Chevron Left
Вернуться к Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose от партнера Принстонский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 715

О курсе

The basis for education in the last millennium was “reading, writing, and arithmetic;” now it is reading, writing, and computing. Learning to program is an essential part of the education of every student, not just in the sciences and engineering, but in the arts, social sciences, and humanities, as well. Beyond direct applications, it is the first step in understanding the nature of computer science’s undeniable impact on the modern world. This course covers the first half of our book Computer Science: An Interdisciplinary Approach (the second half is covered in our Coursera course Computer Science: Algorithms, Theory, and Machines). Our intent is to teach programming to those who need or want to learn it, in a scientific context. We begin by introducing basic programming elements such as variables, conditionals, loops, arrays, and I/O. Next, we turn to functions, introducing key concepts such as recursion, modular programming, and code reuse. Then, we present a modern introduction to object-oriented programming. We use the Java programming language and teach basic skills for computational problem solving that are applicable in many modern computing environments. Proficiency in Java is a goal, but we focus on fundamental concepts in programming, not Java per se. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Лучшие рецензии

VS

13 мая 2019 г.

Beautiful course. I am a software developer with 10+ years of experience in programming and have never realized depth of actual MATH behind all that I do. Thank you Robert Sedgewick, you are the BEST.

NK

15 июня 2021 г.

Can't wait to get into the second part of the course. The best programming course ever provided for free of cost. The techniques used are backed by mathematical thinking. It is just awesome.

Фильтр по:

101–125 из 227 отзывов о курсе Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose

автор: Grazyna K

22 авг. 2020 г.

I expected to review all java basics but found myself working hard with high level, challenging projects that set up a growing environment for me.

автор: J H

20 мая 2020 г.

It did not just teach coding, but taught efficient coding and how to think about performance issues, and separation of program parts into objects

автор: 赵凌乔

5 февр. 2020 г.

This course is full of the fundamentals that one should learn in programming, especially how everything works in OOP. Excellent course.

автор: Steve C

28 мар. 2022 г.

Such a great course with interesting assignments. It really helps me a lot in java programming and important programming concepts.

автор: Тугов С А

12 янв. 2021 г.

This is an absolutely incredible course. I couldn't have hoped for better one. My endless admiration and gratitude to authors.

автор: Kuirong W

21 авг. 2020 г.

This is a great course with heavy loaded homeworks which is definitely help if you like to get the best of the course.

автор: Sreejit C

11 июля 2020 г.

Quite a nice introduction to Programming and Java . Thank You lecturers for this interesting course and assignments .

автор: Meysam A

2 нояб. 2019 г.

It's a prefect starting point for those who want to learn programming or those who wants to refresh their knowledge.

автор: Deleted A

6 авг. 2019 г.

Awesome course. Very challenging even for experienced programmer. Prof. Sedgewick and Kevin Wayne do a great job.

автор: Ang L

20 февр. 2022 г.

This course is very helpful to me to understand the basic knowledge of computer science, thank the professors!

автор: Gopala V R

27 июля 2020 г.

Excellent. Wish I had this professor teaching when I first started learning programming quite a few years ago.

автор: Jack H

20 мая 2020 г.

Great intro level course, I really enjoyed it. I look forward to the Instructors' other courses on algorithms.

автор: John C

20 июля 2020 г.

Interesting programming exercises.

Well-structured course and automatic evaluation of exercises very good.

автор: Arshad

13 мая 2020 г.

It is always a privilege to learn from someone who is the best in his field. Thanks for the lectures.

автор: Anika P

16 июля 2022 г.

This course was good and helpful and it deveploped my understanding for computer science as a whole.

автор: Nguyen D L

22 янв. 2021 г.

It's amazing how an introductory course in programming can show student many fundamental skills.

автор: Manuel M T

12 авг. 2021 г.

This is an excellent course. Well taught, organized, covering the foundations of java and OOP.

автор: Christos N

25 сент. 2020 г.

Great experience. Of course a lot to learn, and big effort to complete but provided new ideas!

автор: Vorravoot N

10 янв. 2022 г.

Great course, i get many idea and basic knowledge for Java from this useful course. thanks :)

автор: Ahmed D

10 июля 2021 г.

Excellent course even though the programming assignments are sometimes a little bit too hard.

автор: Tassianna T

29 дек. 2019 г.

This course is excellent; It provides a robust framework to build on programming practices.

автор: Ahmed A

1 нояб. 2020 г.

amazing course, it covers a lot of programming principles and how to think computationally

автор: Romain F

2 сент. 2020 г.

I loved the course's rigor and how the auto grader guided me through the assignments.

автор: Marcos J

5 июля 2022 г.

I​ already had a degree in CS but I learned more here than with my entire curriculum