Chevron Left
Вернуться к Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1 от партнера Колорадский университет в Боулдере

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 3,382
Рецензии: 958

О курсе

"Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1" is aimed at learners who are seeking to augment, expand, optimize, and increase the efficiency of their Excel spreadsheet skills by tapping into the powerful programming, automation, and customization capabilities available with Visual Basic for Applications (VBA). This course is the first part of a three-part series and Specialization that focuses on the application of computing techniques in Excel/VBA to solve problems. In this course (Part 1), you will: 1) create macros to automate procedures in Excel; 2) define your own user-defined functions; 3) create basic subroutines to interface with the user; 4) learn the basic programming structures in VBA; and 5) automate Excel’s Goal Seek and Solver tools and use numerical techniques to create “live solutions” to solve targeting and optimization problems. New to computer programming? The extremely intuitive and visual nature of VBA lends itself nicely to teaching and learning - what a fun way to learn to code! No prior knowledge in programming nor advanced math skills are necessary yet seasoned programmers will pick up new and creative spreadsheet problem solving strategies. After you have learned the basics of VBA, each module will introduce foundational and broad problems inspired by situations that you might encounter in the real world. To pass each module, you'll need to pass a mastery quiz and complete a problem solving assignment. This course is unique in that the weekly assignments are completed in-application (i.e., on your own computer in Excel), providing you with valuable hands-on training....

Лучшие рецензии

MS
26 янв. 2018 г.

Great course! I like it goes straight to implementation and is practice-oriented. What could be improved maybe is sound quality of lectures. And maybe it would be great to have some VBA notes in pdf.

JH
2 апр. 2020 г.

Very good course with clear examples throughout to help you develop. The online format of the course is great as it allows you to pause and work through the activities presented at your own speed.

Фильтр по:

851–875 из 964 отзывов о курсе Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1

автор: Brandon H

29 янв. 2020 г.

The course was good. My focus was learning VBA and getting to a point of being able to design multi-faceted solutions. This got me on my way. The only item I noted as a downside is the focus on mathematical examples requiring order of operations to be understood. While I enjoyed this I don't see it as essential for knowing how to design solutions in VBA and it created some blocks for others in our group who do not enjoy mathematics.

автор: Vincent A S D

26 окт. 2020 г.

Very instructional, accurate, and well oriented. I would suggest that the assignments and problems could also be considered under a financial basis field. I noticed that cases and examples were more addressed from an engineering side and not from an accounting or financial perspective. I had no idea of many formulas that were displayed in this course, nonetheless, I was able to go beyond the bar in order to research and learn them.

автор: victor c

5 сент. 2018 г.

Very good introductory course in VBA. I have used much of what i have learned in this course to automate certain procedures that me and my team members are using in our gas turbine industry, customer support engineering day to day activities. VBA enabled me to automate these procedures and minimise human induced errors, and generate effortlessly and rapidly a number of solutions to certain straightforward engineering tasks.

автор: TANVEER A B

24 нояб. 2018 г.

Its a good basic for programming and i really enjoyed. Prior excel experience is required. For working professional like me its difficult to complete the course in 1 month, so your subscription goes into 2nd month and course fee is again deducted and you are left with no option but to continue if you want to pass it. So i recommend organizers to consider 2 months default period for single time fees deduction.

автор: Vincent G

7 июня 2018 г.

Great course for a start in VBA. The screencasts were to the piont and explicit. The assignments were sometimes a little more difficult to follow because the topics were mostly concerned with physics and not business. Also good to know: the formatting of numbers is American. For European students this is valuable information because I failed my first assignment many times because of my E

автор: Leonel G P

28 мая 2020 г.

Great course, helps a lot to see how VBA can be an additional tool that can help us to address real life problems saving time and resources. Unfortunately the course in my opinion is not fully appropriate for those ones without previous VBA knowledge and certain complex mathematical level understanding if they don't have time to looking for information and practice a lot by their own.

автор: Zoltán T

2 мая 2020 г.

Pros: The instructor uses real engineering examples, shows useful algorithms, and he is a great lecturer.

Cons: The examples do not use SI units and it is quite annoying to use miles, gallons, inches and cubic feet in the 21st century. More starter files would be useful to follow the examples, it is not efficient to type in long expressions just to be able to start the coding part.

автор: Hisham A

1 июля 2020 г.

