The course is very well managed and so informative from basic knowledge about foods and its nutrition then takes us a very fundamental but bold about nutrition and health. For those who does not like to read lot of books to come up with a simple and quick idea about how to have a health eating, this is a recommended one.

автор: Teja S

20 янв. 2021 г.

The course was really helpful and I really appreciate the platform for sharing such knowledge for free. Hope the platform provides which much more content that people could learn and I sincerely thank you for your content. It's very helpful for widening my thoughts and knowing much more about the world around me and me.

автор: Lesly F

27 мая 2020 г.

Este curso brinda información valiosa sobre la alimentación de las personas y como influye esto en la salud. Así mismo brindan consejos basados en evidencia científica para poder seguir una dieta balanceada. Lo que más me gustó fue que incluyeron algunas recetas de platos novedosos y prácticos para realizar en casa.

автор: Fabian H

11 авг. 2016 г.

Interesting topic and very good information

Not enough content (my opinion)

Tests where way to easy, I could take them all without first watching the videos, and my grade ist above 90%. The questions are (espacially in Week 3 and 4) easy to solve with logic and a basic intelligence. Please work on making it harder! :)