Chevron Left
Вернуться к Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Stanford Introduction to Food and Health от партнера Стэнфордский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 25,088
Рецензии: 7,284

О курсе

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Лучшие рецензии

GG

7 окт. 2021 г.

this course changed my view on healthy eating and also instilled healthy cooking habits in me! I absolutely oved the simple , delicious and healthy recipes! definitely trying them out ! Thank you Maya

VI

18 янв. 2021 г.

It was an interesting and informative, at a basis level, course. The information is easy to understand and the new gained knowledges tend to remain in your memory, due to short and interactive videos.

Фильтр по:

5926–5950 из 7,329 отзывов о курсе Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

автор: Kalpana B

5 авг. 2020 г.

The explanations and the descriptions and the visual demonstrations are very good. We got to learn the following in detail

The evolution of fast food and processed food and its ill effect on mankind

The digestion of dietery carbohydrates and proteins and fats. The effects of sugar and transfat on our body and how saturated and unsaturated fats.

How to check the Nutritional value, How to do sensible food shopping

How we can plan and cook simple meals and avoid obesity. Overall it was very interesting

автор: Olga D

24 мая 2016 г.

it is VERY basic course suitable for people who really struggling to find their way to healthy food and even to its determination. Basic recipes are giving for home cooking. BEAUTIFUL illustrations along the course as well. BUT I hoped to find more scientific information about nutrition and suggestion which products might cause specific diseases. Would be also nice to have lectures from scientific point of view like: why it is unhealthy to eat before going to bad, which products digest slower etc.

автор: Yolanda

1 сент. 2020 г.

Me gustó mucho el curso porque se enfoca en la informacion importante que una persona común deberia saber sobre nutrición, haciendonos más concientes de la calidad de nuestra alimentación, sustentado en un conocimiento básico pero muy importante de que debemos comer, cuanto debemos comer y como debemos comerlos. Me quedo con la frase come comida, (comida real, no la procesada), no mucho ( cuidando el tamaño de las porciones), mayormente vegetales (recomiendan en su mayoria frutas y verduras).

автор: Shailesh S

22 мая 2017 г.

4 stars for many aspects of this course I thought were excellent - concise, breadth, presentation, videos, short conversations, animations, variety of topics covered, quality of quizzes, resources shared.. All Good. One missing star is for not having enough depth, at times I felt the lectures and content was a bit short. In any case, I appreciate the work and efforts of Dr. Maya Adam for sharing her knowledge with passion and I thank everyone involved in making this course available to us.

автор: Marion J

2 сент. 2021 г.

easily understood course with relevant examples. some area which i personally felt could change would be reduced use of single use plastics in the form of covers or foils while cooking, this is from a pandemic perspective, where wastage has to be accounted for, for example parsley stems can be blitzed too in a marinade or the skins of cardamom can be added to tea... just a perspective coming from a space where the availability of produce is something that is not as certain as before.

автор: Tarik E A

2 мая 2017 г.

Thank you Dr Maya and her team for this excellent course, covering the basics of a healthy food nutrition. I loved the chapter where you show how to evaluate labels on packaged products and the cooking tutorials. I really hope there will be an advanced course, exploring in-depth specific topics like food categories (nutrients and benefits), student diets (food for brain power), athlete diets, food lifestyles (vegetarian/vegan...), food and disease prevention (Alzheimer, aging...)

автор: Anu N

5 окт. 2017 г.

The course provides practical and simple nutritional advice for the general public and encourages to make lifestyle changes which is great. Even for those who have studied nutrition and lifestyle, taking this course can be a way to examine their own cooking habits and commiting to making small changes. The videos are short, so the course can be easily completed in just a few days. However, it is lacking for someone looking for more extensive, scientific data on the subject.

автор: Jordan P

27 сент. 2016 г.

It's not a challenging course, but it is very informal at the same time. The interviews with the journalist throughout the course were my favorite parts because David was very detailed when it came to explaining how important food is a whole, compared to focusing just on nutrition individually. It's an introductory course, so I expected it to be an easy pass. Just take simple notes along the way, and you will pass the quizzes with no problem.

Thanks Coursera and Stanford!

автор: Matt S

18 июня 2016 г.

I really enjoyed the first two weeks. It was all stuff I kinda already knew but was presented very concisely in a way that was easy to understand.

The second two weeks weren't so useful and I completed them very quickly but I can see how someone who isn't too confident with cooking at home could benefit from them.

Overall, a very interesting course that tackles an incredibly important subject in a succinct way. This kind of food education should be compulsory for everyone.

автор: Andrew B (

7 апр. 2021 г.

It was a little too simple, maybe because I have done my own research for years. Plus, I paid $39 so I could receive a certificate of completion when I passed the course. All I was provided was the ability to download my "certificate" on regular paper on a copy machine I don't own. I would think for $39 they could afford to send me a nice raised letter actual certificate. I feel like they scammed me on that part. So, I guess they did teach me not to trust everyone!!

автор: Dario C

2 мар. 2016 г.

Someone really put some work into this! Great if you (like me) do not have any clue on how to eat healthy.

Somehow superficial treatment though, if someone asked me what i took out of this course i would say to best eat half vegetables and half meat/carbohydrates. I hoped for more answers on "why" questions, like "why are vegetables necessary?", or "what vegetables are needed for what body function?".

