Chevron Left
Вернуться к Electric Utilities Fundamentals and Future

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Electric Utilities Fundamentals and Future от партнера Система университетов штата Колорадо

4.6
Оценки: 109
46 рецензий

О курсе

THIS COURSE GIVES YOU THE INSIDE TRACK TO A COMPLICATED INDUSTRY. The approach of this course is truly unique in how it approaches and engages learners. It looks at the electric utility industry, which has remained critical to our quality of life, health and comfort from the eyes of numerous industry experts through on-location interviews, compelling visuals, and animation. You will benefit from having the inside track because you see some behind-the-scenes information not covered in news stories, social media or even if we are in the business ourselves. EACH WEEK YOU NOT ONLY LEARN WHAT IS CHANGING, BUT WHY. As this industry continues to unfold at an unprecedented pace, you will be armed with knowledge and insights to form informed opinions supporting decisions you will increasingly make for your energy-dependent homes and businesses. This course kicks off with animated crash course on industry history, highlighting aspects of the structure, governance, and technology that remain today, despite the passage of time. Then, throughout the modules, you will build some basics about how electricity gets to you, who watches over decisions, including setting rates. This information establishes a knowledge foundation so that when we explore some of the most critical topics, like renewable energy, smart grid, battery storage, and you can think about it from a much more analytical and critical viewpoint. YOU WILL DEVELOP A FRAMEWORK FOR MAKING SENSE OF THIS INDUSTRY THAT WILL BENEFIT YOU BEYOND THIS COURSE. This industry can get pretty complicated, and this course will help you make more sense of it. Electric Utilities Fundamentals and Future is the course for you whether you’re just curious about the industry or an industry veteran looking to grow – or, thinking about joining the industry. (Hint: now is a good time. You'll learn why in this course.) No prior education or experience required. You just need a healthy curiosity and an open mind to learn about an industry that I think a lot of us, including myself sometimes, take for granted....

Лучшие рецензии

CR

Sep 27, 2017

Great course for people who have no clue how utilities and microgrids work. Take this class if you're considering diving deeper into concepts like green energy, regulation and distributed generation.

WH

Jan 29, 2018

Excellent overview of electric utilities even for a novice like me. It discussed the present challenges and future endeavors of the industry.

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 43 отзывов о курсе Electric Utilities Fundamentals and Future

By Ritika P

Apr 01, 2019

The way of explanation is pretty amazing and clear.And the content offered is upto the point.

By vanitha m

Nov 26, 2018

Good

By Burak M

Oct 15, 2018

Fantastic course providing fundamental foundational information about the industry and its different elements.

By Allison J

Aug 10, 2018

Very informative and information was easy to learn

By Matthew B

Jul 31, 2018

Good information, but old. Many things have already c

By Micaela C

Jul 25, 2018

Great overview - informative, easy to listen to, loved the variety between videos, lectures, and guest speakers. Seriously amazing! Also loved that controversial topics were introduced with so many sides to the story - I really felt like I learned in a way where I was encouraged to form my own educated opinion as opposed to adopting an opinion of anyone else. So many valid sides to every story were presented in a factual way. Thank you!

By Faisal H

Jul 15, 2018

It was an amazing course, really enjoyed it.

By Jennifer P

Jul 05, 2018

The course topics were very useful. The instructor was clear, concise and enthusiastic about the subject matter. The only drawback is that the course is a few years old and some of the information is no longer current, especially where it relates to governmental policy.

By Yash V G

Jun 23, 2018

Firstly i would thank and appreciate coursera for providing me with the financial aid and helping out numerous other aspiring students waiting to gain knowledge that is very crucial in the upbringing of the society. This course is very much important in understanding the Electrical Utility sector. I would highly recommend this course to the aspiring students as this is very beneficial. Thank you Cousera and Thank you Melissa Wood for this wonderful piece of knowledge!

By miguel a r l

Jun 04, 2018

I must! In order to understand the already complex world of Electrical Markets!

By Justin

May 11, 2018

Solid course! I am a regulatory analyst but I liked having more of an overview of the industry!

By Mary B

Apr 16, 2018

Very nice for basic understanding of electric utilities in the U.S.

By Sara R

Apr 01, 2018

Great lecturer and approach. I wish the course would go beyond the scope of American utilities and regulations.

By Alberto

Mar 18, 2018

Really interesting and above expectations regarding how it is explained.

By Tony M

Feb 19, 2018

Outstanding and very informative course. This knowledge will help propel my education forward

By Werner H

Jan 29, 2018

Excellent overview of electric utilities even for a novice like me. It discussed the present challenges and future endeavors of the industry.

By Mohsin A

Jan 25, 2018

From the very basic to the advance and future of the Electricity, They have taught a lot of things in this course about this field. I like this course, structure, and information sharing techniques. Thank You So much.

By Ale R

Jan 08, 2018

Really nice course, good moderation and interesting topics, I really enjoyed to have more information on screen and that it was not just read out loud.

By Edgar S

Nov 12, 2017

Right to the topic. It gave me a broad vision of what is going on in the Electric utility business.

By John H

Nov 07, 2017

While the presentation style and overview of utilities was good, the instructors are providing biased and inaccurate information about renewable sources, especially solar and energy storage. Their understanding of storage and net metering is inaccurate and out of date and they show a clear bias toward centralized utilities and fossil fuel (particularly natural gas) generation. What disturbed me most is that they worded both the content and quiz questions to enhance the positive benefits of the centralized model and natural gas while simultaneously downplaying the benefits of solar, wind and energy storage (especially battery technology) while emphasizing negative attributes and misleading the students with inaccurate information about cost-shifting and net metering policies. Very disappointed in their manipulative and biased approach.

By Marzieh J

Nov 01, 2017

The instructor is very passionate and knowledgeable about the topic. Her tone and gesture shows confidence. The interviews with utility professionals is bringing the reality to the course materials. I really enjoyed it and I hope you enjoy it too.

By Sahil S N

Oct 01, 2017

Excellent briefings about the all the concepts. very useful for basic knowledge

By Carlos R

Sep 27, 2017

Great course for people who have no clue how utilities and microgrids work. Take this class if you're considering diving deeper into concepts like green energy, regulation and distributed generation.

By Michael A L

Sep 09, 2017

"Electric Utilities Fundamentals and Future" was an outstanding introduction to the rapidly changing--and, believe it or not, actually now exciting--electric utility industry. For those seeking an easy-to-digest yet intelligent overview of this major sector, dive on in.

By Ansuman P

Sep 05, 2017

Great curriculum coupled with interviews and experts from leading Utilities makes this really interesting to learn this evolving industry.