I believe the course over all lacked rigour in concepts explanations. I believe introduction to concepts of programming would have been helpful for those with no prior experience in programming. But, for me, having a very good experience with programming and scripting as being a Linux user for 3 years, this course just gave what I needed. Thanks professor Nuttelman!

автор: Aeriel N S

22 июня 2018 г.

The course was a great refresher for me since I haven't used VBA in quite a while and everything was clearly explained. Although at first I was overwhelmed since some of the examples were leaning on formulas, I was still able to understand all of it because of how Charlie explained everything in an easy manner.

автор: Werner V

11 мая 2020 г.

A good course for both the novice as well as the more familiar Excel user. It was fun to delve into a bit of coding and problem solving using VBA. It is a must for Excel user who have unique calculations and problem solving scenarios and wish to automate tasks or even simplify it for everyday users!

автор: Andrés T R

25 февр. 2020 г.

I've learned a lot from this course. It gains in complexity with each week, but after struggling and trying to get the correct answer, you feel great and you know that you have learned new skills that are really useful for various situations, specially to solve problems with different perspectives.

автор: Thi T N

21 дек. 2020 г.

This code opens my mind, i need to improve and learn more than what I see on slide. Maybe because i am not professional in IT. But anyway, now I can write code and understand some loop, code that other people do. Your quiz and assignment are not easy to pass. They need a lot of effort.

автор: Haydn S

16 апр. 2019 г.

Great course. Well explained and easy to follow. Some of the assignments could be a bit more specific in what is required (e.g. calling a function within another function - rather than writing out code in the second function). But all things considered, highly recommended.

автор: Ryan

13 июня 2019 г.

Great course. Week 4 is particularly more difficult than the preceding sections. The VBA cheat sheet is very useful for Weeks 1-3, but could be improved to help explain different For Loop structures and common errors when building a For Next Loop. Thank you Dr. Nuttelman.

автор: Rajesh S

18 февр. 2018 г.

This course is OK for Part 1. I think it would be better if the course was more focused on programming. That is, I would have preferred that the course have more content related to vba syntax. (Perhaps this is in Part II, which I am not sure that I'll take.)

автор: Gone A K

19 нояб. 2020 г.

The instructor and the course is excellent. The only con is that are no practice exercises (for example SAS course by SAS has good number of exercises). It would be perfect if sir could include some exercises in between the screencasts.

автор: MengGim Y

4 дек. 2020 г.

Well, for this VBA part 1. You can learn some basic knowledge on the VBA and I believe those are quite useful for certain level of problem solve especially, it help to solve some problem(required repeated action).

автор: Andrej K

4 авг. 2021 г.

Very good course to learn fundamentals of VBA programming, and wake up the desire to learn more about the topic. Week 5 is too much for mathematics and little practical implementation into non-engineering fields.

автор: Paul F C

29 окт. 2020 г.

i really loved this course. Some of those concepts need a lot of practrice to deal with them.if i were the teacher i would 've given more excersices, maybe optional excersices ,to not scare those lazy students.

автор: Salvador R M

27 авг. 2020 г.

Excellent course for beginners trying to learn a new way to work in Excel with VBA. The subjects are well explained and the assignments have the adecuate difficulty to reinforce the information learned

автор: Grégoire P

8 сент. 2019 г.

Very good teaching by Prof. Nuttelman, who explains new notions very clearly. On the improvement side, I would perhaps suggest adding a few exercises to vary a bit the problems students have to solve.

автор: Rodolfo P L

22 февр. 2018 г.

The screencasts are very clear and concise but the assignments were too easy. I would suggest adding some assignments related with finance (e.g., bond calculators and portfolio optimization problems).

автор: Ingrid F

21 сент. 2018 г.

the course was very informative and helpful.

However, it would be easier to concentrate on VBA if people who don't use mathematical formulas that much would not have to deal with maths that much.

автор: CHAN, B K

2 авг. 2018 г.

Relatively easy, I cleared 3 weeks within 2 hours, and completed the whole module in less than 3 days. I did not spend more than 5 hours each of the 3 days. The honors exercise was interesting.

автор: Evan M

29 мар. 2020 г.

I like this course. Very helpful. But, the quizzes are "tricky" meaning the content is not too hard, but the questions are tricky. The assignments are very good, much better than the quizzes.