Still, nice, flashy videos and great commitment of the editors.

автор: tommaso b

11 апр. 2018 г.

Honestly, I believe that this course is specifically directed to population not accostumed to cook food at home (e.g. North americans). I am mediterrenean, hence I am accustomed to cook myself since I was 18 years old, and possibly most of my friends as well. That is, the course was definitely interesting, although the part I enjoyed more was the first week, where I learned a lot, while all the others were just basically listening to well known facts. Thanks

автор: Ryann F

14 февр. 2016 г.

I enjoyed this course and learning, specifically how to adapt a healthier diet and the evolution of food in the US. The videos were interesting and the information was insightful and applicable to daily life. The only thing I might change in the course is having the professor incorporate definitions to some of the terms (i.e. nutrient dense, ​, metabolic​ abnormalities) in the videos, or as a supplemental document.

I would recommend this course to others.

автор: Marcela M

12 мая 2021 г.

At the end (week 3, 4) it lacked immensely. Suddenly I thought my internet crashed but it was that the videos were so short and for some reason lacked relevant information. Would've loved if you showed as much information as the beginning. The cooking week was great though, and the rest was amazing. Loved it. Just be sure to maintain the quality even to the very last video! Keep it up! Will be sure to check other courses from the same professor :)

автор: Sarah S K

14 февр. 2020 г.

Some

Of the information provided in this course is slightly dated, and while well intentioned, could be contributing to a larger misconception and underestimated value of animal fats and proteins. For instance in one video animal based saturated fats are deemed less healthy than plant based saturated fats, despite being more stable. Overall a good course, starts the learning off on the right path, but should consider updating some of the material.

автор: Yashodhara P

4 сент. 2017 г.

Basic and to-the-point...This course is good for those who want to understand the fundamentals of healthy meal planning and nutrition. Covers the importance of the macro-nutrients in diet and how to plan a healthy diet strategy accordingly. Its a short course and you can cover all modules/videos in a day. The assessments are all quiz based. There is no writing involved. Recommended for those interested in healthy eating and meal planning.

автор: James S

4 мая 2020 г.

This was a very interesting short course on Nutrition. Personally, I found the information surrounding methods to moderate eating habits the most interesting however i disagree with the 6 staple items to have at home. Having Oil, Sugar, and Salt as three of them doesn't seem to fit with the overall message of the course about consuming micro nutrient dense food then have sugars from intrinsic sources whilst looking at labels low in sodium.

автор: Nevine A

7 февр. 2017 г.

I am loving the Stanford nutrition courses. I think this course, plus the Child nutrition course should be mandatory for all human beings. What I wish could be done is that their would be offered more serious courses, ones where people considering the career would truly benefit from. These classes seem more general and light, which is good for people that just want basic knowledge, but insufficient for people seeking more than just that.

автор: Zvi Z D C

11 июля 2017 г.

Although not a course exactly, more like a brief introduction to the food industry, mainly in the USA, this still has a very pleasant lecturer, sharing a bit of knowledge, but also quite a lot of kitchen. I find the music accompanying the videos nice, yet out of place, making it seem more like an advertisement than an actual course. I would give a 3.5 stars if was possible, but due to the heart in the course, 4 is better suited than 3.

автор: Anne C

1 февр. 2016 г.

This is a great introductory and time efficient course that allows anyone to get a brief overview of a healthy life style. This course, aside from the first video, does not go into the nutritional value of food or micro nutrient variables. So, if you'd like to get more information on how to cultivate your own healthy life style this is a great choice. However, if you'd like the more scientific side of things this course is not for you.

автор: Delisa O

22 сент. 2016 г.

This course was great for an introductory course to food and health because it emphasized getting back to the basics of real food and cooking simply. It lost a star because I felt like there were certain topics that needed a more in depth and less cursory approach. They were almost dismissive at times for the sake of "keeping it simple" whereas a simple suggestion about washing produce to remove pesticides could've been helpful.

автор: Alexx H

27 авг. 2021 г.

This course was very helpful and motivating to change current food habits and trends. I learned some valuable tips and gained a few recipe ideas to try for healthier eating at home. This course also encourages me to cook at home more and have more control over what I'm putting in my body. The combination of interviews, examples, and data points were very effective in communicating the overall course message and objective.

автор: Stephanie C

21 февр. 2020 г.

I thoroughly enjoyed the course but was looking for more, as in a Part II. I am not sure how the Week 5 fits in- is it actually part of the course? Nevertheless the GF recipes were a bonus as my diet is GF as much as possible.

I have just one comment about the quizzes: the answer to one of the questions was actually in the next week’s lesson.

Good way to keep learning! I am new to this and will continue online learning.

автор: Anabella D

5 сент. 2021 г.

This is a great introductory course for people who are looking some basic direction into eating in building sustainable healthy eating habits. Much of the content though is intended for people who live in highly industrialised western countries. As a Latin American, I found some of the content was a bit common sense for people from this part of the world, where we are luckily still not eating as much processed food.

автор: Maurice A P

19 авг. 2020 г.

I knew much of this material, and I agree with most of it. I disagree that keeping grains in the diet is a good thing. Many diabetics would be better off not eating grains. I am allergic to wheat, rye, oats, and corn. In short, I am allergic to most grains. I became much healthier when I began to avoid grains. Greens are much more nutrient dense than any grain out there, and I love collard greens and salads.